Ratings based on 7,574 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Our experience at the Contessa Hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: The View, friendly staff and very quiet.
Cons: More lighting in the bathroom.
Location: Walking distance to the Almo. Bus ride to the Missions. Bus ride to the Museum of Art. Easy access to getting around. Bus ride very cheap.
Great hotel but we did not eat there so we could not rate the food. Friendly staff, clean rooms and very spacious rooms. We did experience trouble (room card key was non-functional every night). We did not keep key card close to credit cards or cell phone so every night the front desk had to reset the key. Very frustrating. Also one day (we have no reason as to why), our room was not cleaned but we called and they came immediately to clean. Would recommend hotel. Very convenient to attractions and the bus for traveling. Right off the Riverwalk and many restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Conveniently on the riverwalk

Posted Oct 18, 2017
We came to san antonio on a thursday to enjoy the river walk without the crowds.The hotel was right on the river walk and we could use it to get where ever we wanted to go, plus it was directly next to the parking garage AND a whataburger for those Midnight milkshakes. We loved the decor and the room. Our only complaints were that the double doors to the bathroom were a little hard to open and close, and the bed was a bit hard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

On the Riverwalk

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Excellent hotel, located in the heart of the River Walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Excellent hotel, located in the heart of the River Walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san antonio, tx

Very. Very nice hotel!

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Very nice hotel. Close to everything and the staff makes you feel welcomed
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Would never go back

Posted Oct 16, 2017
I rented a room for 2 nights, I checked in the first night and went up to my room for a few hours. I then left to visit neighboring cities and told front desk I Woud be back. When I came back the next night I went up to my room to find another person in there! When I went to talk to the front desk they told me one of the employees had made a change to my reservation and nobody knew what was going on. I was so furious at that point. Hotel contessa didn't have any rooms to put me in so they had to call a hotel down the street to find a room. They paid for a room at another hotel but the room was really small and Barely fit my family. I don't see myself going back to hotel contessa
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible Wi-Fi Service

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Cons: Wifi service.
If you need good wifi service do not stay at this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fargo ND

Gorgeous & Romantic

Posted Oct 15, 2017
This is truly one of the finest hotels I've ever stayed in. Beautiful architectural details, exquisite service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: The rooms are spacious and accommodating in every way.
This is a Beautiful hotel located on the Riverwalk. Their staff is amazing from welcome to departure!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel nearby river walk

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: Nearby airport, easy access to river walks and freeways. It is very nice location.
Cons: Hotel needs to be upgraded.
Location: The location is great, nearby airport, easy access to freeways, river walks and restaurants.
The hotel is okay, not high standard like I expected. The location is great, nearby airport, easy access to freeways, river walks and restaurants.