Ratings based on 7,591 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from iowa

30 th anniversary

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Very nice hotel right on the river walk. Very friendly and helpful staff. Highly recommend this hotel if you want to be downtown by the Riverwalk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Great hotel. Clean, spacious rooms. Hotel staff was friendly, professional & very helpful. They only thing I didn't like was that there was no microwave any on the premises. I just couldn't understand on why they would have a refrigerator but no microwave. Nonetheless, this was a great hotel, in an excellent location. My new husband & I enjoyed our "minimoon" here & can't wait to visit again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice hotel, exits to river walk

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Great location and well maintained, rooms are clean and comfortable. Well stocked bar, nice breakfast and ambient relaxing atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from jacksonville, fl.

Great stay in San Antonio

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: The rooms were spacious and very well furnished. The staff were very helpful with directions and recommendations. The location was ideal.
Location: San Antonio is a great city to visit, with lots to see. We especially enjoyed the Bristol Art Museum, the laser show at the San Fernando Cathedral.
The suites at Hotel Contessa are very roomy, attractive, and comfortable. Breakfast each morning on the river was delicious, as were the cocktails in the evening. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel - Dirty carpet

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Overall nice hotel
Cons: Remove the carpet ot at least clean it
Location: Many thing to do and the riverwalk was exceptional. We were very surprise.
Staff is super friendly and helpful. Hotel is very nice, food is great, pool is well located. If it would not have been for the very dirty carpet in our room this hotel would have received a 5 out of 5, but the carpet was so unclean that you could not walk without shoes. White socks would go dirty black within 5 minutes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rancho Cucamonga, California

Good hotel at the Riverwalk

Posted Oct 20, 2017
It is a good hotel just at the Riverwalk, close to other touristic places. The valet parking is not good because the small driveway gets congested very easily, and you will be waiting for some time before being served.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Our experience at the Contessa Hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: The View, friendly staff and very quiet.
Cons: More lighting in the bathroom.
Location: Walking distance to the Almo. Bus ride to the Missions. Bus ride to the Museum of Art. Easy access to getting around. Bus ride very cheap.
Great hotel but we did not eat there so we could not rate the food. Friendly staff, clean rooms and very spacious rooms. We did experience trouble (room card key was non-functional every night). We did not keep key card close to credit cards or cell phone so every night the front desk had to reset the key. Very frustrating. Also one day (we have no reason as to why), our room was not cleaned but we called and they came immediately to clean. Would recommend hotel. Very convenient to attractions and the bus for traveling. Right off the Riverwalk and many restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Conveniently on the riverwalk

Posted Oct 18, 2017
We came to san antonio on a thursday to enjoy the river walk without the crowds.The hotel was right on the river walk and we could use it to get where ever we wanted to go, plus it was directly next to the parking garage AND a whataburger for those Midnight milkshakes. We loved the decor and the room. Our only complaints were that the double doors to the bathroom were a little hard to open and close, and the bed was a bit hard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

On the Riverwalk

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Excellent hotel, located in the heart of the River Walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Excellent hotel, located in the heart of the River Walk.