Ratings based on 1,296 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tahoe california

San Diego hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2017
The hotel is nice and close to the beach but way over priced. It was $157 a night plus $20 parking and &16 on taxes. I've never been charged a tourist fee and we were charged almost $4 a day. It cost us $200 a day. Something fell behind our fridge before our stay and our room stunk the whole week. I wish I searched to find a cheaper hotel. We arrived late Sunday night and left early Friday morning and we were charged $960. Not worth it. The breakfast was also kind of gross. All week it was plain eggs and ham. On Friday they had sausage that were not cooked all the way and my husband and son got sick. Terrible plane ride home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by Grace, Hotel Management
Thank you for providing feedback in regards to your stay with us at BW PLUS Bayside Inn. We are regretful you found our price to be too much... the tourism tax is part of the occupancy tax which totals 12.5% for downtown San Diego and is the same tax for all hotels in the area. We are regretful you did not enjoy our complimentary buffet and we wish we were aware and able to help remove what fell behind your refrigerator to make your stay more enjoyable. We hope you enjoyed other aspects of your stay and time in San Diego!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Good location but I would not recommend

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Staff are not very helpful the pool and the spa were dirty with brown foam floating in the spa. I would not stay there again!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by Grace, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us at BW PLUS Bayside Inn. We appreciate your feedback and will follow up with our maintenance team in regards to the pool and hot tub to see if they were in the process of cleaning them while you were here since we do not see what you are referring to at this time. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ok Hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: rooms
beds were extremely uncomfortable super hard. the hotel is old and rundown. my room was on the second floor with a pool view an a lot go noice comping from the people in the pool area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great Hotel for a family stay

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Good harbour views.
Location: See above. 30 minute walk to the Air and Space museum, Automobile Museum and the Zoo.
Well appointed rooms, hotel in excellent location to walk down the the harbour, USS Midway, and the Maritime Museum. Well organised continental breakfast put on by efficient friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Uncomfortable beds. Difficult to obtain stable room temp. The AC put out a pungent odor that needed fixing. To the staff's credit, they did fix it, but we did have one miserable night dealing with the odor. The complimentary breakfast was below average. We ate there only once in 6 day stay. Location was nice. Walked to most places downtown. But overall, would not stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 14, 2017
clean, convenient location - great best western, I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Great location

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Those things listed above
Cons: Airport arrival shuttle
Location: We walked to most things we wanted to see or do
Apart from the airport transfer problem previously mentioned, the stay was very good. Room was nice, breakfast was good, location was within walking distance of most things we wanted to do
5 out of 5
by Corey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Catherine

San Diego loved by Canadians

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
Hadn't been to San Diego in 22 years and always promised ourselves a return visit. We were not disappointed! San Diego, even after 22 years, was exactly like we remembered it; beautiful, clean and friendly, with an excellent, easy-to-use transit system. We look forward to another visit in the years to come!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location close to gaslamp district and harbor

Posted May 9, 2017
Enjoyed our stay and will return. Quiet, clean, comfortable beds, super nice employees. Run like a well oiled machine!