Ratings based on 876 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Needville, TX

Short Get Away

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: Location, front desk staff, breakfast staff.
Cons: Cleaning rooms EVERY day!
Location: Close to Alamo, Tower of Americas, Market Square, Riverwalk.
The room was large enough to be comfortable, king bed and pillows nice and comfortable. We loved the breakfasts, not a huge variety, but the hot food was hot and the cold food was cold. First day the room was nicely cleaned while we were out, bed turned down, etc. Second day we left at 9am or so and didn't return until around 4pm. After a long hot day of walking was hoping to return to room for a nice nap. The room hadn't been touched! We went back out to have a quick drink hoping it would be clean on our return as we saw the cleaning stuff in the hallway. Returned at 5 pm....room still not cleaned.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Diane, Thank you so much for your review! We are sorry to hear that your room did not get serviced the second day and we hope you will give us another chance the next time you are in town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lubbock

great location. quiet

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: cleanliness comfortable bed
Location: great location to attraction
enjoyed the comfortable room n staff. close to attractions. clan n get staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Joe, we appreciate you choosing us to host you for your recent trip. We love it when our guests take the time to share a review of their experience are thrilled that from your review that we were able to provide you with a five-star experience. We really appreciate your comments regarding cleanliness. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service that our guests expect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston, tx

Conveniently located

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Conveniently located near everything we wanted to do. Chose this location because of the rates, and free onsite parking. 2 things I experienced that would not necessarily bother someone else, the bed is really FIRM, and the A.C. is not cold enough. The 1 thing that does need mentioning is the tub is slippery and no handles to hold on to. These are not negative comments about the hotel, just letting the hot blooded, stomach sleeping travelers know this may not be the hotel for them. The staff was very nice and helpful. Happy traveling!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Judy, Thank you very much for staying with us, and for sharing the details of your stay. Our culture is to ensure that we exceed our guests expectations and truly personalize their visit. We are all very disappointed that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I have shared your review with my colleagues, so that we can address opportunities. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again and make your future stays five stars!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to Riverwalk and The Mi Tierra.

Posted Jul 20, 2017
I did not enjoy the Continental Breakfast because the area was to crowded.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology we did not meet your expectations during your stay. Our goal is to always provide the best possible service our guests come to expect and deserve. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again and give you a five star experience.
3 out of 5
by Maureen

not as private as we thought

Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels
the internet made the sitting area look more private. When the sofa bed was open, occupants of bedroom had to climb over person sleeping in sofa bed. Breakfast area and pool overcrowded, could have been better attended. I guess the holiday weekend had something to do with it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Keily, Hotel Management
Maureen, Thank you for sharing with us regarding your recent stay. I apologize for the less than satisfactory stay you had. I have passed along your notes to the appropriate hotel teams to ensure this issue is isolated and addressed immediately. We do hope we can be of future service to you.
5 out of 5
by JOSE

Just an overall great time

Posted Jul 7, 2017 on Hotels
Now I don't know if it is the fact I was exhausted because of my trip to Fiesta Texas earlier in the day, but the room was PERFECT. It had the perfecr temperature, the bathrooms were clean and really allowed me to relax after a really hot day. On top of that the bed was extremely comfortable. I did not wake up at all and even missed the complimentary breakfast that was given. My brother told me that their assortments of fruits and yogurt was excellent, but I'll take the extra hours of sleep over that during my vacation. Overall great service and a great room. Would come again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017
Jose, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are glad to hear the positive feedback regarding your five star trip to Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Market Square. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Great place to stay - would do it again without question
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback and we are delighted to read it was a great hotel experience for you. We enjoyed your visit and welcome you back whenever you are in the San Antonio area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017
Thank you for the 5 star rating! We hope to welcome you back again and will strive to make your future visits just as great as this one.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not believe the reviews, this place is awful.

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
I've stayed in Fairfield Inn's before and never had a problem. But this one was a total letdown. It seemed like it was somewhat recently renovated, but this room was a total afterthought. The bed was incredibly uncomfortable and the whole room felt thrown together in a bad way. The sink was so poorly installed that it was leaning forward and did not drain. Also, this was a first floor room, and the window was unlocked and easily opened from the outside (glad I checked). This is not in a safe part of town, pretty sketchy. The staff were nice and polite, no problems there. We were going to stay after a concert at the AT&T Center, but when we arrived back at the hotel there were NO parking spaces available. And there was nowhere else to park that we wouldn't get towed. They allowed vendor trucks (Haagen Dazs) to stay parked in the lot overnight. That was the last straw, we decided to go back home (over an hour's drive away) because at least we wouldn't have to stay in this garbage room. Do not believe the reviews, this place is awful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Keily, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay. I have notified the appropriate hotel staff members to address these issues immediately. We do hope you will afford us another opportunity to be of service to you in the future.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Tx

Ok hotel close to entertaining area.

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: Location and that is it.
Cons: Customer service from hotel staff. Smile and be more friendly especially room service and cleaning staff.
Location: Location is great. Easy access to I35 , walking distance to the Market which is great and short distance to down town and River Walk entertainment.
Over all ok experience. When first arrived their check in time and expedia check in time were different. Reception said they were working on this with expedia due to the hour difference of check in time. Had to wait a little longer before we could check in. But reception did call us when room was ready for us. We booked the Junior Suite which was some what disappointing. Sofa bed is very, very uncomfortable. Not enough towels and pillows for the number of guests in room. When we called reception we had to go get our towels and pillows for no one ever came to room with them after we called and asked for them. Room service is horrible. Bathroom was not cleaned properly or swept or mopped. When we arrived after being out all day we came to find our room not locked at all. We had our clothes in there only and a few items we had purchased the night before no real valuables but when I went to speak with reception all she said was we are sorry i will speak with the maintenance supervisor. Wow what a response. Like I said no harm done nothing that could not be replaced left that day but seriously room service was there and did not even bother to close door correctly. That is lack of security. Well in future will be staying at different hotel not likely to go back to this one.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Keily, Hotel Management
Greetings Anna, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about your recent stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for the less than satisfactory stay you had. I have passed along your comments to the team to ensure the issues you mentioned are an isolated incident. Our team strives to ensure that all of our guests are satisfied, and I can see we fell short. We hope that you will allow us another chance to serve you in the future.