Ratings based on 754 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Pros: Nice room.
Cons: Clean windows more, help with bags.
Location: Alamo, convention center, mall.
Room was good. The only gripe I had was I had 3 suitcases and a valet guy just took my keys and left me 50 feet from the door. Took me a couple minutes slowly sliding 2 suitcases across the sidewalk to the front desk. That was about it. Everything else was good. Ice machine was on another floor which sucked, but oh well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2018 by Chase , Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, I’d like to start off by saying thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel Gibbs. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us.I also deeply apologize that our valet service did not go up to you as they should to see if you needed assistance I will let their manager know as well. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to San Antonio. Sincerely, Chase Mauldin Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denton

Heads up About Parking

Posted Jan 14, 2018
Two options for parking: 1st Valet Parking which is $27. Wasn't bad at all! We will do it again. The 2nd finding a public parking spot which are any where between 15 to 20 for all night. Other than that it was one of the best we have stayed in San Antonio! Loved the historical elevator doors (these are there for looks not to be used) The rooms had a historical feel which was so relaxing. We stayed in the junior suite.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2018 by Chase , Hotel Management
Dear Hiccup: Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We will be sure to pass your kind words along to the entire staff. Thanks again for staying with us! We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Chase Mauldin Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Small Rooms but Excellent Location

Posted Jan 6, 2018
I did a staycation here at Hotel Gibbs (previously hotel Indigo) for New Years. The rooms were small but I loved that they had kept some of the old architecture from the original building like the original elevator. (Just for looks. Nonfunctional.) The location is perfect in my opinion. Close to the Alamo and the mall and we walked to Hemisfair for the New Year celebration. Breakfast was good and included with the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Chase , Hotel Management
Dear Gen: Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We will be sure to pass your kind words along to the entire staff. Thanks again for staying with us! We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Chase Mauldin Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from odessa texas

Nice hotel near Alamo

Posted Dec 30, 2017
We had such a great time at the hotel. Nice hotel restored near Alamo shoping river walk and restraints. We will be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by Chase , Hotel Management
Dear Muchelle, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We will be sure to pass your kind words along to the entire staff. Thanks again for staying with us! We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Chase Mauldin Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Alamo and Riverwalk.

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Pros: Historic elevator doors. Historic monuments. Pleasant staff. The front desk looked untidy.
Cons: The stools in breakfast room look ancient with peeling vinyl.
Location: Checkout the museums, eg Western Museum just off Riverwalk near theatre/ entertainment bleachers.
Pleasantly close to all interesting places. Walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2017 by Chase , Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous: Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We will be sure to pass your kind words along to the entire staff. Thanks again for staying with us! We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Chase Mauldin Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cute boutique and historic hotel in excellent loca

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Called twice and asked for extra pillows...never received them
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2017 by Chase , Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous I’d like to start off by saying thank you very much for your recent stay at the Hotel Gibbs. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. I wish I had known about your amenity requests, that way, we could have rectified it right away! We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to San Antonio. Sincerely, Chase Mauldin Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Nice hotel downtown right near the Alamo

Posted Dec 25, 2017
Enjoyed this historic hotel. Very comfy and clean. Staff very friendly and rooms were inviting! Great price. Loved our stay! Definitely will stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 25, 2017 by Chase , Hotel Management
Dear Reba: Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We will be sure to pass your kind words along to the entire staff. Thanks again for staying with us! We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Chase Mauldin Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan

Great location clean room good breakfast

Posted Dec 25, 2017
A parking lot ($25/24 hours) is right outside the hotel if you don’t want to use the valet parking. Leave your vehicle there as the hotel is next to the Alamo and one block away from an entry way to the river walk, which allows you to walk the river walk in the night (a must) and have drinks there. No complaints.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 25, 2017 by Chase , Hotel Management
Dear Lee, I’d like to start off by saying thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel Gibbs. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. Due to limited space in the downtown area, our 3rd party valet service is the only option for our guests. The valet service provides access to the vehicle 24 hours a day, and valet has overnight security watching the lot every day. The lot next to our hotel is not secured either. Folks who park there are at their own risk. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to San Antonio. Sincerely, Chase Mauldin Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san antonio

Was very clean

Posted Dec 23, 2017
Loved the room, only i wish there was a small fridge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2017 by Chase , Hotel Management
Dear Art: Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We will be sure to pass your kind words along to the entire staff. Thanks again for staying with us! We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Chase Mauldin Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ft worth texas

Very good

Posted Dec 22, 2017
Good hotel....clean.....walking distance to everything.....great staff....i definitely recommend it...
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2017 by Chase , Hotel Management
Dear Evelyn: We highly appreciate you choosing our hotel for your travel needs! We hope to have the honor of serving you in the future! Sincerely, Chase Mauldin Front Office Manager