Ratings based on 404 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Convenient location - near Convention Center

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Convenient location - near Convention Center and Coliseum. Great parking garage. Great hotel staff and eating facilities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, PA

In the heart of downtown

Posted May 17, 2017
The shower temp handle was weird and my boyfriend finally figured it out after I took a lukewarm shower. Also we put the "do not disturb" hanger yet maid cleaned anyway. We reported both. Bed was relaxing and loved that if you have subscription to Hulu or Netflix you can watch in room. Breakfast steak and eggs perfect!!!! Really expensive for a plate of little danishes. We were able to walk to bars but homeless beggars down the street at night. Also every time you call valet to bring car up it's like $25+. cheaper to call Uber. Entrance and bar area are really nice. Overall I'd book again.
4 out of 5
by Hisham

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Grat hotel

Posted May 13, 2017
I was impressed with the Marriott on my recent stay there. The hotel is in a convenient location. Check in and valet went smoothly. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I used the gym and it was excellent as all the equipment had TVs and free headphones. My only complaint is the room service. The service was prompt, but the food was not good. Ordered steak that was overcooked,dry, and inedible (I ordered it medium.) The breakfast hash browns and toast was so greasy I couldn't eat it. If it wasn't for the food I would give this hotel a rating of excellent.
5 out of 5
by Lee

One night visit

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
Overnight stay for family wedding. Great experience. All employees were very friendly and helpful. Check-in was fast and easy.
4 out of 5
by William

Pretty Good - would stay again but a little pricey

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
Parking is irregular but ok considering it is in a downtown/arena neighborhood. Sports bar on site was very hospitable and accommodating. Food was a plus for a sports bar.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again!

Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
Greetings, Concierge, were not welcoming. When asked a question they were bland and did not know. Leaving me dumb founded.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2017
Not a great experience. Hotel staff was nice enough but room and hotel was tired.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Paying for the name

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Overall, this was a good experience. I will say, however, that you're paying for the name and location - there was nothing spectacular about the room as compared to other hotel chains I've stayed in. The staff were very friendly, but $27 for valet when you're already spending so much in the room seems a bit silly - why isn't the valet just included in the stay? The room was clean, and comfortable though, if I go to another concert at The National, I would consider staying here again, for the convenience of being able to walk to the theater.
4 out of 5
by DKG from Clinton, Maryland

Great stay

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
I was there for my daughter's dance competition. The staff was welcoming and very accommodating. The room was clean. The restaurant staff could be better but other than that I truly enjoyed my stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Chad, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review for the Richmond Marriott Downtown! I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed your time here with us and to see your comments regarding our hotel staff! Please know I will be sharing your comments with my restaurant team so that we can be sure that we are providing exceptional service for our guests! Kind Regards, Chad Lobner Assistant General Manager