Ratings based on 896 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Hotel thinks it's hipper than it is

Posted Oct 16, 2017
First of all understand it's a Hyatt with a fancy name. Trying to be a boutique hotel but really isn't. Service is poor and rooftop bar empty and expensive. Checked in and was told there's no floor higher than the 2nd cause the hotel was fully booked. I didnt believe it because I never saw another person in the elevators all weekend. (I think they said that to be cool). Woke up and looked outside to see dozens of homeless people because that side of the hotel faces the Salvation Army. Saturday mornings they must have a soup kitchen. You can hear everything even though the windows are closed. Need to have soundproof windows. Alll in all in my opinion I'd stay away. The Kimpton is much nicer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Amazing staff and a great location and price.

Posted Sep 4, 2017
The staff knows how to be attentive. From the front desk to the rooftop bar. Good vibe. Parking is way expensive but I guess it's like that everywhere at the Gaslamp. Great coffee in the room too. I shall come again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF Bay Area

Location is great for GasLamp District.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Room was very clean. Comfortable bed. We were in a suite which seemed very dark overall. Set up in an inner courtyard. No view of anything and no light. Felt like a dungeon. Furniture and color scheme was dark as well. Staff was very helpful and courteous always. Rooftop bar was fun.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Poorly Managed

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Pros: The bed was really comfortable. The free mini bar items were nice. So was the robe & slippers.
Cons: Get it together! Don't make people wait an hour. Make up for it and not by issuing a secret room credit! Stock the room. No missing items.
Location: I live in San Diego so you can be sure I will not be recommending this place to anyone.
This hotel has the potential to be amazing but it is so poorly run, I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. Of all the hotels to choose from, I chose this one for my birthday. It's pricey but it appeared to have extra amenities that would make it worth it. Unfortunately, upon arrival we were told the room was not ready. They held our bags, got my cell number and said it would be about 30 minutes and we could enjoy the pool party upstairs. We went to the roof to find loud pumping music and the pool so full of bodies it was gross. They do this every Sunday. We agreed we would not be going in the water during our stay. We tried to enjoy a drink but it was not our scene so we went back to the lobby to check on the room. Were told another 20 minutes because although the room is ready, it needs to be inspected. In the meantime people are coming in and getting rooms left and right. You are supposed to get a welcome drink but we were not offered one. I saw everyone else drinking them! After finding a manager we were let in the room. The receptionist (of all people) carried our bags and broke one of the straps. In the morning there's no coffee and one coffee cup. I thought the room was inspected?! Had to call down twice. After checking out I was told I had been given a $50 credit for my trouble and it's a shame I didn't use it. How can I use a credit I didn't even know about!??? I asked what I could use it on and they said it was too late, I had already checked out! Happy birthday to me!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Stay!!!

Posted Jul 27, 2017
This hotel is stylish and beautiful. The staff is very nice. The showers are clean and roomy. I love that the fitness center is opened 24 hours. The rooftop pool is fun, to be able to drink, take a dip in a pool and have a beautiful view of San Diego is amazing. I would definetely stay here again :)
5 out of 5
by Khang

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Heidi

Posted Jul 13, 2017 on Hotels
I love staying at the property , any time we are downtown we always stay here. The staff is friendly especially Matt, he always goes above and beyond. If you stay here try and work with him. I was a bit disappointed this last stay with the house keeping, when we checked in our bathtub wasn't cleaned and I spilled in the hallway one night and it wasn't cleaned up for two days. Other then that, I just love this property perfect place to stay for catching a Padres game or just a night out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Nice rooftop pool. Comfortable bed. Unfortunately no poolside breakfast available.
4 out of 5
by Adam

Holiday weekend in SD

Posted Jul 7, 2017 on Hotels
Checking in was fantastic. Offered a free beer from local brewery. Traveled with dog and they were super nice about it. Asked for extra blanket, waited over an hour. Finally brought it. Had food on it. Never cleaned. Gross. Took over an hour for another. Finally went to desk to get. Lady there was awesome! Got us clean blanket and $50 food credit. That was only glitch. Local is great but the gas lamp can be very noisy until late at night. They do provide ear plugs for sleeping . Great local for spending with SO but not for kids. Hotel is great and would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Great hotel room ever seeing

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Was amazing great pool view from rofftop to see the city great employee also the room Was great we statyed at 412 the bath Was beatifull more than 5 stars