Ratings based on 685 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sask. Canada

0ld hotel that has been refurbished

Posted Dec 16, 2017
Pros: clean,quiet.
Cons: Continental breakfast
Location: We wanted to be close to the airport
Found the hotel online was happy with the description. The hotel is very old but was refurbished a few years ago by modern designer. The room was comfortable and we had a very good nights sleep.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, a bit loud

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Cons: I had a "check-out boutique fee" I was not expecting to pay, which was irritating.
Location: Lots of restaurants, close to light rail.
Can hear the bass of the music playing, otherwise a comfortable stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Adam Della Rocca, Hotel Management
We want to thank you for review of our property. We have asked all third party websites to properly include said fee on their pages so there will be no surprises for our guests once on site. We will definitely look into this matter. And with our close proximity relative to the Gaslamp it can become noisy and for that we apologize. We hope to have the chance to change your experience in the near future. Happy Holidays!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great boutique hotel in the middle of the action.

Posted Dec 4, 2017
This is a stylish hotel. The modern italian style paired with the classic architecture of this San Diego landmark just works out to something really cool. This is a hotel first and foremost, so don’t expect a resort. There is no pool or spa, and no bar or restaurant on site. Really not needed anyway, since you are in the heart of the Gaslamp district with the best bars and dining San Diego has to offer. The rooms are really well done, clean and spacious. Splurge and get an upgraded room. The corner rooms are really large and have great views and an awesome shower! Beds are uber comfortable and the red robes are a nice touch. It does get a bit noisy on the weekends so if you are a light sleeper and early to bed, maybe a better choice elsewhere. If you are a traveler who appreciates a bit more personality, style, and pampering than a comfort inn you will love the Keating. The Lavazzo espresso machines in the room are a nice touch, as is the Bluetooth audio and lighting.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by Adam Della Rocca, Hotel Management
Diego, What an awesome review of the property! It is always a treat when a guest is able to appreciate the architectural brilliance that the Keating family was able to create here. The building is actually Romanesque in style which pairs brilliantly with with the interior of the hotel which was designed by Italian firm Pininfarina. Our location in the heart of the Gaslamp allows our guests the opportunity to explore hundreds of restaurants, bars, and boutique shops with ease. However as you are aware the trade off of this is it can become noisy due to the high volume of traffic. The corner rooms tend to be a favorite of all who stay in them and with the amenities provided why wouldn't they be! We hope to see you again in the near future, thanks again for your kind words!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada/Sk

From Canada

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Check plumbing thoroughly-our toilet ran the odd time and shower temp control handle broken
Location: Tons of restaurants to choose from. Good nightly entertainment!
Ideal location and great service from an excellent staff. We’d stay there again for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by Adam Della Rocca, Hotel Management
Hello Rich, We are happy to know that our location and staff helped to make you stay memorable. The building is 127 years old and with that comes old plumbing. We are working diligently to rectify such issues and appreciate you bringing it to our attention.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SFO

Keating in San Diego

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: Staff was great
Staff was amazing. Overall I liked my stay. I would have liked if there was carpet on the floor
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by Adam Della Rocca, Hotel Management
Lovely, We are pleased to hear our team was able to make your most recent stay here at the Keating worthwhile for you. Please visit us again soon!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unbelievable Noise

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Had to leave the hotel our first night of stay (on a Wednesday) at midnight due to the unbelievable noise from the bar down below and the other hotel guests who were playing obnoxious music and partying in the hall by our room. Called many times to the desk to complain. Finally left and when I called the next day was basically told that they have never had a complaint and the Gas Lamp district is known for this environment. They charged us full price for staying 3 hours and could really care less that we moved hotels at midnight. Never again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by Jeff Owens/Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Good Day: First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Keating. I personally apologize for the excessive noise issues that caused you to check out early. Due to our location in the heart of the Gaslamp, we are used to dealing with noise complaints and have protocols in place to mitigate the outside noise. Most of our guests are able to have a comfortable evening despite the external noise. In your case, the noise was excessive and per our conversation, we canceled the remainder of your non-refundable reservation due to the inconvenience. Again, thank you for your valuable feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston, SC

In the Heart of it All

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: Downtown in the Gaslamp district.
If you want to be downtown, this is the hotel. I would recommend a higher floor. The lower floors suffer the noise of the restaurants/bars (live bands) below them, but they end fairly early, by 10:30pm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2017 by Adam, Hotel Management
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Keating, in the heart of the Gaslamp! We do hope that you will visit us again in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Modern. Lots of big windows. Open concept

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Great experience Small hotel but very modern and clean and open
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by Steve, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and positive rating of your experience at the Keating. We hope you will visit us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena California

Posted Oct 16, 2017
The staff was great! Very friendly and helpful! Night life was fun.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by Steve, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and positive rating of your experience at the Keating. We hope you will visit us again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Last minute hidden fees ruined experience

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Cons: be honest about the actual cost
This is a weird and unusual hotel. Some of the design features got annoying (like the non-intuitive taps for the shower. Also very loud on the weekend. Staff was pleasant enough, but getting mugged as I was leaving for "a $25 third-party billing fee per night" was annoying. Just a way to lie about the upfront cost. If you're just downtown to party the location is excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by Jeff Owens/Operations Manager , Hotel Management
Good Day: First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your most recent visit to The Keating Hotel. I am sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We hold dear to make a positive memorable experience for all our guests and we may have missed the mark during your stay. I am pleased to read that the staff was pleasant and will be sure to share with the team. Again, thank you for your feedback and we do hope you will give us another try during your visit to sunny San Diego.