Ratings based on 3,107 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, Virginia

Hard Rock Rocks

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
Location: The hotel is located in the Gas Lamp district that offers a lot of restaurants, night clubs, shopping, Convention center and Padres stadium.
My husband and I checked in with no problems. We went to our room and I discovered that our room was handicapp. I called downstairs and spoke with Shane who checked us in and asked if there was any other room available other than a handicapp room. He checked and stated that he could put us in a different room and that we didn't have to come back downstairs to the front desk, he would have our new key bought up to us. I really appreciate not having to lug our luggage back downstairs. Our room was very nice and spacious with a king size bed over looking the roof top pool, The hotel is in the Gas lamp district that has a lot to offer in terms of restaurants, night life and some shopping. I would definitely recommend the Hard Rock Hotel in San Diego.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for the amazing review, Sandra! We are thrilled that your stay rocked and we appreciate you recommending us. We love that you loved our awesome location and our fun staff. Thanks for giving Shane a shout out! All of us here at the Hard Rock Hotel San Diego look forward to your next visit! Kevin A. Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay in the San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: The look, the vibe, the decor at the hotel were all great.
Cons: We would probably get a room with a different layout. There are several options available and we just weren't as keen on the one we had.
Location: Great location if you are wanting to spend a lot of time out at night whether it's eating, drinking, people watching, walking. Ton's of stuff to do!
Our first time staying in the gaslamp quarter and staying at The Hard Rock Hotel. We had a great time. This Hotel is nice, staff is very friendly and theres's tons of stuff to do. So many restaurant and great bars and you'll find yourself wanting to try them all. We had an event to attend at the convention center which is right across the street. We parked our car with the Hotel Valet and didn't need it until a couple days later when we were leaving. It is more for night life so may not be your thing if you have young kids in tow. You will hear the music and party crowds in your room some til early morning, but we didn't mind.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
Thanks for your review and almost perfect score! Downtown San Diego is such a fabulous place and we're so fortunate to be in the middle of it all for our guests to enjoy. All of us at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego look forward to your next visit! Kevin A. Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland

Nice hotel in great location

Posted Sep 11, 2017
The hotel was fine. It was a little expensive for what you got. The rooms need a remodel. My room was showing a lot of wear.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dan, thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel and send us your feedback. We agree our location is unbeatable right in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter - there's always so much to enjoy. We are sorry you were disappointed with your room and the value in our offerings. We hope you will consider staying with us again. Kevin A. Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Rafael, CA

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Had a wonderful stay. The staff was very polite and the room was very nice. The hotel is very close to everything in town. Highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We loved reading your review, Tony! It's so motivating to all of us knowing you had a rockin' stay and enjoyed our amazing staff and stellar location! We can't wait to have you as our guest again at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego! Kevin A. Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Overall good staff

Posted Sep 10, 2017
On our floor someone was smoking marijuana and the staff said there was nothing they could do about it, so our room smelled like marijuana for an afternoon. Besides that all good
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for being our guest, Shaun. We're happy you enjoyed your stay overall, although we wish your experience had been perfect. We never want to disappoint a guest, so please accept our apology. Our entire staff hopes you will stay with us again as we'd love to ensure your next visit is excellent. Kevin A. Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and convenience

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: No free bottle water provided...It should be a basic for this level of hotel.
This is a nice place to stay and enjoying San Diego City. It is walking distance to cool and fun eatery around.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review and great rating! Downtown San Diego is such a fabulous place and we're so fortunate to be in the middle of it all for our guests to enjoy. All of us at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego look forward to your next visit! Kevin A. Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles, ca

Location

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Wonderful location in the heart of the gas lamp l. Cool hip hotel. Great view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi fun, thanks for your review and comments about our location! The Gaslamp Quarter is a favorite of our guests and we're glad you enjoyed it, as well as our hip vibe and excellent views. Please visit us again soon! Kevin A. Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stayed many times. Great overall room not clean

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Overall great hotel. Have stayed here many times. Room was not clean this time. Carpet was soaking wet and room smelled because of that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Adnan, First and foremost, we love your loyalty and we appreciate your feedback! We always enjoy having you as our guest and we're glad you were pleased overall. We're so sorry for the issues you experienced with the carpet in your suite. Thanks for letting us know; we will look into the issue to ensure it does not get repeated. We'd love to have you continue to stay with us so we can ensure an excellent suite and a wonderful stay! Kevin A. Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from PNW

Great if you live to party

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Pros: Nightly party by the pool. Lots of rock memorabilia all around the Hotel.
Cons: Cons: Nightly party by the pool. Expensive! Convenience has a very high price tag in this HR Hotel.
Location: Gas Lamp District has a very vibrant night life.
If you love to party hard, this is the place to be. The Gas Lamp District has a very vibrant night life. The down side is the more people drink, the louder and more obnoxious they get. Nearby rooms can be loud with parties going on but the front desk (known as "Ground Control") will act swiftly on noise complaints. They have a "3 strikes you're out" rule. On one particular night I was kept up to 2:30am by the room next door only because I waited on calling. City traffic is crazy especially if there is a game or event at Petco Field.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
Thanks for leaving a review! We want all of our guests to have an incredible experience with us, so we regret we let you down somewhere along the way. We do hope you'll be back for a better stay! Kevin A. Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2017
The Hard Rock is right in the middle of the parties and night life. It is not a quiet hotel where you can expect quiet and relaxation. The pool is a hopping place and the Sunburn Party was quite something. Great for couples in their 20s and 30s...not the place to vacation with a family. There are lots of resturaunts near and endless options of things to see and do.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad you enjoyed our stellar location and awesome pool! We offer something for every age group - pool, rock & roll memorabilia, in-room guitar and DJ rentals, free bike rentals, and more. The next time you are here, please be sure to check with our concierge to ensure you have all the information on access to our pool, catching a game, going to SeaWorld or touring the Midway. We're happy you stayed with us and hope you keep us in mind for a special occasion stay in the future! Kevin A. Manager