Ratings based on 4,036 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Christmas Trip

Posted Dec 18, 2017
It was our first time to stay at this location and we were very pleased. The location is wonderful and the atmosphere was awesome. The only draw back was there is no complimentary breakfast. With the price that you pay, you should get at least one comp breakfast with your stay. But the hotel itself is very nice and the staff go above and beyond for their customers. We can't wait to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Pros: The location is close to the Alamo and the RiverMall and Riverwalk.
Easy checkin and excellent valet parking. The restaurant menu was expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful historic hotel!

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Easy check-in, restaurant on site, lovely Christmas decorations and music. Hope to return on a happier trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Menger. We are pleased to hear your check-in was painless and enjoyed our Christmas decor. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in San Antonio.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Good hotel

Posted Dec 4, 2017
The hotel staff was very friendly. I was running late to get ready for my wedding and my valet driver, Josh was so kind and helpful. The AC was broken though so our room was at 80 degrees all night. The staff did try to fix the situation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston

Convenient to river walk and less than Hyatt

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Great firm mattress but couldn’t find electrical plugs til I asked maid. They were on the lamps!! Nice service
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Lulu, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and our comfortable mattresses. We hope to welcome you back the next time you are in San Antonio.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from odessa, Tx

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Excellent staff and service Very comfortable and clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Ray, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Menger. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming to back again the next time you are in San Antonio.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kerrville, tx

Historic Surroundings

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Pros: Historic ambiance and central downtown location.
Cons: Customer service.
Location: Alamo is right there. Beautiful churches, public buildings, museums, and shopping within walking distance or from the on/off bus.
Check in was a breeze, as was check out. The room was cute and clean, but small. The bathroom was cramped, but adequate. They had coffee up in the lobby shortly after 6:00 am. I didn’t get a chance to see the pool or exercise facilities. Cars are valet parked (only) off site, and heavy traffic can mean long delays in getting your car in and out. The valets and bell hops were courteous and friendly (tips) but the counter staff were aloof and disinterested.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Gorgeous historic hotel in the centre of everythin

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: Pros - amazing location, historical building
Cons: tap dripping, staff were friendly, but ineffectual by email, which was a modality that was offered. If they don't want to check it, don't offer it.
Location: Riverwalk!!!!! A must.
Fabulous decoration, and lovely atmosphere.... We must have gotten a "lesser" room, though, as the water tap in the tub simply wouldn't turn off. We contacted the hotel, admittedly by email, and they got back to us half an hour before we checked out (on a 4 day stay) about fixing it. Frankly, the noise from the air handling system was louder than the water, but it must have been very wasteful to have it running for 4 days without cease. We had a view of a wall. The historic nature of the hotel meant the rooms were quite small. Be warned. Modern standards do not apply here. When we called to ask about getting to and from the airport, they suggested Uber. Not what I was expecting. The hotel was visually stunning, decorated for the season. The fitness room was tiny and ill-equipped. The pool was nice, and the hottub lovely. We didn't use any other amenities. Pros - amazing location, historical building Cons - a few things I thought could be done better, but most may be due to the "economy" status of our room. I felt like a lesser guest, but I was focused on other things apart from my room anyway. San Antonio is a lovely location!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Posted Nov 27, 2017
The hotel location was great, within walking distance of so many activities. Enjoyed the history of the hotel and the Menger Bar is a must see.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Glenda, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Menger. We appreciate your feedback and are happy you enjoyed our convenient downtown location. We hope to welcome you back the next time you are in San Antonio.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

great location to river walk and Alamo

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Christmas tree was great and the piano playing in the lobby. Ghost - what ghost? Bed was great as was the period furniture. As we enjoyed walking perfect place to walk to almost anywhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Gil, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Menger. We are pleased that you enjoyed the Christmas decor and the piano. We hope to see you again the next time you are in San Antonio.