Ratings based on 1,433 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gloucestershire

Hotel located close to city centre

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Décor is tired - check-in was haphazard.
Location: Little Italy, Gaslamp District and waterfront.
Hotel is located close to the city centre and within walking distance of Little Italy, the Gaslamp District and the waterfront. Rooms are good size and clean. Bar and restaurant area are functional. Extensive parking available (at a cost).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northridge, CA

Nice hotel, very comfortable.

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: The room, especially the shower and the bed. The room was very well appointed.
Cons: A few more hooks for hanging clothes. We were attending a formal event and had to fight over the hanging hook in the bathroom.
Location: Attended a stage performance. Excellent restaurants, beautiful City.
Everything was good. However, the staff was a little untrained. A maid came into the room, after knocking but before I could get to the door. Give the guest time to get to the door. Also, I put out the morning coffee room service request door hanger, well before the 2AM cut-off, and no one picked it up. The hotel lost money, I used the in-room coffee instead. Otherwise, everyone was most friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2017
The staff was awesome, and kind. The hotel was very nice, airport shuttle bus, and fun rooftop pool/jacuzzi. Walking distance to little Italy, and public transit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Value hotel for San Diego

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Hotel in an excellent location, just a few blocks from Little Italy, and walkable to all attractions. The room we were in was large, spacious and clean. Try for a room on the even side of the room #'s as the hotel is right on the main highway and can be quite noisy if you are not used to "big" city traffic. Nice touch with cookies and water upon check in. As with a lot of reviews for this hotel, an in room bar fridge would have given this hotel a higher rating. It's nice to store water, wine, left over dinner food, etc in a room fridge. Otherwise, would certainly stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenville, NC

Business-pleasure trip to San Diego

Posted Oct 10, 2017
This Doubletree on Front Street is an older facility, needing some visible refurbishing, and the photo of a suite on Expedia is not representative of the hotel; however, having stayed several days, the rooms are clean, the suites on Hilton Honors floors are spacious, the staff were very attentive, and the dining room food was excellent! The hotel appears to be a favorite of airline flight crews, and the airport shuttle is fast and convenient. Overall, I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, convenient location

Posted Oct 2, 2017
It was a comfortable stay for only being in SD for one night. This hotel is conveniently located by downtown, the harbor, little italy. Everything is less than a 10 minute drive away. I just wish that the pillows were more fluffy, but the room served us well.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just OK

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: The pool area has lots of potential.
Location: Great location, right next to Little Italy.
The check in was slow, not enough workers for a holiday weekend
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Disappointing hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2017
We carefully looked through photos of all downtown hotels and found the double tree photos to look the best, but were definitely disappointed when we arrived. The photos did not represent the true reality of the hotel. In addition, we couldn't tell where the front desk was... One because it didn't look like a front desk and two no one welcomed us to let us know we were at the right place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Great staff, location, room, and cookies!! We had a great time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved my stay.

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was goos
Really enjoyed the stay, Room was great and the pool area enjoyable.