Ratings based on 9,245 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spokane

They require a deposit.

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Dont forget your 75 dollar deposit that has to be on your credit card and take 7 to 10 days to come off your card. Kinda higb depisot fir a bunch of 80s furniture lol. Also a resort fee of 9.99 to 14.99 per day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Redwood City, CA

MEH

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: Location and Tijuana Tacos!
Cons: Updating the WHOLE hotel and casino.
Location: Downtown
at $60/ night they should have all these rooms remodeled by now. It looks like they havent updated anything in 20 yrs!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nevada

Not impressed

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Front desk was not professional, he talked bad about another guest as soon as the guest left frustrated. They also took an extra $75 dollars out of my account without making us aware they would be doing so.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from santa rosa

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Room sucked blah blah blah I wouldn't go back for nothing room sucked
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Everything was great except .heater was not working properly
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from elko

Cleanliness of room..again

Posted Nov 29, 2017
We had stayed in this hotel a week ago on our way through town, room wasn’t very clean. Had to return to Reno for a appointment and decided to give the sands another try, mistake. Check in was good but once again the room was filthy, room hadn’t been vacuumed as I had found several traces of marijuana around the table, on the floor by the beds and in the bathroom.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Corpus Christi, TX

Resort fees paid for absolutely no amenities

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Stayed a couple nights while passing through during a larger road trip. Reno itself is dumpy, dirty, and full of drug dealers even in downtown area. This hotel was a couple blocks from downtown and the arch and other casinos. Room was clean and spacious enough but had zero anything useful for a comfortable stay. No microwave, fridge, or coffeemaker. Pool was closed and even the computer downstairs didn't work to print anything. The entire stay was completely underwhelming and we won't be back. Pay a bit more to stay somewhere a lot nicer where you aren't forced to get up and walk through the entire building to buy an overpriced watery coffee.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy room

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Room was by the elevator which gave the feeling of sleeping in a train station. The elevator was very noisy and could not let you sleep.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hidden charges and unexpected security deposit

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: Good shower.
Cons: Be upfront about the security deposit and extra charges.
I paid via Expedia thinking that was all I needed to pay but when I got to the hotel I found out I had to pay a $75 deposit and about $15 of extra charges! I find that outrageous. Totally unacceptable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Very nice check in and so quick to check in. Hotel rooms was clean and neat.