Ratings based on 1,248 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotts Valley, Ca

Great hotel, close to Capitol and many activities.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Was in town for local events. Staff was great. Good attitudes. Restaurant hours were surprisingly limited, but there are many good places close by. Overall experience was excellent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017
I booked 2 double beds by the time I checked inn they sold out double beds they give me folding bed ( I call them in advance and I told them I am checking inn late )still they give to the other people I am not happy I don't think I will go back again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redding, CA

Courteous Hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2017
The location of the hotel was perfect for what we wanted and that was a place where there were a lot of things to do within walking distance. The staff were all very helpful and friendly as well. That was the cherry on top.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Alaska

Not entirely up to Hyatt standards.

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: The décor was very nice, the location very convenient and the people were all very pleasant, helpful and considerate. Loved the view of the capitol.
Cons: More clothing storage space. Bigger pillows.
Location: The downtown location is very nice, capitol park is across the street, shops and restaurants are plentiful and close, the Golden One Center is close.
We stayed at the Sacramento CA downtown Hyatt on July 2nd and 3rd, 2017. I have stayed at many Hyatt properties in many places over the years and am a member of the Hyatt frequent user organization. All of the concerns I have with the downtown Sacramento property are small but important issues. First, there is not enough storage space for clothing. I dislike living out of a suitcase and the first thing I do when I check into a room is unload my suitcase into the drawers and closet. The room we stayed in had two very small drawers for clothing storage that were too small for even a small portion of our clothing. The space in the furniture was taken up by a safe and mini bar, neither of which are of particular importance to me. It has been my experience the safe is typically in the closet and that would have been an improvement. My next concern was that the hotel gift shop was limited in its hours of operation because of the "Holiday Weekend" we were told. It seems to me a holiday period should be a high occupancy period when the services of the gift shop would be highest and closing it early every day we were there was an inconvenience. We enjoy room service for breakfast when we travel and ordered breakfast from room service both days we were there. Both days the order was not correct. The food we received was excellent, just not complete. This level of service in a Hyatt was surprising. The bed was excellent but the pillows only average and undersized.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice hotel in downtown

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Hotel is located in downtown. We had booked with breakfast package. We were 4 people 2 adult and 2 children's. Hyatt wanted to charge us for breakfast. They told breakfast package is only for 2 people. We had to fight to get breakfast charges waived for children. Although I had called hotel and confirmed that package includes breakfast for 2 adults and it includes children's also. Eventually they did waive breakfast charges for kids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel across the street from state capital

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Easy access to restaurant and downtown activities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Excellent location near CA State Capitol

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: It's clean, staff are nice and the convenience of proximity to the capitol.
Cons: n/a
Location: The hotel is also conveniently close (within walking distance) to Frank Fat's Chinese Restaurant, a landmark in Sacramento since 1939.
On business in Sacramento, I needed to stay near the capitol The Hyatt Regency is the place to stay for that purpose. Just across the street from the park in which the capitol is located. Considering that the temperatures hit 107F on the day of my stay, the short walk over was much appreciated.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Had a terrible experience with a raging party next door (in a connecting room!) with at least 20 people. Called security, and they got it to quite down somewhat. Then came the drunken bro yelling, and wanting to fight someone. This went on until almost 7 am. I complained to the front desk and they gave us a different room. After packing and moving our things ourselves, we discovered that the new room happened to be smaller than the old one. So all we got out of the experience was a sleepless night, an apology, and a smaller room. Also, the rooms don't come with a refrigerator, and only come with 2 cups/glasses. So we spent almost an hour on the first day just calling and waiting for these essential items to be delivered to our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Mateo, Ca

Date weekend

Posted May 29, 2017
Great place to stay!! Walking distance to a lot of cool spots. Nice pool. Will stay again next year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2017
Restaurant service and food just ok. Location good for downtown. Short distanct to train station, about a $6.00 cab ride.