Ratings based on 1,510 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Unsure why there is not carpet in the rooms. Rooms are incredibly noisy - we could hear footsteps, people dropping things and much more throughout the stay. Wouldn’t stay here again because of that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2017 by JJH, Hotel Management
Hello I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the noise level in your guest room. We definitely want our guests to be most comfortable and I'm disappointed to hear this was not the case. We regret that the hardwood floors in our rooms will keep you from returning. Hopefully, you will continue to check out some of our other Kimpton hotels in your travels as I'm hopeful that you will find some jewels that will be a great fit for you. Best Regards, Jim Hollister General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Great experience. Friendly staff. Clean hotel and great restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2017 by JJH, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for the awesome comments! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the feedback. Hopefully this means you will be back for another visit! Best Regards, Jim Hollister General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntington Beach, CA

Great downtown location

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Pros: The staff was fun, friendly and very accommodating
Cons: We did get a double room, I was expecting 2 queens, it was actually 2 full size beds. We were 3 people so that was a little tough!
Location: Fun restaurants and bars everywhere
The hotel staff was amazing and very accommodating. Great rooms and walking distance to all the fun restaurants and bars.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by George, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the great review! We try hard to make our guests happy and we look forward to your return.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago,Il

Ok for quick stay

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Had to request ice every day. Hot water took along time to make it up to room on the 19th floor. Just turn the shower or facuet on and wait. Bed frame has wood with 90 degree corners which protrude. Banged into the edges enough times to draw blood. Be careful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2017 by JJH, Hotel Management
Hello Ed Thank you for the feedback and my apologies for the challenges you experienced in your guest room. We strive to provide a comfortable experience for our guests and one that goes smoothly. I'm sorry to hear of the snafu's you mentioned and appreciate you taking the time to let us know what worked and what can be improved upon. Best Regards, Jim Hollister General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Bad hotel experience, only to make money from you

Posted Nov 27, 2017
This hotel has a big heavy door, which looks like a bank vault. For the most time there is no doorman waiting for you. Even when there is a doorman, he won’t help you open the heavy door and just watch you do it by yourself with all of your luggages. This hotel does not talk about service but only money. I called in to the guest service asking if we have a microwave or can they help me warm up my food, and their answer is I have to pay $20 to borrow a microwave which is supposed to accomandate in my room. I then asked them if we can check out 1 hour late, and their answers are extra money. It is really not making sense when there are not many people staying st this hotel at all. Good thing is they do have Business room and computers for you to use, but you have to pay another $10 just to use it for 15 mins. All extra service you expect from a hotel, there is a fee here. They don’t talk about service. They only care about money. This is my first time ever leaving a comment of a hotel but this hotel experience is really really bad.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by JJH, Hotel Management
Hello Will Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're disappointed about your experience. We need to hear the good and the not so good so that we can work on improving our services. I'm sorry that I did not know during your visit of your frustrations so as to have personally addressed them at the time and worked to turn this around. Best Regards, Jim Hollister General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

BE CAREFUL- HIDDEN FEES

Posted Nov 27, 2017
I'm extremely disappointed with this hotel stay. It seemed like a good deal, but I should have known it was too good to be true. First of all, we didn't know that parking was so expensive and would not be included. $45 a night valet, or $30 a night parking garage across the street. They claim its comparable but I still find it ridiculous and would have stayed elsewhere had I known all this in advance. They don't tell you up front, which seems like a scam. The bed was lumpy, not comfortable and there were people running around screaming outside all night long. In addition to all the rates and fees paid on Expedia, I was charged an extra $67.62 for a three night stay for "facilities fees" which I did not see until later. Facilities I never used such as gym, roll away beds, etc. I only booked this hotel last minute so I could be near my grandma while she was dying. I got scammed by all these added fees and small print, so beware before booking. This has all left a bad taste in my mouth and I'll avoid Kimpton hotels in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by JJH, Hotel Management
Hello Jess First off, please accept my sympathy to you for the reason you were visiting the area. I'm sorry to hear that you were caught by surprise about our parking and facility fee as well as the issues you experienced. This is a disappointment to hear and something we definitely would have wanted to address further while you were a guest in the hotel. We do not want to catch our guests off-guard and appreciate you letting us know your experience and again, we regret not being able to handle it while you were here. Best Regards, Jim Hollister General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Good stay and would stay again but parking too expensive
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by JJH, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments about your stay. I'm sorry for the inconvenience the parking fee caused to you. We, like many urban hotels do not have a parking garage and utilize an outside service which adds an additional fee. Thank you for choosing the Palomar and providing us with info about your stay. Best Regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad location

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: The staff was attentive and courteous.
Location: May as well have been in a homeless shelter.
Property was nice enough. However, as soon as you walk out the door you are surrounded by a constant flurry of homeless people that are very aggressive. The hotel is 'Dog Friendly". It should mention that the majority of guests have dog (s). The small ones were running around the lobby chasing each other and the elevator smelled like urine. The air-conditioning in our room was not working and we had to have it fixed (2) times within 3 days.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by JJH, Hotel Management
We're sorry to hear we missed the mark in providing you with with an awesome stay. Thank you for sharing your comments and please know we are disappointed to hear we let you down. While we are very pet-friendly, we definitely do not want that to impose on our guests who are traveling without pets. We appreciate hearing the comments of our guests as it assist us in improving our service. Best Regards, Jim Hollister General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Getaway

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Great experience as always at The Palomar. ☺☺☺☺☺☺☺☺☺☺☺☺☺🍷🍷☺
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by George - Front Office, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great feedback! We try hard to create wonderful guest experiences.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cabot, AR

Nice hotel located in the center of downtown.

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Pros: Clean, comfortable, and convenient.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Center of downtown, with shopping and restaurants nearby.
Very convenient. Located in the center of downtown. Numerous restaurants, convenience stores, and shopping within walking distance. rooms nice and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by George - Front Office, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the fantastic feedback! We look forward to your return when your travels bring you back to San Diego.