Ratings based on 1,314 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Good location

Posted Sep 13, 2017
The hotel is conveniently located - next to Little Italy with plenty of restaurants and in easy walking distance to the embarcadero where the ferries and boat trips depart from. The hotel was clean and comfortable and there was a good selection provided for the continental breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good hotel close to the harbour and city

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: The hotel is situated in a great position. The rooms, staff and facilities are excellent. The free breakfast in the morning is also very welcome.
Cons: The hotel restaurant opens in the evening but could do with a more attractive setting as it is just an extension of the breakfast room.
Location: There are numerous restaurants within walking distance as are the harbour and the trolley. It can take you to Old Town, La Jolla and Tijuana.
This hotel is situated just beside Little Italy, the harbour and the city. San Diego is a vibrant and fantastic city. There is always something going on. This visit we saw the Festival of Sail, old and replica sailing ships sailing round the bay with the occasional cannon fight and the U.S. Sand Sculptures Challenge where competitors from around the world produced huge sculptures using tons of sand. Most were 8 to 10 feet tall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Grace, Hotel Management
Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us at BW PLUS Bayside Inn. We are pleased to know how much you enjoyed our proximity to Little Italy and the waterfront with the festivals and historic ships. We appreciate your feedback about our restaurant and hope you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast buffet while staying.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tahoe california

San Diego hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2017
The hotel is nice and close to the beach but way over priced. It was $157 a night plus $20 parking and &16 on taxes. I've never been charged a tourist fee and we were charged almost $4 a day. It cost us $200 a day. Something fell behind our fridge before our stay and our room stunk the whole week. I wish I searched to find a cheaper hotel. We arrived late Sunday night and left early Friday morning and we were charged $960. Not worth it. The breakfast was also kind of gross. All week it was plain eggs and ham. On Friday they had sausage that were not cooked all the way and my husband and son got sick. Terrible plane ride home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by Grace, Hotel Management
Thank you for providing feedback in regards to your stay with us at BW PLUS Bayside Inn. We are regretful you found our price to be too much... the tourism tax is part of the occupancy tax which totals 12.5% for downtown San Diego and is the same tax for all hotels in the area. We are regretful you did not enjoy our complimentary buffet and we wish we were aware and able to help remove what fell behind your refrigerator to make your stay more enjoyable. We hope you enjoyed other aspects of your stay and time in San Diego!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Good location but I would not recommend

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Staff are not very helpful the pool and the spa were dirty with brown foam floating in the spa. I would not stay there again!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by Grace, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us at BW PLUS Bayside Inn. We appreciate your feedback and will follow up with our maintenance team in regards to the pool and hot tub to see if they were in the process of cleaning them while you were here since we do not see what you are referring to at this time. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ok Hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: rooms
beds were extremely uncomfortable super hard. the hotel is old and rundown. my room was on the second floor with a pool view an a lot go noice comping from the people in the pool area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great Hotel for a family stay

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Good harbour views.
Location: See above. 30 minute walk to the Air and Space museum, Automobile Museum and the Zoo.
Well appointed rooms, hotel in excellent location to walk down the the harbour, USS Midway, and the Maritime Museum. Well organised continental breakfast put on by efficient friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Uncomfortable beds. Difficult to obtain stable room temp. The AC put out a pungent odor that needed fixing. To the staff's credit, they did fix it, but we did have one miserable night dealing with the odor. The complimentary breakfast was below average. We ate there only once in 6 day stay. Location was nice. Walked to most places downtown. But overall, would not stay there again.
4 out of 5
by Kelly

Great downtown option

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Close to attractions on the harbor and transit line.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2017
Thank you for staying with us at BW PLUS Bayside In! We hope our proximity to the attractions worked well for you and you enjoyed your time in San Diego.
5 out of 5
by Gwen

Would stay at Bayside again

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
We were very pleased with the location so close to Little Italy and the Waterfront park. Lots of restaurants and attractions in walking distance including an Old Town Trolley stop which is a great way to see the city. All employees we encountered were friendly. Everything was clean and comfortable and the free breakfast was nothing special but had good hot and cold selections which were adequate. Have to pay $18 per day for parking but I guess that is the norm now days. Would have been nice to have an elevator in the parking garage, though is nice they have loading/unloading area in the parking garage which worked out fine as there is not an elevator. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2017
Thank you for taking time to provide a review of your stay with us at BW PLUS Bayside Inn. It is wonderful to know how pleased you were with our location and our proximity to so many amazing attractions. Thank you for your kind words about our friendly employees, they work hard to ensue our guests have a great stay! We are looking forward to welcoming you back should you travel to San Diego again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 14, 2017
clean, convenient location - great best western, I would stay there again.