Ratings based on 2,616 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Easy to get check in and out staff very nice. WiFi was not available for 1 day. The food was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hoover, AL

Great Location, Clean, Good Service

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Clean, comfortable, great location, reasonable price.
Cons: If Hilton has any control over the restaurant tenants, I would strongly recommend replacing the ownership of Tex's Sports Bar. It was horrible.
Great location right on the Riverwalk. The room was clean and comfortable, obviously recently renovated. I also appreciated texts from the Hotel staff ensuring that we were having a good stay. Someone ate at the restaurant on the first floor and charged our room by mistake, but the hotel cleared this up in a timely manner when we notified them of the problem. I would stay here again. We did make the mistake of trying the sports bar - bad food bad service, but I don't count that against the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Great location, but outdated and dirty

Posted Oct 9, 2017
It has been 2 years since my husband and I's last stay here, and I can say the second time was not as good. The staff was friendly, the room was comfy, BUT the room as not clean, there was dust everywhere and the bathroom looked like it hasn't been cleaned in a long time, the hotel itself does not appear to be well maintained. We stayed 2 nights and paid around $450, for that price the room had better be clean. We will not stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Tx

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Staff was very friendly and the hotel is right on the river walk. You literally just take an elevator down and walk out onto it. Cons: air conditioning didn’t work well- we like it super cold so had it set on the lowest it would let us go (I think like 67) and it definitely didn’t get that cold which made it uncomfortable to sleep. We called room service for water because we didn’t have any left in our room and the vending machine was out, the water never came. Pricey breakfast- about $20 for an average breakfast. For the price we paid for our stay I was expecting better quality. Internet isn’t free, and parking will cost you $31 a day- and it’s not even connected to the hotel- be prepared to walk (tip: park in the same garage as the Hilton parking but stay on the 1-6th floors for public parking- it’s cheaper, we only spent $36 for 2 nights 3 days.) We also had staff come by our room multiple times mistakening it with with other people’s rooms to drop off luggage. Overall if you’re looking for a good location and don’t mind the price, stay here, however if you want to make sure you get the most bang for your buck- I would suggest somewhere else, as the amenities, food, parking, etc. wasn’t worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston TX

Nice hotel close to everything on the riverwalk

Posted Oct 9, 2017
The hotel was amazing except for 2 things: 1) Noise level in the room. You can hear everything from tour buses, screaming tires, loud people and traffic 24/7. 2) beds and pillows were EXTREMELY soft to the point that I ended up sleeping in the sofa because it was so uncomfortable. Other than that, great location, great amenities, very clean and pretty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2017
The only issue was when the water was cut off so we had no hot water for about 1 hour. When water came back on it was dirty water until it cleared
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Nicest staff ever encountered

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Husband and I Went Labor Day weekend. Top notch hotel. Every staff member was do friendly and knowledable about how to get around San Antonio. Concierge was so helpful. It was our birthday we checked in got a beautiful room on the 17th floor overlooking the city and riverwalk. It's true you can't see the riverwalk because the floors are too high up but the city lights were beautiful. To our surprise they sent up a bottle of wine and a generous portion of cheese and fruit for our birthdays! Pool was on small size but was sufficient. Only thing I could say is they could update the pool area to make it more attractive. Some accents on the large wall would add some color and ambience. Would go back to this property for sure!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Roswell, NM

Very nice hotel and it's located on the river walk

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Very nice rooms and clean hotel a short walk away from everything downtown San Antonio
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First Time Is A Charm

Posted Aug 23, 2017
After 50 years we decided to stay at the iconic Palacio Del Rio. Everything met our expectations and the location can't be beat. All was great but the parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Great location on the River Walk

Posted Aug 22, 2017
We enjoyed our 40th anniversary weekend here. The staff was exceptional and the location was excellent. The breakfast buffet was high quality.