Ratings based on 1,194 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great downtown location, pretty cool and dainty.

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Decoration
Cons: Add shower caps and soap plus extend time on complimentary coffee. Bottled water!!
Location: Location is great!
Decoration is out of ordinary, very cool. Great location, restaurant is amazing. I really loved the toiletries idea and generosity with the big bottles on the shower, plus the quality of it is great. Rooms are small and the hotel areas as well but comfortable and worth it. In the other hand, a little noisy, I heard other rooms activity. Complementary coffee is removed too early plus the parking is not convenient. Overall is a nice different, cute, little hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by Alison, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Kimpton Hotel Monaco for your recent visit to Salt Lake City. Thank you for the feedback about the shower caps. While we do not offer shower-caps in our guestrooms they are available on a complimentary basis through our housekeeping department. We do stock bottled waters in our guestrooms and they are complimentary for members of our guest rewards program, Kimpton Karma, through a $10 Raid the Mini Bar card each time you stay with us. Thank you for the feedback about our complimentary coffee service. It is displayed until 10 AM on weekdays and 11 AM on weekends. In-room coffee makers are also available upon request on a complimentary basis. Hotel Monaco does not have a self-park garage but offers valet parking for $24 per vehicle per overnight. Hopefully we will see you again next time you're in Salt Lake City.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Attractive hotel im the center of town

Posted Sep 13, 2017
We were within blocks of the Mormon Temple Square with its Family Search Center where the staff was helpful and diligent in tracing my ancestors. Restaurant is first class, but the boulangerie Eva's bakery serves unrivaled pastries and better lattes. Their oversight was not informing us wi-fi password expires after 24 hours.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Alison, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Kimpton Hotel Monaco for your recent visit to Salt Lake City. Thank you for the nice comments about our central downtown location and Bambara, our onsite restaurant. Thank you also for the feedback about our wireless access. Internet is complimentary for all members of our guest rewards program, Kimpton Karma. If you sign up for Kimpton Karma you will not be required to re-sign in to the wireless during your time with us. Other perks of this amazing program are a complimentary $10 Raid the Mini Bar card each time you stay as well as personalized stay preferences. Hopefully we will see you again next time you are in Salt Lake City.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Needham, MA

Staff was great and hotel location was as well.

Posted Sep 9, 2017
We arrived early and were able to get a room which was huge. The hotel is in a great location so, we were able to walk to sites and restaurants as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by Alison, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Kimpton Hotel Monaco for your recent visit to Salt Lake City. I'm happy to read that our staff was able to arrange for early arrival. Thank you also for the nice comments about our central downtown location. Hopefully we'll see you again next time you're in Salt Lake City.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Beautiful Hotel for a weary traveller

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: See above
Very nice hotel with tasteful decor. Immaculate and inviting. Loved the large, comfy lounge area and the evening social hour was a nice addition. The only issue I had was the parking which was confusing to say the least. A couple of the employees stated that parking in the adjacent garage was free if you self parked but valet parking was $24 per day. That was not the case and we were charged when we exited. As nice as the hotel is, walking around the block, we encountered numerous homeless men laying around or hanging around the area. This was definitely a little unnerving. Since we were only there for a nightly stop, we never made it into town either. Just a heads up that most of the surrounding dining was closed on Sunday. All in all, no complaints about our stay and I would definitely consider a Kimpton hotel again on my next travels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Alison, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Hotel Monaco for your recent visit to Salt Lake City. Thank you for the nice comments about our décor, living room lobby, and complimentary evening social hour. Thank you also for the feedback about your experience parking with us. I am very sorry that you were misinformed by our staff. Overnight valet parking at Hotel Monaco is $24 per vehicle per overnight including unlimited in and out privileges. Hotel Monaco does not own its own parking garage and thus we do not have a complimentary self-park option. I have shared for your feedback with our staff with a reminder about our parking options. Thank you also for the feedback about the transient population in downtown Salt Lake City. Like most other cities we do have some homeless in town but we have had no corresponding issues reported by our guests and we find downtown Salt Lake a very safe and enjoyable destination. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, just a bit overpriced.

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Room was clean, hotel looked nice, friendly staff.
Cons: Don't charge for every little thing.
Location: It is right in downtown SLC, about a block south of City Creek.
This hotel is obviously very nice. The room was clean and everything, but it was just annoying that they nickel-and-dimed you for everything. Honestly, getting on wifi should not cost you $13 a day (especially when the crappiest motels offer free wifi). Overall it was nice, but just a little too pricy once everything is considered.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Alison, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Hotel Monaco for your recent visit to Salt Lake City and for the nice comments about our guestrooms and staff. Thank you also for the feedback about the cost of our wireless internet access. Wireless access is complimentary for all members of our guest rewards program, Kimpton Karma. This program is complimentary to join and includes additional perks such as a $10 Raid the Mini Bar Card each time you stay as well as customizable stay preferences.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Downtown hotel close to everything I needed.

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: I like the boutique size, which makes for a more comfortable environment.
Cons: I wouldn't change a thing about this hotel. It provides you with everything you need
Location: You are in the heart of downtown surrounded by great restaurants and shopping. The valet parking makes it easy to arrive and depart during your stay.
Spent three nights. The room was clean, modern decor and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially our valet Zack. He gave great recommendations on restaurants and things to see during our stay. The restaurant located in the hotel "Bambara" was 4 star.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by Alison, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Kimpton Hotel Monaco for your recent visit to Salt Lake City. Thank you for the nice comments about our central downtown location, valet parking services, guestrooms, and our staff. I agree that our bellman Zack is excellent and we're very lucky to have him on our team. I'll absolutely share your comments with him as I know he'll be pleased. Hopefully we'll see you again next time you're in Salt Lake City.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chino hills ca 91709

The shower water flow is way too low and small

Posted Aug 26, 2017
It took forever for us to finish shower 5 people in our family. The water flow runs is very low and small .. other than this everything else is pretty good
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Ugly rooms, good breakfast restaurant.

Posted Aug 25, 2017
The third floor king room was dark and dingy- a let down from the bright public spaces.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing.

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Apparently there are some glitches.
Location: Central location, near theaters.
Tried to check in at 3:50 p.m. Room not ready. Another guest checking in immediately after me had his room ready at same time, same type of room I had requested. Clerk suggested we take a walk in the 90+ degree heat and smoke. Not such great service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice downtown hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Very cool hotel, good location and awesome vibe. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by Alison, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Kimpton Hotel Monaco for your visit to Salt Lake City. Thanks so much for the nice comments about our vibe, central downtown location, and especially our staff. I agree that they are excellent. Hopefully we will see you again soon.