Ratings based on 649 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Unique, Gorgeous, and Well Located

Posted Jul 18, 2017
This hotel was originally a brothel and dentist office (yes, the two went hand in hand). I learned all about it as it was a stop on one of the wonderful walking tours of the neighborhood. Now it is a gorgeous boutique hotel. Location is perfect if you want to be in the mix of the Gaslamp District. I was in town for a convention and was able to walk to the convention center without too much trouble. The rooms are modern and a bit industrial. The staff was extremely friendly. I really don't have any negatives to write regarding this place. I will warn you not to plan on getting there too early as they have a limited number of rooms, therefore, early check in is not much of an option. The staff is kind enough to stash your luggage for you and to text you when a room is ready if you arrive before 3pm. (Here's my negative, early check in might cost you $75 if you DO get a room before 3pm). Best thing about the hotel, they left me sweet treats and a great note to welcome me! I would ABSOLUTELY stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Adam, Hotel Management
Thank you for your detailed review; other guests will find it very informative. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Western Colorado

Hotel Dracula!

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: The shower.
Cons: Deep cleaning needed on sinks and shower.
Location: Location was great, lots of places to eat and some shopping nearby. 15 min walk to conference center.
Screaming red walls trimmed in black with a musty smell and an old slow elevator. The room had cement style floors, stainless steel work bench style bathroom sink, a mirror on the ceiling, and a doorless shower. Reminded me of a one night stand kinda place. The good was the shower was roomy and used lots of water, the bed was comfy and didn't make my back hurt, the room color was a nice calming light blue. I would go back for the right price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Adam, Hotel Management
Dear Carrie, Thank you for taking the time to offer your review. We are happy that you enjoyed key aspects of our hotel and your stay. We do realize that our decor and style is quite unique and not to everybody's taste, however we are glad that you would return to us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MD

Nice hotel but avoid second floor

Posted May 30, 2017
Very nice hotel but over a pub that hosts bands so loud the entire second floor shook from the base noise. Staff was very accommodating and moved us to the third floor, where music was still very recognizable but you could sleep through it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Adam, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I appreciate your compliments, our staff works hard to give our guests the best experience possible. We value the opportunities for improvement you mentioned as well. We hope to see you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burlington Ontario

Historic centre

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Location and the staff
Cons: Maybe some carpet tile on the floor., some instructions on the use of the coffee maker and a list of TV channels and hotel facilities in the room.
Location: Convention centre , shopping , restaurants all within walking distance. Even Petco Park the home of the San Diego Padres is within walking distance.
The initial reaction to the hotel was that our room was spartan. No Capet painted floor, open concept. All basic needs are met, the staff without exception were excellent and very obliging. The room actually grew on us and the central location so close to the Convention centre(10 minute walk for two aging seniors) an the Horton Plaza was excellent. Despite being on a lively busy corner, the double glazed windows kept out most of the noise. I complained about the $25. Boutique fee and the management removed it.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Stephen, Hotel Management
We are happy you enjoyed your time with us for the most part. We are proud of our unique style and charm, and work hard to maintain it. However, we do realize our uniqueness does not match everyone's tastes. Our staff takes great pride in the quality of service given to our guests, and we will be sure to pass along your kind words. Thanks again for your review, we would love the opportunity to host you again in the future!
3 out of 5
by WILLIAM

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
Cool hotel and great location but extremely noisy with bar below on F street.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Adam, Hotel Management
Dear William, We are happy that you enjoyed our hotel and it's ideal location. We are sorry that the 'urban chatter' from the street disturbed you. If you visit us again we will work to place you in a different part of the hotel.
4 out of 5
by Lon

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
Probably one of the cleanest and strangest rooms I've ever been in. The hotel is obviously historical but the rooms are a sort of post-modern thing, all stainless steel and acrylic. Very nice, just a bit different. The only downside is applicable to the area itself in that parking is scarce.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Adam, Hotel Management
Dear Lon, Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us overall. We work hard to maintain our unique style and charm, and are always pleased to hear guests say they enjoy it as well, so we thank you for your kind words! We realize that parking is at a premium in the Gaslamp Quarter, perhaps next stay we will work to reserve you space ahead of time in the nearby structure. Thanks again for your review, and we hope you’ll stay with us again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Heart of Gaslamp

Posted May 10, 2017
Central location. Great staff. Really loud at night - it is in the heart of the gaslamp!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Stephen, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us overall. Yes, the 'urban chatter' you heard can be part of being in the middle a bustling area such as the Gaslamp. We do hope you will visit us again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from palm Desert, CA

Funky Fun in a Fantastic Location!

Posted May 8, 2017
We stayed for a night to watch a baseball game and everything was walkable- petco stadium, amazing restaurants, nail salons and shopping. A great location and a funky and interesting designed hotel with a lot of history. Our PH unit was spacious, quiet and well designed with great amentities and turn down service. Each staff member was excellent! A few things seemed to be missed on the cleanliness but the bed was very clean and super comfortable with awesome pillows and sweeet red robes given with turn down service! It was a fun stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Stephen, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us overall, and you appreciated our unique style and ideal location in the heart of the Gaslamp. We do hope you will visit us again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right in the heart of Gas Lamp Quarter

Posted May 8, 2017
Cool little boutique hotel...in the middle of everything you want when in the Quarter. Vintage yet updated so makes the stay perfect for a quick weekend getaway. Staff was very friendly but Denzel was the best!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Stephen, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us overall, and you enjoyed our unique style and location right in the heart of the Gaslamp. We do hope you will visit us again!
5 out of 5
by James

Posted May 4, 2017 on Hotels
Third or fourth time at the Keating, loved it again!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Adam, Hotel Management
Dear James, Thank you for taking the time to write your review.of your stay at the Keating. Your loyalty is very important to us. That you would return to us again makes our day!