Ratings based on 322 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Disappointment n Failure

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Arriving, it was fine. We stepped out the next morning only to discover house cleaning failed terribly. The room was not cared for, trash was left behind. The carpet was dirty, appliances were left out. It was as if no effort to clean the room was made. Furthere more, there was no hot water to shower with and the out dated jaccuzi tub finish was peeling off in chunks. A terrible attempt to make the bed was the last straw. To include NO PARKING.... Never again, this experience was terrible. A FAILING GRADE. Thank goodness for the MARRIOTT HOTEL.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sonoma County

One night stay for concert at Golden One arean

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pleasant surprise . Room was large , clean and comfortable. Beds were firm, okay for me but not my wife. (Maybe time for new beds). Staff was courteous and helpful. Parking could be difficult but worked out fine for us. Walking distance to downtown. Would stay again and recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2017
The hotel staff was very nice to us by upgrading our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Walkable downtown location. Historic and unique st

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Nice staff. Room size is good. It is a unique place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

beautiful hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: everything
beautiful building, close to downtown, clean, big room, quiet and nice, comfortable, nice decor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great, super cute old mansion in Sacramento!

Posted Jun 30, 2017
It was a really lovely little hotel to stay in. The staff was really helpful and it was very clean. Our room was huge!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in a converted mansion

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Since the building used to be a mansion, staying here feels different from being in a regular hotel. Central location also makes it convenient. However, the building is old, so there are annoyances such as poor noise proofing, fittings that tend to fall off, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo, Japan

Back in time feeling with all modern amenities

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Location: Hotel is downtown and restaurants are not far, you could walk everywhere from there.
Very well maintain hotel with very friendly staff, very quiet. Room are spacious, beds are comfortable. AC is not too loud and Breakfast buffet is good. We loved the back in time feeling when entering the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle, WA

Grand hotel with lots of charm.

Posted Jun 22, 2017
The room is spacious and comfortable. Great location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Good location, ok hotel.

Posted Jun 5, 2017
The Sterling was nicely located, but the hotel was just so so. The staff was friendly and helpful but the room was disappointing. I expected more for a three and a half star hotel and the price we paid. The decor was mismatched and it was quite noisy. A Cheeto was left under the bed, the floor to the bathroom was dirty and there was a bent up Q-tip rolled up in a washcloth. In the morning, the water never warmed up so we had cold showers.