Ratings based on 1,855 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Old Town Sacarmento

Close to the Train museum

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Location was great room was clean. The bed was very comfortable. It had a great flat screen TV. The place was in walking distance from the railroad museum and shops
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Guns n Rose rocked...resting place good.

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: Better security for the loud people
Location: Golden 1 Center - Old town sac just short walk away
I really like staying here. The location is the fantastic. The only thing I would say is that there is no control over the people making noise outside like it's a hang out. That part stunk. Finally security came to stop them. I'd stay again for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by AGMLarissa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are very glad that our security was able to handle the noise complaint for you. We are very proud of our location as it is convenient for all! Thank you again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Always feel welcome

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Make it stop raining do the wifi is better
Location: Do not know.
I've stayed a few times and every time has been great. State is super accomadating and always available. I appreciate that they provide services 24 hours a day, and that includes coffee and computer access. The staff are so nice; what I like the most about their employees is that they act like human beings. Our interactions are natural and I actual feel like they care when I can't figure out the wifi password (all my fault, not theirs). Also, they give you a coupon for a free meal at the resteraunt next door, NOthing but good things to say about the Vagabond.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel: Great Hotel for the price

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Almost everything for the price
Cons: Clear instructions on where to and where not to park. It may seem simple, but the tow trucks are in a feeding frenzy outside for new visitors.
Hotel staff was friendly and helpful, more helpful than your usual hotel 2.5 star hotel. Rooms were clean, hotel was safe, interior was pleasant, bathroom was spotless. If you are coming here looking for a 4.0-5.0 star experience, you won't get it, but I can 100% say this was MUCH nicer than the other 2.5 star hotels I have stayed out, and will be staying here on my quick trips to Sac. The hotel has easy freeway access and is in downtown. **ASK THE FRONT DESK ABOUT WHERE YOU CANNOT PARK - PARKING LOT HAS TOW SPACES WILL LITTLE TO NO MARKINGS THAT PARKING VALIDATION WILL NOT AFFECT. **PLEASE ASK THE FRONT DESK WHERE YOU CAN AND CANNOT PARK
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by AGMLarissa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so glad we could make your stay as comfortable and convenient as possible! And thank you for the warning about parking, we do have our own parking lot on the side of the hotel, however, at the front of the hotel we do have 3 parking spaces that are clearly designated for hotel, the rest is part of the restaurant next door to us! We provide parking permits for your vehicle an d you will not get towed if you have it CLEARLY on your dash if you park in the restaurant parking. One permit is complimentary with the room, and if space is available, additional permits are $20. Please let us know you are parking a vehicle so we may provide the permit to you. Thank you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sonora

Great location!

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Super hotel, nice spa and pool, great location. Breakfast was adequate, but they watered down the juice so much, it tasted like colored water! Also, tea bags in the rooms would be nice for those of us who don’t drink coffee.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to freeway

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: beds were clean
Cons: rooms updated and maintenance kept up
Location: Convention Center, Starbucks
This hotel is close to convention center and freeway however needs to be updated. Bathroom was falling apart with wall exposure and wall outlets hanging off walls. Room was noisy due to thinness of outside door and wall. Will not stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2017 by AGMLarissa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize if you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do pride ourselves on our location and due to the fact we are conveniently located right off the freeway, and surrounded by great tourist areas, we understand there is noise. We do provide earplugs in all of our rooms for our more sensitive sleeping guests, as well as, poolside rooms that are typically quieter upon request at check in! Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you enjoyed our wonderful city!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

Overnight stay on road trip

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Great location
Cons: Please improve free WIFI, weak and slow....these days guests need good quality WIFI for business...like selecting the next hotel on a road trip.
Location: Shopping at Macy's about a block away, and Old Town Sacramento, one block away in opposite direction, stores, restaurants, bars, etc.
We have stayed here many times before, no disappointments. We travel between our home in Victoria BC to our second home in Mesa, AZ every year.....have stopped here for the past few years. Easy to find right off HI 5, clean room, clean bathroom, bed comfortable...not new but quite serviceable. New improvements with multiple plugs for devices on work station. Breakfast is terrific, hot and cold, Macy's nearby, walking distance, Old Town Sacramento nearby, walking distance to all sorts of restaurants and touristy shopping...something to do to stretch our legs after hours in a car.... It's just perfect for an overnight stay during road trip. Will stay here again. Only complaint is weak WIFI...very slow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hanford, Ca

Walking distance from train station and Old town

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. Traveled with 6 girls On the train for an overnight trip. Staff made sure our rooms were right next to eachother. Great location, great time. Will definitely stay again. Family friendly and clean. Even after checking out they let us leave our luggage so we could shop Old town Sac before heading home on the train. Provided a shuttle to and from Downtown which made things very convenient- Especially after a night of heavy drinking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel close to nearly everything

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Very nice hotel that is close to the train station and the Old Sacramento Town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redding, Ca.

Good location

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: Very good location and staff.
Cons: I was happy over all.
Location: One block from old town,three blocks from Golden one center and shuttle will take you to airport and other locations.
This hotel is in a very good location to a # of attractions and even has shuttle service. Dennis the shuttle driver is very personable.We even got to know the staff at the cafe next door,and had a great breakfast that was offered at the cafe through the Vagabond.