Ratings based on 1,338 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location, great hotel staff

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: The staff.
The best thing about the hotel is the staff, who are very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is convenient to downtown (gaslamp quarter) and to mission beach as well; only about a 13 minute drive. The breakfast is included with the room and is really good. The hotel has a restaurant and bar just outside the hotel entrance. Our room was clean and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by Grace, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to share your experience staying with us at BW PLUS Bayside Inn. Your kind feedback in regards to our staff is great to receive and share with our team. They strive to provide the service you described and we love hearing about how much our guests enjoyed their stay. We are glad you found the rooms to be clean and comfortable too. We hope you will return to stay with us again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Location: Walking distance to pier and Little Italy. Pier has visitor info booth, shuttle tickets, ferry tickets. Really convenient.
Great location. Friendly staff. The airport shuttle and wonderful breakfast are great amenities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by Grace, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay at BW PLUS Bayside Inn. It is wonderful to know how much you liked the location and were able to visit Little Italy and the water front. Thank you for letting us know the staff was friendly and you appreciated the complimentary shuttle and breakfast. We look forward to having you stay with us again... should you travel back to San Diego.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Good location

Posted Sep 13, 2017
The hotel is conveniently located - next to Little Italy with plenty of restaurants and in easy walking distance to the embarcadero where the ferries and boat trips depart from. The hotel was clean and comfortable and there was a good selection provided for the continental breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2017 by Grace, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at BW PLUS Bayside Inn and we are pleased to know how much you enjoyed our proximity to Little Italy and the Embarcadero. Thank you for your kind words about our cleanliness and complimentary breakfast buffet! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good hotel close to the harbour and city

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: The hotel is situated in a great position. The rooms, staff and facilities are excellent. The free breakfast in the morning is also very welcome.
Cons: The hotel restaurant opens in the evening but could do with a more attractive setting as it is just an extension of the breakfast room.
Location: There are numerous restaurants within walking distance as are the harbour and the trolley. It can take you to Old Town, La Jolla and Tijuana.
This hotel is situated just beside Little Italy, the harbour and the city. San Diego is a vibrant and fantastic city. There is always something going on. This visit we saw the Festival of Sail, old and replica sailing ships sailing round the bay with the occasional cannon fight and the U.S. Sand Sculptures Challenge where competitors from around the world produced huge sculptures using tons of sand. Most were 8 to 10 feet tall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Grace, Hotel Management
Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us at BW PLUS Bayside Inn. We are pleased to know how much you enjoyed our proximity to Little Italy and the waterfront with the festivals and historic ships. We appreciate your feedback about our restaurant and hope you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast buffet while staying.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tahoe california

San Diego hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2017
The hotel is nice and close to the beach but way over priced. It was $157 a night plus $20 parking and &16 on taxes. I've never been charged a tourist fee and we were charged almost $4 a day. It cost us $200 a day. Something fell behind our fridge before our stay and our room stunk the whole week. I wish I searched to find a cheaper hotel. We arrived late Sunday night and left early Friday morning and we were charged $960. Not worth it. The breakfast was also kind of gross. All week it was plain eggs and ham. On Friday they had sausage that were not cooked all the way and my husband and son got sick. Terrible plane ride home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by Grace, Hotel Management
Thank you for providing feedback in regards to your stay with us at BW PLUS Bayside Inn. We are regretful you found our price to be too much... the tourism tax is part of the occupancy tax which totals 12.5% for downtown San Diego and is the same tax for all hotels in the area. We are regretful you did not enjoy our complimentary buffet and we wish we were aware and able to help remove what fell behind your refrigerator to make your stay more enjoyable. We hope you enjoyed other aspects of your stay and time in San Diego!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Good location but I would not recommend

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Staff are not very helpful the pool and the spa were dirty with brown foam floating in the spa. I would not stay there again!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by Grace, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us at BW PLUS Bayside Inn. We appreciate your feedback and will follow up with our maintenance team in regards to the pool and hot tub to see if they were in the process of cleaning them while you were here since we do not see what you are referring to at this time. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience.
5 out of 5
by Enrique

Trip

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
Great place, staff very professional.. Only complaint.. Is I was told I needed to pay for parking..
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2017
Thank you for staying with us at BW PLUS Bayside Inn! We are glad you found our staff to be very professional and thank you for your kind words. Please accept our apologies that we are unable to make the parking information more prominent on our partners websites. Thank you for letting us know you had a nice trip and for saying this is a great place.
4 out of 5
by Isabelle

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Rodney

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Lindsay

Not so great...

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
Checkin and check out was a nightmare. All the ice machines were broken and they had to bring me ice from the grill down the street. The room service was only open from 4-10, but they really closed the room service at 9:30 because when we called to order food, they were closed and it went to voicemail (which was full). The floors were stained in the hallway and the walls are paper thin. Our neighbors were smoking pot and we could smell it in our room all night long. Overall a not so great experience. Especially for the price!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2017
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us at BW PLUS Bayside Inn. We are deeply regretful your experience checking in and out was difficult as well as ordering room service. We are grateful you brought this to our attention and hope you enjoyed other aspects of your trip to San Diego. Please let us know if we may be of assistance in any way.