Ratings based on 1,338 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel.

Posted Feb 18, 2018
Some impressions: friendly staff; hallways have a pleasant smell; best water pressure in the shower; shampoo smelled nice; clean room; comfy big pillows; close to many restaurants. We are looking forward to staying here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Fastest Check in ever

Posted Jan 30, 2018
Pros: in the city near everything
Cons: room did not have a place to plug in a use the coffee maker Had to carry it to the bathroom
On business travel you are always adjusting your schedule on the fly. Travel arrangements, meeting times, delays, and then you get to the hotel and usually have to wait if you are early. I arrived very early and was immediately checked in. Gave me a chance to relax rather than have to wait in the lobby
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Service!

Posted Jan 19, 2018
Pros: The staff. Also great downtown location.
Cons: Probably time for some room refreshing. A bit dated. We had some real trouble with the AC/Heating system. They tried, but...
Location: Great location. Lots of historic venues. Great shops, cafes, restaurants.
Some of the best and friendliest service I have experienced anywhere in the world. They start off fabulously at the Valet/Front Door, continue in the lobby and Front Desk and just keep on going with staff that actually acknowledges you and looks to help.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Wonderful until the party got started on the floor

Posted Jan 15, 2018
This is a great hotel! I stayed in what I recall was the second floor. After a wonderful swim, I ordered room service for dinner and settled in after a day of travel. There was a party room on my floor and that was where things went wrong. There were cases of alcohol, drink and loud people partying , and unattended kids banging on my door incessantly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester uk

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Pros: Friendly staff
Location: Only a short cab ride from Virginia Fine Arts Museum, Civil War commemorative sites etc.
Very central location, handy for finding food etc nearby. Staff very helpful. Elevators always arrived quickly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc

Omg

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Beautiful. And very polite employees . I enjoy my stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jersey City NJ

Super Hotel for Treat

Posted Dec 28, 2017
It is beautiful historic hotel. God is in the details. The best sleeping bed we experienced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Staff was very welcoming and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. Indoor pool was warm and relaxing! They are pet friendly and downtown and I would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel and convenient to restaurants

Posted Dec 23, 2017
Very good experience. We would prefer no air freshener in room. Please note too that shower curtain is not long enough for tub. Using two would prevent water from coming out. Great staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One overnight stay

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Hôtel staff are professional and friendly. Room was well appointed and spotless. Bed was very comfortable and the shower was lovely (right amount pressure). I like the magnifying mirror, thank you! One negative: the restaurant was so disappointing. I was looking forward to a good Italian meal but the pasta while tasty, was not hot and the order of asparagus was burnt on the ends. The restaurant didn’t have any bread to serve. I should have expressed this in person.