Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
29% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Great location in downtown Rochester

Posted Feb 19, 2018
Pros: Location
Cons: Major investment is needed to bring the hotel into good working condition.
The location is excellent but the hotel is in poor repair. For example, the elevators weren't working (all broken at once?), so one had to walk up and down many flights of stairs; equipment in the Fitness Center was broken; the computer system in the dining room was down, so one could not charge things to the room. Unfortunate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2018 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Mr.Jeff, We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the location of Rochester Riverside, as it is right in the heart of downtown Rochester. I wanted to apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. We currently have a few elevators working while the others undergo renovation. I also wanted to inform you that the computer system is working well and we are able to charge restaurant expenses to the room. We hope you stay with us again to experience these improvements. Warm wishes, Breanna Young
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

a scam

Posted Feb 13, 2018
I ran the shower the night before for four hours because the heat was not working get up the next day trying to shower go to Taco Bell and back 30 minutes they claim I flooded the entire hotel and charge me they went in my room and found the zigzag a blunt wrap her with no weed smoke and flooded the hotel from the 11th floor to the first floor show me lots of water damage on the second floor go inside the room on the 11th floor no damage they say wet dry rack how do I flooded eLeven hotel floors in 30 minutes pay to get my stuff out and there’s no water damage nowhere electrical Extension cord on the floor in place no damage McDonald’s bag next to bathroom door not wet and they call the police on me in the police made me pay or they will it take me to jailAnd when I tried to take pictures they told me I can’t take pictures of private propertyAnd before I left I put a do not disturb sign lady asked me if I was checking out I said no I put the sign there because I don’t want no body going to my room when I was not there I have cancer I had a fresh blunt pack on open because we were going to smoke on the way to Taco Bell I’ve stayed at this hotel at least five times never had a problem but this particular staff I thought I was a drug dealer they ransacked my room when I was not there and didn’t find nothing so they try to sell flooded the hotel and then gave me this bogus bill This is not my address They kick me out on the six and charge me to the seventh
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2018 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Mr. Hilland, I apologize for your disappointment during your stay. We take our no smoking policy very seriously here to delivery cleanliness and safety for all guests. Furthermore, your room was only inspected after water began pouring through the second floor meeting room all the way from your eleventh floor bedroom to ensure safety for our guests and staff. Please do not hesitate to call us for clarification if you have further questions or concerns. Warm wishes, Breanna Young
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a quality place to stay.

Posted Feb 7, 2018
This was my second stay in about 18 months. I gave them a second try ... thought they must have gotten better. l don't even know where to begin. Not all elevators working, escalator closed in the evening. We asked how to get across the street with the connecting bridge, only to find out it was closed. Ask some one else about it and they just shrugged and said it wasn't open. Bathroom set up bad. Room was FREEZING, they forgot to turn on the heat. I did heat up quick though, thank goodness. Restaurant staff for breakfast was only 2. No bread for toast then the wen to get some and it was only white bread and frozen. Out of things ... just not a great experience
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mid Renovation Woes

Posted Feb 5, 2018
Pros: The shower was great.
Cons: Fix the key situation
The hotel is being renovated. We had to use the staff elevators. They are quite a walk from the lobby. My room keys failed 3 times in 3 days. I had to get replacements all 3 times, which meant a hike to the service elevators. My Uber driver used to work here. As I was explaining my key situation, she guessed which floor I stayed on. Do not stay on the 11th floor.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ny

Hotel in Horrible condition

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything. Shut it down and renovate. Not sure how it passes inspection for safety or any other
Location: We went to an Amerks game
We were very disappointed with this hotel and honestly it should not be taking on guests until they get that place renovated and safe/comfortable for guests. Our room was on the 7th floor. Upon arriving, the lobby was freezing. Fine, it was very cold outside. BUT, then the elevators were our of service (in which apparently have been for months). We had to take the service elevators which was very far in the back of the building; in which many times you couldn't use them due to the door being locked and not having the buttons to the elevator on our side of the door. Walking up/down 7 flights of stairs...not fun. Our hallway on the 7th FLOOR was freezing!!! No excuse after being up that high. Our room, set at 75, felt like 45. Ice built up on the heating unit under the extremely poorly insulted/drafty windows. Bathroom floor freezing. I layed all towels down so that we could walk on them without freezing. Hotel didnt give any literature to places to go, anything about the the hotel,tv, etc. No one at desk to answer phone. Service staff less then helpful when ask them how to use service elevators if the doors leading to them were locked. Hotel states they have a restaurant and FREE breakfast...NOPE. It was closed and nothing about the breakfast was eluded to or existed. We left early. I was up at 6am freezing and so uncomfortable. I just wanted to go home. Nothing about this hotel rationalizes what they charged for one night. Staff didnt care of complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Karen

Posted Jan 8, 2018
I loved your desk clerk Frankie was very pleasant wonderful person great smile it’s a pleasure to have him at your front desk he is what you call a people person just great
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Hotel needs a lot of updating. Freezing rooms

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Pros: Proximity of where we needed to be.
Cons: Heat the building. The severity of the cold was not due strictly to the weather; the entire hotel was freezing. Hotel needs alot of work!!!
This hotel used to be a nice one years ago. We chose this hotel due to proximity of out plans in the city and being able to walk to and from. Upon check-in, the hotel lobby was freezing (it was a time of fridgid temps outside ). THe elevators were down so guests were to use the service elevators; which fine, but the extra long walk and then not always having access to the buttons was a pain, and at one point had to take 7 flights of stairs. WHen asking a service employee about it , they were less then helpful. When we entered our 7th floor, the entire hall was freezing cold; no excuse when up on the 7th floor. The room was luke warm, but the bathrooms were freezing. I layed the bath towels on the floor for something to step on. Throughout the night, we froze. There was a huge gap under the door leading to the frigid hallway, and then severely leaking windows, led to the overall feel of the room to be beyond cold. There was ice on the heating system that is under the windows. The hotel staff were friendly, tht was the only plus. The room did not have any literature of what is there, TV guide, and there was no information to where the continental breakfast was that was listed on their website. We left very early due to being so cold. I had 5 layers on. This hotel was way over priced for what we went through. I do not suggest staying until atleast June when you dont need to be warm. The staff was not surprised of our complaints nor did they offer any suggestions.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Close to Blue Cross are a

Posted Dec 25, 2017
Restaurant only open for breakfast and bar closed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Easton, PA

Excellent service

Posted Dec 19, 2017
We enjoyed our stay. Staff was excellent especially Frankie. We will always stay there when visiting our son at Eastman School of Music
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Great staff and hotel. The view was great from the room and I will be staying here again soon.