Ratings based on 1,093 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansad City

Great hotel near the city center

Posted Oct 10, 2017
My wife and I loved the hotel, the staff, our suite, and the atmosphere. The classic beauty of the building and grounds stands out. The staff was pleasant and helpful. Our suite was appointed well and comfortable, except for the bed. The bed wasn't horrible, but could have been more comfortable. It was pretty firm. I also think the fitness center should be free to guests. But overall, I would recommend Grand America, and we would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Davis county, Utah

Upper Class

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Great hotel with absolutely wonderful staff! Those of you who are pompous and entitled and expect to be waited on at every turn this hotel is for you! I’m a pretty simple gent so it was almost a bit uncomfortable for me to be asked so many times if I needed anything! Crazy friendly staff who go the extra mile to make you feel important. Rooms are spotless and beautiful although they have a very old money feel. Not really embracing big screen TVs or modern lighting schemes. We’re talking gold chadaliers and rose pattern carpet! Think Buckingam palace with room service! Also just a heads up, valet service is not complimentary it’s $25 for a vehicle which isn’t really bad but still kind lame considering the room price. There is a self park structure easily accessible but it’s max height is 7 foot and not able to fit some full size vehicles like trucks. Other than that a fantastic stay! Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Smithfield Utah

Luxury hotel downtown close to everything.

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Warm cookies 24 x 7 in the lobby, French pastry shop, extrodinary food at the Garden Cafe...and speaking of gardens a walk through theirs is a feast for the senses.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Northern Viriginia

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Clearly the crown jewel of hotels in Salt Lake City. Service was exceptional from concierge assistance to restaurant and lounge staff. Room was spacious and very clean. Hotel offered several options for dining and relaxing. Located an easy walk to SLC restaurants and historic sites. Will definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from salt lake city

Spectacular view of the city

Posted Sep 22, 2017
I would recommend everyone stay at the Grand America at least once. It didn't feel like just another hotel more like a pampered retreat . The Manager/Staff surprised me ( for my Birthday )and set out chocolate covered strawberries and a card. Thank you . Not to mention what a absolutely stunning view and room . 5 stars in my opinion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Luxury

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Great Service
Location: Mall within walking distance
We had an amazing time on the property. The staff and workers took pride in their hotel. The food was amazing as was the bar service. All the little extras that you would expect even when there was a large conference going on. The room with a view was so nice to see the sunset. We walked to the Mormon Church ground from the hotel. It was a nice experience. We look forward to returning to this special "Golden" hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sarasota

Beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Only one little garbage can in the entire room, could have used one in the toilet area, and at least one in one of the vanity areas. We had to stack garbage in one of our own bags . We were never told upon arrival that if we wanted a coffee pot and coffee in our room that you had to ask for one. I heard these exact same complaints from another customer buying coffee in the morning. You would also think a higher end hotel like this one would have complimentary coffee in the lobby areas. Upon arrival they put us in someone else's room that was receiving macaroon cookies and a gift bag with someone else's name on it. It took standing in the hallway and waiting to get the correct room assignment - after traveling all day . But, it is a beautiful hotel. That's it.....
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Annie Fitzgerald | Director of Guest Experience , Hotel Management
Dear Patti, Thank you for sharing your review of your stay with us. I am deeply sorry about your experience and the disappointment you experienced. I am regretful of our error that caused confusion during your arrival. I am sorry this made a long day of travel even longer and that you were not able to immediately find comfort in your guest room. Please know that we take this type of error very seriously and have reviewed the discrepancy with our front desk team to ensure they understand the impact of the oversight. Additionally, I am sorry we did not offer to have a coffee maker sent to your room to ensure the luxury of having a hot cup of coffee in your room. Patti, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your candid feedback as we know it is imperative to the success of our hotel. As a leadership team, we have taken the time to discuss your personal experience so that we can focus on ensuring our guests receive the highest level of service. I certainly hope you will decide to return to stay with us in the future. Kind Regards, Annie Fitzgerald Director of Guest Experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Great hotel.... a little speedy but very nice and spacious rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fullerton

Best hotel with great value

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Everything is so beautiful and well managed
Cons: None
Location: Downtown
Awesome facilities, great pool and gym. Super kind employees.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Girls Weekend

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: location to downtown, friendly staff, relaxing pool, at hotel eating options, large rooms, beautiful design
Location: perfect downtown location, close to trax, close to City Creek shopping center
Love the Grand. While I have stayed here multiple times during winter months with my family (Christmas is so magical) this was the first time enjoying the hotel in the summer. Booked this hotel for a girls weekend retreat away from the kids. The accommodations are very spacious and the hotel is clean, quite, and perfect for a group of ladies looking for a little pampering time. We spent a large amount of time out at the pool and the staff were very friendly making sure everyone was comfortable throughout the day. The pool has a good selection of drinks and food. The spa at the Grand is amazing and they have some very talented massage therapists. The location of the hotel can't be beat as it is located in the free-ride zone for Trax allowing easy quick access to City Creek Shopping Center and a large variety of downtown restaurants. I keep coming back to this hotel for short little "staycations" for a reason. Superb service, top notch accommodations, and location!