Ratings based on 8,985 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Great Value! Super easy parking. Twice l was able to park within 100' of the entrance.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washougal, WA

Poor check-in policies for Expedia customers

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: It's cheap.
Cons: Better management at the check-in counter
Location: Golfing, skiing, hiking...
Our Expedia account is in my wife's name, Sheila. For the last few years I have checked into motels with my ID with no problems. Sands would not let us check in because we had no picture ID of Sheila. I explained that because of hurricane Irma I couldn't get through to Expedia. After standing in the lobby holding my phone to my ear for 55 minutes I got through to Expedia and the problem was solved. The Sands manager at the check-in counter, Anna Brittain, was robotic and rude... totally unsympathetic. After years of staying in Sands of Reno, we'll never stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Roseville, CA

Noisy room that kept us awake all night.

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: The snack bar was nice.
Location: We were only there to spent the night for a meeting the next morning.
First we were given a room with an elevator shaft on both sids of thin walls. We went down and asked the desk clery for a quieter room. She vomed us on the same floor 4 doors down the hall. This was a double room with doors to the next room. That made it so we heard what was going on in the next room We had a lot to do so we went to bed early. About 9:30. The neighbor left the TV on rather loud until 3 AM when his prostitute knocked on the door and began loudly explaining what she had to sell. She was very explicit. When the action started we called the desk and they referred us to security We called them and about 15 minutes later someone came to the door. After he left the customer and the prostite began arguing. Example: "Get your things and get out of here". "You still owe me. You only paid me $300." by this time it was almost 5 AM so we gathered our things and got out.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yakima, WA

Service???

Posted Sep 12, 2017
We had no room service while there for three nights. Had to rob towels on the maid's cart in the hallway. When we checked in, we'd missed the fine print $9.99 extra a night for a Resort Fee But they charged $14.99 When I checked out, they said the $5.00 was taxes. We felt scammed. No service made it even worse. We did however have good response when we called the front desk 10 minutes after checking in because our air conditioner was blowing hot air. The x was there checking it out and then brought in a "new" old unit to replace it. He drug the old one out. Drug the new one in and installed it. It worked okay...had to turn it off at night because if all the noise and clunking.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shouldnt be with expedia!!!

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Elevators are dirty!!! Room wasnt serviced in my duration of stay!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sacramento ca

You get what you pay for

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Took forever to check in. Under staffed. Room was okay. Old fixtures, TV, shower fixtures etc. The Copa had good food and good service. Good prices. You can stay at nicer places for more money. Sands was worth what you get for the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Elk Grove CA

Disappointed stay at the sands

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Nice staff at check in. The room wasn't very clean, the shampoo and conditioner were open and half empty, there was no maid on the second day. There were barking dogs nextdoor to us no dogs are supposed to be on the 8th floor. Have had better stays at a motel 6
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Discount hotel with below expectation quality

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Hotel is extremely outdated with worn hallways and rooms. Room was not well cleaned before visit including bathroom. Sheets were of low quality and visibly stained from previous guests. Water pressure and temp were variable and requests for an additional towel were ignored. Glad I only had to stay one night. Would not stay again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from RENO , NV.

Hotel not what it use to be.

Posted Sep 8, 2017
have stay here for years last visit very disappointing especially with room not being cleaned or vacuum. our room had a smell .staff seem to b over worked especially those that clean the room. will stay again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Torn and loose wallpaper..no towels..trash left in trash can. Dirt and dust not cleaned up from burners. Service at mens diner was horrible.I got up and got my own coffee