Ratings based on 630 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location in dowtown salt lake city

Posted Jan 7, 2018
very helpful staff. We had a large family gathering and they were able to put us all on the same floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ut

Nice hotel/ great location

Posted Jan 6, 2018
We loved the family friendly hotel. The concierge service was excellent. It is very close to everything downtown. We walked to mall, restaurant, and gateway to see mirror drop at midnight for new Year. Bathroom was not as clean, but room was. Will be coming back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 29, 2017
Location: Across from Salt Palace and Abravanel Hall. Just had to cross the road to attend a concert. Around the corner from Temple Square and City Creek.
Jodi was excellent at checking us in. The room was great overall, but there were some men's underwear left hanging in the bathroom on the backside of the door. Otherwise, our stay was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spanish Fork, UT

Switched our room and took care of us

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Pros: Proximity
Cons: Faster Elevators
Location: City Creek, Temple Square and the lights at Christmas time.
The first room had a very bad smell so they switched our rooms and it was fine. The hotel is a little dated and needs to be updated. The service was great at the front desk. Thanks. It was nice being close to the lights on Temple Square and shopping at City Creek.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Layton, Utah

Great Location

Posted Dec 24, 2017
Pros: Centrally located in Salt Lake City for both cultural and theatrical events. Lots of restaurants in the area for a great variety of food choices.
Cons: Lower the price for parking.
Location: Centrally located in Salt Lake City for both cultural and theatrical events. Lots of restaurants in the area for a great variety of food choices.
Went to see Manheim Steamroller at the new Eccles Theater. Parked at the hotel and were able to walk to dinner and the theater. Very convienient.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from utah

No heater, no hot water

Posted Dec 19, 2017
We had no hot water in the morning and we had our heater set at 80 degrees all night but the room was icy. We arrived in the late evening around 7. I had made several requests by email and phone for a little extra special room for my small children’s Christmas city visit. I realize they can’t accommodate every request but I feel like we were given one of the worst possible rooms. we were only on fifth floor facing a brick wall, facing away from the city. Oh well. The furnishings in the room and the bedding were outdated but seemed clean. When we walked in our room it was very chilly. The thermostat was set at 70° so we pumped it up to 74° and went back out for the evening. When we came back at 10:30 the room was still cold so we set the thermostat to 80°. Our kids were asleep so we just put them to bed in sweaters and wrapped them in the thin comforter. I didn’t want to go through changing rooms and they had already said at check in that the hotel was all booked. We made it, uncomfortably, all snuggled together. When we attempted a shower in the am the water only got lukewarm so we just cleaned up a little and got out of there. Upon explaining everything at the front desk the clerk just said “sorry you had problems with the room “ and handed me the receipt and said thanks for staying with us. I told her please notify maintenance so the next family in that room doesn’t have such a bad experience. I’m guessing that never got passed on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location, great staff.

Posted Dec 18, 2017
This hotel is within walking distance to the Temple, Conference Center, theaters, shopping, dining...you name it. The staff was very accomodating to a special request.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Salt Lake City @ Christmas

Posted Dec 16, 2017
Very nice hotel in the heart of Sdlt Lake City by the Mormon Tabernacle & City Creek Mall. Excellent staff & the restaurant Elevation was very tasty w/ great service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Stayed for an anniversary get away. Great hotel, friendly staff. Comfortable accommodations. Everything was as expected at a Marriott.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2017 by Salt Lake Marriott Downtown, Hotel Management
We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tetonia Id

Quite, clean, safe, accommodating.

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Cost vs Quality gets an A plus. Easy check in, valet and bellman standing ready. Desk clerk fast and smart. Room clean and Window opens for fresh air. Linens crisp.