Ratings based on 1,556 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Race Hotel for a marathon

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Pros: Service, character of architecture, high quality furnishings, comfortable bed
Cons: The TV was 'quirky', shutting itself off at times
Location: good casual dining about 5 blocks away, beautiful capital grounds 2 blocks away, old town about 6 blocks away
We chose the Citizen because of it's proximity to the finish of the marathon, and were pleasantly surprised by the quality, character and service. The hotel was more luxurious than we expected, and it's unique character was interesting. The staff was excellent, catering to a couple of special requests with friendliness and efficiency. I would stay at the Citizen again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Folsom

Great spot

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Really cool spot , classy old building, nice rooms and great location
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

sacramento, californification

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Sacramento is grossly over priced - taxes are obscene - it has gotten as bad as San Francisco - I will avoid it in the furture - "J" street is a dump!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Good location, nice staff

Posted Dec 5, 2017
This is a very nicely appointed hotel with a great location. The staff are very nice and professional. The room is very small and the traffic is kind of loud, at least from the second floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portland, OR

Nice hotel right downtown

Posted Dec 5, 2017
I enjoyed my stay here. Nice hotel, staff are professional and helpful. Room is comfortable and clean. There is free coffee in the lobby but no coffee maker in the rooms, which would be nice to have. Overall a very good experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Vancouver

Posted Dec 5, 2017
My room is 716, right straight faces to the conference space on the same floor. This conference space takes place party very night, and these parties are super noisy until midnight. Don't expect to have a good sleep staying there, Horrible experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Carson City, NV

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Cons: You can hear anything that goes on in the hallway.
The hotel was nice and all. I did not like the fact I could hear people in the hallway outside our room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Nice old school hotel in downtown

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Rooms are small but really cool hotel. Has great bar/restaurant
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but small rooms

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Nice hotel but weird smell in the lobby and very small room. Loved the restaurant Grange!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 29, 2017
This hotel was in a great location. We were able to walk to most all our destinations. Also we were so happy with the hotels decor and rooms. The bathroom was large and the beds were comfortable.