Ratings based on 932 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in historic Shockoe

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Great location, very walkable with good restaurants and shopping nearby!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to restaurants and downtown. Hard to park

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: It was beautiful with character.
Cons: The parking and unloading was a problem but the valet was excellent.
Location: Great restaurants and we enjoyed the canal ride and history.
We were only there for a night. We found the staff helpful. They recommended things to do and gave directions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Historic look and feel, very nice and elegant with a sweet staff. I would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Very nice hotel in a great location in downtown Richmond. Convenient to highway but on a quiet street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in Shockoe Slip!

Posted Nov 9, 2017
We love staying here whenever we come back to Richmond ever since we stayed here for our wedding night five years ago. It's a great cozy hotel with spacious and clean balcony rooms. Nothing beats having a balcony room overlooking the cobblestone street out front. For the price, it's a great value and we recommend it to anyone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not sure we would stay there again

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: a quieter A/C unit in the room
Location: visit with friends
Plan to return to Richmond. For the price of the stay, the room was a little small. The air conditioner was loud when it turned out all through the night. When the room was cleaned, the garbage cans weren't emptied, pillows weren't put back on the bed. Bring extra cash is you order a drink from the bar, very expensive. Some mornings we were charged for coffee, some morning we weren't. Valet and front desk personnel were very friendly and cordial people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Great location, so-so service

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Staff service.
Location: Walking distance of the state capitol building, White House of the Confederacy. Shockoe Slip area has good selection of restaurants.
The best thing about this hotel is its location in the center of the Shockoe Slip area, with a wide selection of restaurants and bars, even a bagel place around the corner. Unfortunately, my assigned room was right next to a hotel office, which not always quiet; also odd, given that hotel did not seem full. The staff were not up to the posted rating, especially the bellmen, who denied that they parked cars (they were also valets). This left a bad taste. That said, the room was small but pleasant and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Old Beauty in the Heart of Historic Richmond

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Room was spacious. Price was reasonable. Hotel centrally located.
Cons: Room was kinda loud. Something to muffle the outside noises.
Location: Central location in the city.
This is a reasonably priced hotel in the middle of historic Richmond with a very good restaurant.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Rooms are clean although a little dated. Staff is friendly. WiFi speeds are terrible and parking is non-existent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Great room. Nice large bathroom. Nicely & richly furnished. The hotel is in an excellent location where most of the city locations can be reached quickly and easily. Look forward to staying at The Berkeley again.