Ratings based on 407 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

friendly staff clean room

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: clean and location
Cons: noise control
Location: maggie walker statue browns island convention
great loving wish i had more time didnt have the chance to visit the indoor pool will be back is what i was looking for plus more needs to be cheaper the price was high but nt worth what you recive in the room
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Bad Experience

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Bellhops and initial entrance were outstanding. Bartender first night was outstanding.
Cons: Manage housekeeping to ensure service is provided to the paying customer. Properly train the waitresses to properly service the customer.
Fiancee and I chose the Richmond Marriott due to what we perceived as a quality hotel for our weekend stay during the Richmond Jazz Festival. Entrance was great, bellhops were outstanding, motivated and very helpful with information for the local areas amenities. First morning woke up to three cases of stacked cases of water outside of our doors (unsafely stacked and open) right by the door of our room. Third night after returning from all day event at the Jazz Festival our room was not serviced, no towels, fresh linen, bed was not mad bathroom was not serviced. Front desk offered Starbuck vouchers when called however at midnight coffee wasn't what I was looking forward to, a hot shower with fresh towels and an inviting bed was what we expected. Manager never reached out to explain or offer anything for convenience. During both nights stay the T-Miller restaurant was an issue on late return to hotel was very unmotivated, unprofessional, had to ask for water, our order was entree, appetizer, then salad (in that order), we ordered dessert to share, ask for additional utensils but took never received and we ended up eating our dessert before the waitress noticed she forgot (expected better), she never acknowledged or apologized, too much work for a paying customer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Bad Stay

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: My arrival, the bellhop and valet personnel were very motivated and professional.
Cons: The hospitality and concern for paying customers.and the waiter (female) didn't catch her name needs training in providing service to the customer.
My fiancee and I chose to stay at the Richmond Marriott for our weekend visit to the Richmond Jazz Festival. Woke up the first morning to open cases of water bottles stacked three cases high in the hallway outside my room (unsafe). Returned to my room the second night, cases of water still stacked in the hallway, we had a long day at the festival to relax and my room had not been cleaned, no fresh towels, bed not made up. Front desk was sorry and offered starbuck vouchers, well it was almost midnight coffee from starbucks wasn't going to be the fix, we wanted to shower with fresh towels and a nice comfortable bed, that was not what we paid for or received. ln addition, the hotel restaurant T-Miller was not staffed professionally, we returned both evenings from the jazz festival to have an evening meal and the waiter was not motivated, we had to ask for water, we ordered our food it was delivered backwards from what we requested, (entree, salad, missing fries), we ordered dessert to share, she delivered one spoon, we requested another spoon to share but never received it. I've worked at the Orange County Marriott in California in my past and I know Marriott is much better than what I experienced this past weekend. I plan to return to Richmond in future but I will not be staying at this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Convenient location - near Convention Center

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Convenient location - near Convention Center and Coliseum. Great parking garage. Great hotel staff and eating facilities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, PA

In the heart of downtown

Posted May 17, 2017
The shower temp handle was weird and my boyfriend finally figured it out after I took a lukewarm shower. Also we put the "do not disturb" hanger yet maid cleaned anyway. We reported both. Bed was relaxing and loved that if you have subscription to Hulu or Netflix you can watch in room. Breakfast steak and eggs perfect!!!! Really expensive for a plate of little danishes. We were able to walk to bars but homeless beggars down the street at night. Also every time you call valet to bring car up it's like $25+. cheaper to call Uber. Entrance and bar area are really nice. Overall I'd book again.
4 out of 5
by Hisham

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Grat hotel

Posted May 13, 2017
I was impressed with the Marriott on my recent stay there. The hotel is in a convenient location. Check in and valet went smoothly. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I used the gym and it was excellent as all the equipment had TVs and free headphones. My only complaint is the room service. The service was prompt, but the food was not good. Ordered steak that was overcooked,dry, and inedible (I ordered it medium.) The breakfast hash browns and toast was so greasy I couldn't eat it. If it wasn't for the food I would give this hotel a rating of excellent.
5 out of 5
by Lee

One night visit

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
Overnight stay for family wedding. Great experience. All employees were very friendly and helpful. Check-in was fast and easy.
4 out of 5
by William

Pretty Good - would stay again but a little pricey

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
Parking is irregular but ok considering it is in a downtown/arena neighborhood. Sports bar on site was very hospitable and accommodating. Food was a plus for a sports bar.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again!

Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
Greetings, Concierge, were not welcoming. When asked a question they were bland and did not know. Leaving me dumb founded.