Ratings based on 1,566 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chico, ca

Comfort and convenience

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Excellent service, super clean rooms, and very convenient area to get around downtown and close walk to old town. All in all awesome stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sacramento, ca

Down Town night out.

Posted Jan 14, 2018
We had a great night out starting at the Grange bar at the citizen hotel. The staff was excellent attentive and knowledgeable. Our room was clean super authentic to the style of the Citizens hotel and very comfortable. The valet service for parking was an added plus.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sacramento CA

Unique hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: I love the political and "old" style
Cons: the amenities
Location: not much to do. They are still building up the area around Golden One Center so just a lot of construction
We have stayed at The Citizen before. The experience has always been lovely. However, this time, there were a few minor issues. There was only one wine glass in the room when we arrived so we called down to ask for a larger ice bucket for our bottle of champagne and were told we already had a bucket and glasses. We told them the bucket was too small for the bottle and we only had one glass. Took quite a while to get them to bring a bucket and a second glass. The toilet didn't flush properly, the bathroom door didn't close all the way. The TV kept turning itself off and when it wasn't turning itself off, would freeze in the middle of a show off and on. Just some annoying issues to have when you go to a hotel of this caliber.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redondo Beach CA

Great city hotel

Posted Jan 7, 2018
We needed a convenient place to stay on our way up to Oregon and this place was/is great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Was a great experience at this hotel, I stay one night , great stuff , very clean room and awesome atmosphere
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tracy, CA

Beautiful Older Hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Pros: The rooms!
Cons: Dealing with the sound that comes from the outside.
This is a beautiful older hotel in the heart of Sacramento. Because of its location and its age, you will hear more than maybe you want to! The rooms was beautiful and the bed was comfortable. I really enjoyed my stay there and would stay there again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK but not again

Posted Dec 29, 2017
Pros: Staff are nice.
Cons: Safe Free Self Parking
Location: Tons of homeless. Not a safe place
Small room. Looks nice. Beds are hard and uncomfortable. We booked for 4 person but there are only 3 sets of towels. Location is terrible. Lots of homeless people all around. Valet Parking only. Staff are nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Extremely smooth check in process and very accommodating staff. When we called the front desk for a bell hop or room service they were very fast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Andreas, California

Almost Excellent.

Posted Dec 22, 2017
Pros: Beautifully restored vintage building.
Cons: No place to plug in Keurig coffee maker other than on the floor beside the bed or on the bathroom sink. Very low water flow from bathroom faucet.
Location: Great central location to just about anything and everything.
Room on the small side but comfortably appointed. Extremely large bathroom with a huge shower (no tub). The 2 bottles of water priced at $3.00 each should have been complimentary considering the price. Seemed a bit "nickel & dime" tacky and diminished an otherwise class act. An additional 2 pack of sugar and creamer would also be in line.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Walnut Creek, CA

Love this hotel!

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Pros: Rooms Service Restaurant Location
Location: 3 blocks from the Golden 1 center Downtown near all of the political stuff
This was our second time staying at The Citizen and we have fallen in love with the place! Cool vibe and great location just a few blocks from the new arena.