Ratings based on 1,060 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jackson, WY

A dream come true!

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: More family movie nights.
Location: In the heart of the city, so close to everything.
Absolutely perfect in every way. Elegant beyond works. Every little detail is thought through. The toy store - mind-blowing! The patisserie - out of this world! Need to have more regular pool/movie nights!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Everything was special. They make everything beautiful and staff are so easy to work with. The pool are is one of the prettiest I've ever seen.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ketchum, Idaho

Very Disappointed, for a 5 star hotel!!

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: The building & deco is very nice!
Cons: SERVICE !!! HOUSEKEEPING!!!!
When I first walked into the room I threw open the sheers to see the amazing view. The window had grease marks from someone's forehead on it. Then I turned on the TV and the remote was sticky & tacky from food. I ordered room service, (which was good) then pushed the cart outside the door. Left the room for 4 hours and on my return the cart was still outside my room! Called to report it and also mentioned they did not turn-down my bed!!!! The next morning the smelly room service cart was still outside my door!! THEY NEED TO TRAIN THEIR STAFF
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

poor service

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: If it weren't so convenient for visiting our daughter at University of Utah, we would not stay there again. Service really was poor.
Cons: SERVICE.
Location: great location. right next to light rail which takes you downtown to all the restaurants & shops
for such a beautiful hotel, surprisingly poor service in bar and restaurant. VERY slow. bar was understaffed, super slow service. When we walked into restaurant for lunch, number of people were standing at hostess desk. Lots of servers walked by but said nothing to us and obviously didn't alert hostess. After waiting awhile, decided to sit at counter. As we walked to counter, walked by hall and saw the two hostesses, casually standing there chatting away to each other. When we checked in, the reception desk person had such a heavy accent we couldn't understand her. We literally had to ask her to repeat everything. We finally gave up figuring it couldn't be that important.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fremont, ca

Great hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Great clean hotel. Perfect for families with movies by the pool for kids. Spa is one of the best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM

Quiet Elegance

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: Wonderful breakfast restaurant, generous portions of lemon ricotta pancakes, thick sliced bacon and fresh carrot juice.
Cons: I couldn't get water in the shower past tepid no matter how long it ran. Shower valve needs balancing. My sheets were worn a bit thin.
Location: Walk across the street to Little America's coffee shop. Wonderful selection of fresh pies.
The room had all the things we often take for granted, but things I deeply appreciate: whisper quiet environmental controls, blackout drapes, high end toiletries, plenty of space, separate seating area, comfortable mattress. I managed to leave my iPad in a folder on the curb at the driveway entrance as I boarded an Uber for the airport. I called the hotel and the Bell Captain retrieved it for me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nicest hotel Ive ever stayed in

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: Unfortunately the surrounding area is a little sketchy if you choose to walk in the evening
Staff was wonderful. Hotel was exquisit. Romm was luxurious and spacious
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Altos Hills

Magestic looking hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2017
We got a 2 bedroom suite that was a bit stuffy. The living area was small and the fridge is tiny. All the furniture seemed dingy and dirty. I just felt the beautiful architecture and grounds did not match the room. At least the room we had. I would not stay there again because of that. The sofa was also so saggy and dirty. I will stay at a newer facility next time. Staff was awesome though and it was a convenient location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by Annie Fitzgerald | Director of Guest Experience , Hotel Management
Dear Elee, Thank you for staying with us at the Grand America. I want to thank you for your candid feedback. I am very sorry for the state of your guest room and I can understand the disappointment you must have felt. Please know that cleanliness and condition are one of the most important values and we continually strive to exceed expectations to ensure a comfortable stay for all guests. I am sorry we fell short. Thank you for your kind words describing our staff. We truly believe the employees are the heart and soul of the Grand America Hotel. I hope you will reconsider staying with us again. Kind Regards, Annie Fitzgerald I Director of Guest Experience The Grand America Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2017
It's a nice place if money has little meaning. The fees are way high and it seems like they charge extra for everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stayed here several times, great hotel

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Stayed here several times, great hotel that never disappoints