Ratings based on 499 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
38% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON

Posted Sep 18, 2017
This hotel had friendly and helpful staff, and made an effort to keep things clean and running smoothly. I was happy to have an iron, board, hair dryer and mini-fridge. The bed was decent and clean. However, aside from the entry way, the rooms felt old and musty, and like smoke, even though I had a non-smoking room. One of the chairs was broken in my room, and the television didn't work. The key card kept locking me out, and I had to get it "re-activated" several times. The elevator felt like it might collapse each time I used it, and often the halls were full of random stuff like broken lamps, old TV's etc. One of the reasons I went with this place was because of the FULL breakfast. I was quite unimpressed with their selection: mainly surgary carbs like waffles, fruit loops, white bread, jam, and muffins. There was zero protein or anything FRESH to be found.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location to downtown Salt Lake City

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Hotel was very basic. Rooms lacked a lot of the extras (like hangers); however the front desk person was extremely nice and helpful. Don't count on the continental breakfast as it was 'toast'.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Hallways were an absolute mess. The room hadn't been vacuumed, coffee maker in the room was discusting as if it has never been cleaned. Overall, hotel was in poor condition:(
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Easier to gut the place and start over.

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Dank, dark, outdated, dirty, and would be best if they just gutted the whole building and start over. Reminded me of 1975 International House of Pancakes, smoking section; you can take the smoker out of the house, but the smell stays.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great location with potential.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
The outside is being renovated to make it more appealing. The variety of guests ranged from business travelers to local drug addicts. I was staying there for a vacation. It is located just a few blocks from the downtown restaurant/bar area; although, slightly sketchy, my girlfriend and I felt comfortable walking. They're trying to clean up the exterior, the interior probably following, and hopefully they can get rid of the locals that are obviously on narcotics.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta

Very Old and run down

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: The Staff
Cons: new carpets, new beds, new bathrooms
Location: a good location for downtown
Need major upgrades. Staff was nice. Looks and feels like no repairs on hotels sinces the 1980's
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Don't do it!

Posted Jun 23, 2017
It looks ok from the outside, but this place is strange. All I needed was 10 hours in a room, I can camp, but this is rougher. The hallways are dirty - the baseboards are missing. The floors are stained. It smells funky - like they're covering up something with a crapload of Fabreeze. The bedspreads had holes from old cigarettes. There are stains everywhere. The odd things was that the bathroom was actually nice. Looked like it was new, and the floors were a nice tile, but then I noticed they weren't cleaned from the prior guests! I didn't want to take off my socks it was so gross. First hotel I've been to in 30 years that didn't have blackout blinds. I wiped off the remote because it all looked so dirty - the washcloth was brown with schmutz. Oh, tape over the remote to keep the batteries in, no cover. It doesn't matter, TV didn't work. Clock on banged up cheap nightstand didn't work. No shampoo. Never back to a Roadway Hotel. Don't do it!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very bad.

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Bad bad bad. Don't stay. Rude rude dirty little flee bag
3 out of 5
by Chelise

It was good

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
It was good
5 out of 5
by Jakob

Quiet place

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was just fine. Room was clean, location was good (right downtown, very close to the mormon temple and various other sites of interest), and it was quiet. They're currently renovating so I can only imagine staying here in the future would only be better!