Ratings based on 4,577 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, Texas

Girl's Weekend

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: Age, history, location
The hotel is very pretty and historic! It is close to the Alamo, shopping, and restaraunts. Within walking distance to the Riverwalk and we went on the Sister's Grimm ghost tour that met at the hotel and it was awesome!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Corpus Christi,TX

Posted Sep 19, 2017
We attended a wedding at the hotel. All was great. We are a repeat customer and will return in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Ted, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Menger. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and appreciate that while you have many hotel choices in the Downtown SA area, you continue to choose us. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in San Antonio.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cincinnati,ohio

Historic close to riverwalk

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Room was beautiful, felt like a guest room Staff was very helpful Next to the alamo,riverwalk,restaurants, mall So convenient
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Marcia, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Menger. We appreciate your feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

We had it all!

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Wonderful experience. Excellent staff. Historically beautiful. Adventurous location. Exciting night-life. Fun shopping. We had it all!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Mari, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent trip to The Menger. We are delighted to hear that you had such an incredible experience and we hope to see you again the next time you are in San Antonio.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sugar Land, TX

GREAT OLD HOTEL WELL LOCATED

Posted Sep 7, 2017
This is a great old hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were a little small compared to some newer hotels, but well-maintained and clean. It is a great location with easy access to the Riverwalk, Alamo Dome and River Center.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Judy, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Menger. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and our convenient location. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in San Antonio.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2017
This hotel had an awful odor upon entering the building and was overall disgusting. Elevator was barely operational and I entered my room to find an overturned garbage can and no sheets on the bed. Just overall so disgusting that I canceled my stay and promptly checked out shortly after arriving. My only compliment is to the front desk staff who were lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Closeness to Alamo and river walk was amazing Lobby was opulent. Enjoyed all the memorabilia of the old west. I would like to visit and stay here again in the future and would highly recommend this place
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Eleanor, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Menger. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in San Antonio.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ABERDARE

'BEAUTIFUL HOTEL WITH CHARACTER'

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Everything, it's character and warmth in particular.
Cons: Would have liked an area nearby the Lounge, where you could purchase, coffee, tea, etc., as the only place you could buy it was in the Restaurant.
Location: Great Location.Surrounded by shops,bars,a shopping mall and restaurants.Short walk to Alamo and Riverwalk.Hop on and hop off buses stop outside Hotel.
Loved our stay at the Menger. We arrived at 1030 a.m. hoping to leave our cases until our check-in time, only to be told our room was available and we could have it straight away, so got off to a brilliant start. We found our room to be clean, with a very comfortable king size bed and good air-conditioning, which was a god-send, as it was 104 degrees outside. The hotel itself is full of character, with a lovely swimming pool and gardens. Restaurant is also good, particularly the buffets, with loads of choices. Bar has real character and a good vibe. Also close by to all the shops and the hi-lite of our stay, The Alamo. Staff were also very pleasant and helpful. This was our third hotel in San Antonio and was by far the best. Would highly recommend and look forward to returning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Pam, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Menger. We appreciate your feedback and are thrilled you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Loved the historical charm. Close to e erything. Terrific Sunday brunch
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the perfect 5 star rating. We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay and are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us. The Menger is well-known for its amazing brunch and we are glad you were able to take part in the good eats. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in San Antonio.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Texas

Historical Hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
This is a very pleasant place. History at every turn. We stayed in the oldest part on purpose. Loved it. Will return when we have more time to spend. Short walk to river walk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Charles, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Menger. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again the next time you are in San Antonio.