Ratings based on 1,260 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2017
It is nice, staff is nice and hotel is very close to the Capitol. I'd just like to suggest to have a better way of tracking the number of vehicles and days guests do valet parking. We stayed for 5 nights and did valet parking for two cars on the first night/day. On the second day, we tried self-parking for one car. Our student moved to university on-campus parking on the second day. On the third day to fifth day, we did valet parking for one car. When we were checking out, the staff did not know that we only did valet parking for 2 cars on the first night ( 5 p.m. to the next morning) and that we did not valet park for one night/day. I had to explain to the hotel staff. It turned out that we got charged extra day that we did not use valet parking. The online tv check-out in our room was not working. It was our second stay at the hotel. During our first stay a few months ago, I was able to check the charges online but it was not fully automated, I still had to check-out and pay with the hotel staff at the registration counter. Thank you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

We had a great stay!

Posted Aug 15, 2017
We had a great stay. Food and beverage were a little expensive, but otherwise we had a great time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2017
The room was nice and spacious. In addition, the view was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotts Valley, Ca

Great hotel, close to Capitol and many activities.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Was in town for local events. Staff was great. Good attitudes. Restaurant hours were surprisingly limited, but there are many good places close by. Overall experience was excellent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017
I booked 2 double beds by the time I checked inn they sold out double beds they give me folding bed ( I call them in advance and I told them I am checking inn late )still they give to the other people I am not happy I don't think I will go back again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redding, CA

Courteous Hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2017
The location of the hotel was perfect for what we wanted and that was a place where there were a lot of things to do within walking distance. The staff were all very helpful and friendly as well. That was the cherry on top.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Alaska

Not entirely up to Hyatt standards.

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: The décor was very nice, the location very convenient and the people were all very pleasant, helpful and considerate. Loved the view of the capitol.
Cons: More clothing storage space. Bigger pillows.
Location: The downtown location is very nice, capitol park is across the street, shops and restaurants are plentiful and close, the Golden One Center is close.
We stayed at the Sacramento CA downtown Hyatt on July 2nd and 3rd, 2017. I have stayed at many Hyatt properties in many places over the years and am a member of the Hyatt frequent user organization. All of the concerns I have with the downtown Sacramento property are small but important issues. First, there is not enough storage space for clothing. I dislike living out of a suitcase and the first thing I do when I check into a room is unload my suitcase into the drawers and closet. The room we stayed in had two very small drawers for clothing storage that were too small for even a small portion of our clothing. The space in the furniture was taken up by a safe and mini bar, neither of which are of particular importance to me. It has been my experience the safe is typically in the closet and that would have been an improvement. My next concern was that the hotel gift shop was limited in its hours of operation because of the "Holiday Weekend" we were told. It seems to me a holiday period should be a high occupancy period when the services of the gift shop would be highest and closing it early every day we were there was an inconvenience. We enjoy room service for breakfast when we travel and ordered breakfast from room service both days we were there. Both days the order was not correct. The food we received was excellent, just not complete. This level of service in a Hyatt was surprising. The bed was excellent but the pillows only average and undersized.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice hotel in downtown

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Hotel is located in downtown. We had booked with breakfast package. We were 4 people 2 adult and 2 children's. Hyatt wanted to charge us for breakfast. They told breakfast package is only for 2 people. We had to fight to get breakfast charges waived for children. Although I had called hotel and confirmed that package includes breakfast for 2 adults and it includes children's also. Eventually they did waive breakfast charges for kids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel across the street from state capital

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Easy access to restaurant and downtown activities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Excellent location near CA State Capitol

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: It's clean, staff are nice and the convenience of proximity to the capitol.
Cons: n/a
Location: The hotel is also conveniently close (within walking distance) to Frank Fat's Chinese Restaurant, a landmark in Sacramento since 1939.
On business in Sacramento, I needed to stay near the capitol The Hyatt Regency is the place to stay for that purpose. Just across the street from the park in which the capitol is located. Considering that the temperatures hit 107F on the day of my stay, the short walk over was much appreciated.