Ratings based on 669 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Modern. Lots of big windows. Open concept

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Great experience Small hotel but very modern and clean and open
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by Steve, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and positive rating of your experience at the Keating. We hope you will visit us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena California

Posted Oct 16, 2017
The staff was great! Very friendly and helpful! Night life was fun.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by Steve, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and positive rating of your experience at the Keating. We hope you will visit us again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Last minute hidden fees ruined experience

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Cons: be honest about the actual cost
This is a weird and unusual hotel. Some of the design features got annoying (like the non-intuitive taps for the shower. Also very loud on the weekend. Staff was pleasant enough, but getting mugged as I was leaving for "a $25 third-party billing fee per night" was annoying. Just a way to lie about the upfront cost. If you're just downtown to party the location is excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Jeff Owens/Operations Manager , Hotel Management
Good Day: First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your most recent visit to The Keating Hotel. I am sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We hold dear to make a positive memorable experience for all our guests and we may have missed the mark during your stay. I am pleased to read that the staff was pleasant and will be sure to share with the team. Again, thank you for your feedback and we do hope you will give us another try during your visit to sunny San Diego.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Nice hotel close to many dining options

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Housekeeping could be improved
Location: Plenty of restaurants in walking distance.Great little coffee stall next door,providing good coffee and serv
The hotel was in good location.Denzel on the check in desk provided excellent service,nothing was to much bother.Housekeeping was a bit hit and miss.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Adam, Hotel Management
Dear Julia, Thank you for taking the tip to post your review and for the shout-out for our dedicated staff, Denzel included! We will also share your opportunity for improvement with our Housekeeping team as well. We do hope to see you again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Additional made up charges ..

Posted Aug 23, 2017
After we left we got an additional bill, not resort tax or tax or any of the other charges. We got charge 70 dollars for the building. I enquired what this additional charge was as we were not told about it when we checked out. The hotel took a week to reply and said it was for the up keep of the listed building. Really ...I would say it was a con and we were robbed. The hotel was not worth what we paid ..
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2017 by Jeff Owens, Hotel Management
Good Day Andrea: Thank you for taking time to provide feedback regarding your most recent stay with us. I personally apologize for the lack of follow up you received regarding your inquest of the $25.00 Boutique Experience Fee that is incurred when booking through a 3rd party reservation center. Please be assured I will be working closely with my team in communicating this fee at check-in and check-out. Again Andrea, thank you for your time and do hope that you will give us another try when visiting sunny San Diego, CA. Jeff Owens/Operations Manager
5 out of 5
by Kathy

A fun place to stay!

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
A quirky and fun place to stay! Victorian on the outside and 1960's chic on the inside. We totally plan to go back there! Right in the heart of the Gaslight District, it was within walking distance of many restaurants and evening hotspots. No need to drive after celebrating; simply walk back to the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017
Dear Kathy, Thanks for recognizing our unique style! We appreciate your kind words and look forward to your next visit!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Unique, Gorgeous, and Well Located

Posted Jul 18, 2017
This hotel was originally a brothel and dentist office (yes, the two went hand in hand). I learned all about it as it was a stop on one of the wonderful walking tours of the neighborhood. Now it is a gorgeous boutique hotel. Location is perfect if you want to be in the mix of the Gaslamp District. I was in town for a convention and was able to walk to the convention center without too much trouble. The rooms are modern and a bit industrial. The staff was extremely friendly. I really don't have any negatives to write regarding this place. I will warn you not to plan on getting there too early as they have a limited number of rooms, therefore, early check in is not much of an option. The staff is kind enough to stash your luggage for you and to text you when a room is ready if you arrive before 3pm. (Here's my negative, early check in might cost you $75 if you DO get a room before 3pm). Best thing about the hotel, they left me sweet treats and a great note to welcome me! I would ABSOLUTELY stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Adam, Hotel Management
Thank you for your detailed review; other guests will find it very informative. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again!
5 out of 5
by antonio

Sprawling Chic Loft Suite

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
Two friends were down for SD Pride, so we decided to try and find a hotel that was semi-close to the event, so I looked at Hotels.com and found The Keating. I ended up booking a room called the "Chic Loft Suite". The pictures of the room were pretty cool, and it looked ample--but that's an understatement. The room was MASSIVE! Over 500 square feet! My friends and I were pretty surprised upon entering. To begin with the exterior of the hotel is beautiful: nice architectural features. The entrance is modern, and bedecked in red. The staff is super helpful and very cheerful. We checked in with ease. We were surprised to learn that we were staying at the penthouse level. The elevator goes at a snails-pace, but that's okay. But our room was really incredible! I think the ceilings were about 18 feet. The king size bed looked small in comparison. There was an ample living room area that had 4 bay windows that offered a panoramic view of the Gaslamp quarter, a rug with a large coffee table, and large desk with tons of amenities (there is a list of items along with their price). The coffee machine was large and blissful. There was a small nook at the end of the room next to the shower that had a lifted bed for massages. And don't get me started on the shower! THAT was an experience in and of itself; it had one of those highly coveted rain-shower fixtures which was really a treat! Absolutely loved the shower!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017
Dear Antonio, Thank you for your kind words. We certainly appreciate your 5 Star recommendation. We are happy that you enjoyed the Keating's unique style and character. We will be sure to share you sentiments with our staff. We look forward to your next stay with us
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Almost great!

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Orbitz
Great location in the Gas Lamp. Near everything. No car needed for us. The bus from the airport dropped us only three blocks away. A short walk to Petco. A little farther to the USS Midway and Little Italy. Super friendly and accommodating staff. AC worked great. We loved the 'industrial' feel of the rooms. Did I mention quiet? Very much so as we were on the top floor. Shower was great with a wand as well as waterfall head. Issues? No top sheet on the bed-only a light duvet. Too hot with it on and too cool with it off. We needed a light top sheet but housekeeping did not understand. Lamps on the night stands would have been nice. Or at least switces for the oveheads. We had to get out of bed to turn off or on the lights. Great hotel at a great price in a great city. We'll be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2017 by Adam, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of our ideal location in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter. We look forward to your next visit with us!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Western Colorado

Hotel Dracula!

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: The shower.
Cons: Deep cleaning needed on sinks and shower.
Location: Location was great, lots of places to eat and some shopping nearby. 15 min walk to conference center.
Screaming red walls trimmed in black with a musty smell and an old slow elevator. The room had cement style floors, stainless steel work bench style bathroom sink, a mirror on the ceiling, and a doorless shower. Reminded me of a one night stand kinda place. The good was the shower was roomy and used lots of water, the bed was comfy and didn't make my back hurt, the room color was a nice calming light blue. I would go back for the right price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Adam, Hotel Management
Dear Carrie, Thank you for taking the time to offer your review. We are happy that you enjoyed key aspects of our hotel and your stay. We do realize that our decor and style is quite unique and not to everybody's taste, however we are glad that you would return to us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future