Ratings based on 826 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy hotel in the room

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Since the rooms do not have carpet and the walls appear to be paper thin, we could hear every word our neighbor was saying through the adjoining door. If you want to get some sleep, don't to stay here
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Syracuse, NY

Hotel nice with bar inside.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Bar and shuttle to convention center
Cons: memory form mattresses for the bedrooms
Location: location ok, but not as close to other bars as I would have liked
Wish they had a shutter from the airport, even if they only ran it at a couple of times per day that I could schedule in. Bar was nice and accommodating. Bedroom was clean, but bed was not all that comfortable to my standards...guess I'm spoiled at home. Should have included shampoo in bathroom.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by cathy

Hotel Staff was amazing

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
We chose this location because we wanted to be downtown and not pay alot, we were not disappointed. This hotel is renovating and becoming a Marriott, but they were very nice at check-in and check-out and even gave us free parking. The two ladies on the front desk, one a manager were so nice and answered all our questions. Great location, close to freeways, good food, great bars, I would definitely go here again.
5 out of 5
by jeff

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Michelle

Don't be fooled- Not a real Crowne Plaza

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Pros- 1. Location- it's close to shockhoe bottom 2. Amenities in room- large room, bathroom is up to date, the fridge is large, there's lots of soaps and toiletry items, and our room overlooked Brown Island Cons- 1. Check in took 50 mins. The staff said it was because a lot of people checked in that day. Ummmmm, lots of people check in every day to hotels. Our check in took almost 10 mins once we got to the counter because the woman checking us in was talking, answered a phone call, etc. no wonder we waited 50 minutes. I actually tweeted about this when I saw the line out the door to check in- and I got a response back from customer service for the hotel chain. They did ZERO to help. It's almost doubly worse to have the issue acknowledged and then nothing done. 2. Our air conditioner in the room doesn't work. When we got into the room it was 78. We turned the thermostat down to 63. 15 hours later the temp is... 77. 3. Our dead bolt to our room is broken. 4. We were woken up before 9am by a call from the front desk- they want to comp us breakfast. Nice, but we came here to sleep in. They needed to walk over to our room and slide the tickets under our door, instead of waking us up. And btw- I'm not eating breakfast here. Richmond has AMAZING places to eat and this hotel is not among them. I'm not signing up for another disappointing experience here... I'll update this review if anything changes but to date- we won't return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Above
Cons: Just about everything.
Location: Location was fine.
Hotel was under construction, noise, restaurant was closed because of many floors being empty for construction. They are changing over to a Marriott. I think you should have let your customers know.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not stay here again

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Unhelpful staff, constuction noise was deafining, pool was dark and dingy, breakfast buffett was always leftovers from day before not fresh.
5 out of 5
by Amanda

Great place and super value

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
I had to book a room at the last minute and was surprised to find the room at the Crowne Plaza to be less expensive than the so-called budget hotels. It was convenient to where I needed to be as well. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. I love that they offer valet parking so I know my car is safe. They even drove me to my meeting and picked me up afterward so I didn't have to bother driving around town. The room was nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable. The wifi was strong which you don't find in many hotels. I'd highly recommend the Crowne Plaza!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Happy with everything besides closet design and soap residue in the soap dish of the shower.