Ratings based on 1,507 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice but loud

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Construction/remodeling going on currently. Can get pretty loud in your room. Room was very clean. Bed is pretty firm. So if you don’t like that, it might be a little uncomfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington

Clean, friendly, downtown

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: clean, friendly, close to bus and food
Cons: keeping the neighbors in the hotel quieter!
Location: I walked all over the area and took the bus to the SD Zoo
For the price I feel like I got the bargain of the year! Clean. Friendly staff. Free airport shuttle. Just blocks from everything you want to see. Close to the bus line. Great restaurants (Hodads, the donut bar, Starbucks and more!) close by. A few blocks to the bus and 5 minutes later I was at the SD Zoo! EASY!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Okay place to stay for the price

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Pros: location is great
Cons: the bathtub was flimsy, the walls were thin, the safe did not work
This hotel is not very great, but for the price and the location, if you're just looking for a place to sleep in downtown San Diego, it works fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by Alicia Salas , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay at the Baymont Inn & Suites Downtown San Diego. My Management Team will work hard to resolve the concerns mentioned for future travelers’ satisfaction. We are very excited about our full-hotel renovation schedule for the Winter of 2017. This will include the lobby, guest rooms, and exterior building. We hope to be able to host you again should your travels bring you to beautiful San Diego again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yuma,AZ

Great place

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Great place to stay at near the gaslamp district! Great price ! Highly recommended
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by A. Salas, Hotel Management
Dear Humberto, Thank you for taking the time to respond with an Expedia review about your recent stay at the Baymont Inn & Suites Downtown San Diego. We are so glad you enjoyed our hotel--we certainly value your loyalty and patronage as a valued Expedia member too! My Management Team and I will continue to work hard and strive for our guest’s ultimate satisfaction. We hope to be able to host you again should your travels bring you to beautiful San Diego again in the future. Keep an eye out for huge hotel upgrades as we renovate the property over the next few months to make it “simply gorgeous”! Best Regards, A. Salas, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from charlotte

Moldy ceilings & bad water pipes!!

Posted Nov 6, 2017
I said at this hotel in October of 2017 and on the first day our fridge was not working, the water had a egg smell to it and it tasted awful, and we noticed black stuff on the ceiling and didn’t really think about it. The next day we looked at it closer and noticed it was mold, we told the staff and they wanted to see pictures. We also noticed the pipes in our room were very rusted and no one ever came to fix the microwave. They ended up moving us to a new room, but when we moved there we had to constantly remind the front desk to bring us towels and wash cloths. At one point we didn’t revive our towels until 9 pm at night because we had called the front desk twice about the towels and he told me can you just take some towels and use those as wash cloths. Overall horrible stay and they rented the room with the mold out to another family the day we were leaving and we saw the family unpacking their car and going into that same room. I know they did not get rid of that mold that fast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by A. Salas, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your recent visit to the Baymont Inn & Suites San Diego - Downtown! On behalf of the Management team, I'd like to thoroughly apologize for not exceeding your expectations! Specifically, the poor housekeeping. Your complete satisfaction, comfort and enjoyment during your stay is our primary objective. We apologize again that you did not fully receive the experience that you deserved. We truly appreciate and value your loyalty. Our Management Team is working hard to ensure these issues do not happen in the future for other guests. Keep an eye out for our huge hotel transformation as we renovate and upgrade the property in the Winter of 2017 to make it “simply gorgeous”! Thank you again for choosing us!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice clean hotel with super friendly staff.

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Pros: Nice clean hotel with super friendly staff.
The staff in the lobby was very welcoming. The hotel just got a facelift and the room was clean. I will definitely book this hotel again for work or vacation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dayton, Ohio

You get what you pay for

Posted Oct 31, 2017
The room was either cleaned in the dark or the cleaning staff just doesn’t give af. There was trash under the bed, the sheets were stained, the floor turned my feet black, and there was a white powdery substance on the desk near the coffee pot (powdered creamer maybe). The hotel started renovating the same week that we stayed, so there was the wonderful sounds or hammering and power tools first thing in the morning. I can appreciate the fact that they are updating because it is well needed. My initial encounter with the staff was decent and very friendly, but the night manager was very rude. They needed to get our credit card information so that they could bill us for the suprise $16 a day parking fee and she waited to call at 10:40 at night. We had already gone to bed and she got an attitude when we asked to take care of it at a more appropriate hour. The following day we were out later than usual and she called again at almost 10 pm practically demanding we drop what we were doing to go to the office and provide our credit card information. Her attitude was extremely poor and not good for a customer service career. All in all, we got a decent room in a pinch for a low price. If I had to do it all again, I would probably stay here, but I would do some research first to see if I could get a better hotel for the same rate.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cockroaches, enough said

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Booked this room for a random trip to San Diego, when we got there we were informed parking is 16$, or we can park on the sidewalks with meters, decided to pay for parking there. We were out all night and went straight to bed, when my husband woke up to use the bathroom there was multiple cockroaches everywhere. When we informed the staff they offered free parking and said to email pictures to some email of corporate because there's nothing else he can do and didn't think any big deal after we showed him the pictures we got. After we saw the Roaches we took off super early definitely didn't want to eat the free continental breakfast when this place is cockroach infested.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Dirty and Bugs

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Noisy, dirty, unsafe, bugs inside room Terrible bathroom with many hair from previous guests Non-functioning TV controller Never try it
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2017 by Alicia Salas-General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your recent visit to the Baymont Inn and Suites San Diego - Downtown! On behalf of the Management team, I'd like to thoroughly apologize for not exceeding your expectations! Specifically, the cleanliness of the room overall, as well as the tv remote not functioning. Your complete satisfaction, comfort and enjoyment during your stay is our primary objective. We apologize again that you did not fully receive the experience that you deserved. We truly appreciate and value your loyalty. Our Management Team is working hard to ensure these issues do not happen in the future for other guests. Thank you again for choosing us!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, we are from Tucson Arizona

It's ok for 1 night

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Rey, at front desk wonderful very friendly, he was able to get me in a handicap room, that I appreciate it very much, the room was ok, the sheets didn't look like they had been changed, but room was clean, no mini fridge that we needed and it said there was one.. and we had to pay $16 for parking, that I did not like at all, it never said anything when I booked the room about that, so we had to pay, it was to late to go somewhere else.. but it's good if you just need it for a night or 2..