Ratings based on 4,077 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Unique Hotel on River Walk

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Nightly turn down service with chocolate was a nice touch..
Cons: Outdoor seating on River Walk would be nice.
Location: Great Location. Elevator takes you straight to an entrance onto River Walk. Most downtown venues are within a reasonable walking distance.
The pictures on the website give an accurate representation of the Hotel. The staff is friendly & helpful. The rooms were stylish, very clean & well maintained . The bathroom is updated & has nice plush towels. Continental Breakfast was well stocked with a good variety of fruits, pastries etc. Would definitely recommend this Hotel to friends. The Hotel only offers valet parking, no self parking. There is a parking garage nearby for approximately $10 a day. However, if you remove your car multiple times a day, you pay an hourly rate each time you leave.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth

Spanish style property on the Riverwalk

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Exceptionally well trained and friendly staff. Beautiful property directly on the Riverwalk.
Cons: Room service menu, quality of the linens, quality and selection of items offered at continental breakfast. Complimentary water bottles in rooms.
Location: Riverwalk offers dining and shopping, historical San Antonio. Day trips to surrounding towns such as Gruene, New Braunfels, etc.
We had a superior King room which was adequate but somewhat on the small side. It was clean and smelled good. The bedding was clean but percale, which tends to be somewhat scratchy - compared to sateen. Personally, I would have preferred a thicker comforter, but I suppose the bed was made up for a summer night in Texas. I also noticed a tear on the side of the fitted sheet - not what I expect at a four star property. The bathroom was adequate, but again - a little cramped. Room was equipped with a small coffee maker, minibar, robes, a good sized desk to work. The room service menu left to be desired - we wanted to order a late night treat, but neither brownies nor cookies did entice us. Same with the complimentary continental breakfast. The selection was limited and the items offered, with the exception of the very good coffee and croissants were lackluster. Overall, for a four star property I expected more. The staff, however was exceptionally friendly and well-trained. The architecture of the property fits its geographical location and is tastefully decorated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mcallen, tx

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Overall great experience! Great staff and right on Riverwalk
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntsville, TX

Nice hotel, very close to attractions and on River

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Room size, location and lobby area.
Cons: Nothing to note.
Location: Riverwalk and San Antonio downtown attractions are right near the hotel.
Everything was extremely nice and comfortable. Staff was nice and courteous. The only problem encountered was check in time was 4:00 PM and we arrived at 4:30 PM to be told that they were behind on room cleaning and the room was not ready. We checked baggage and were told that we would be contacted on our cell phone when the room was ready. At 6:30 PM, I returned to the front desk and received room keys but we never received a call indicating the room was available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

On the Riverwalk

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Great location and room. Quiet, view of river from room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Katy, TX

Great Hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Location: It's within walking distance to the Mexican Market.
We stayed here one night for my birthday. The staff was friendly, the beds were really comfortable, the hotel was very nice and clean, it's within walking distance to the Mexican Market, and the continental breakfast was the best I'v ever had. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston tx

Great riverwalk access

Posted Aug 13, 2017
The hotel was beautiful! Easy access to the riverwalk and close to the Alamo. Staff was wonderful. The only complaint I have is the room was hot and there was no access to a thermostat. But would highly recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2017 by Ana Rodriguez-Sanz, Hotel Management
Thank you Dena for staying with us. All feedback is important to us and we are always focused on improving our consistency. We hope to see you in the hotel again when you return to San Antonio. Please let me us know if we can be of any assistance until then.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Air Force Graduation

Posted Aug 8, 2017
I booked through Expedia for four different families and things got a little mixed up. However, the hotel straightened it out and things were fine from there. This hotel is great as it is close to all the river walk attractions and is very nice accommodations. I highly recommend room #618 and #619 together for large parties. Would stay again at this hotel. Remember to call for your car about 20 min before you want to leave.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by Ana Rodriguez-Sanz, Hotel Management
We thank you Jerry for your 4 stars. Thank you for choosing Hotel Valencia Riverwalk for your recent trip to San Antonio. I'm happy to read that it was an overall nice experience, and appreciate your time and candid feedback regarding our renovated guest rooms. We hope to see you the next time your plans bring you to our fair city!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Excellent customer service Nice, clean rooms. Late check out available on this rainy day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Ana Rodriguez-Sanz, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4 star review! Safe travels home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Lovely hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: Service, courtesy
Cons: Honoring requests, when possible and not given a run-around.
Location: Great location on Riverwalk, short walk to Alamo, restaurants, shops. Great location.
Hotel Valencia is located on the Riverwalk, a short distance from the Alamo. The service is impeccable. Everyone was very pleasant, courteous and helpful. Only complaint was in room selection. I had requested a room on lower floor when making reservation months ago. In arriving were told room wasn't ready and we would b called; it was before 3pm check in time, so we understood. Got no call, and at 330 still no room. No lower floor available, so we were given an 11th floor room w/ non-existent river view for our aggravation. We were not happy, but we wanted to unpack and relax and got over the mixup.