Ratings based on 2,829 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vail, CO

A gem in San Diego

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Pros: Excellent, clean, friendly staff and perfectly located.
Cons: Hmmm that crazy black and white wall paper, but I guess I will also never forget it.
Location: Everything is walking distance, even in 5 inch heels. But if not there are lots of Uber and not expensive.
Husband and I went in early November, we were absolutely floored by how amazing the hotel staff was. But first, it is close to the airport $13 uber ride, close to great restaurants and bars, literally across the street from a super hot night club, has a rooftop bar and heated pool, restaurant attached, free drinks from 5-6pm nightly, walking distance from Midway museum, and seaport village. The hotel is perfectly located and I think the accommodates pets. Now the staff: every single person we came in contact with from check in to check out was very attentive and down right AMAZING. Q at check in was the star of our trip and I wish there was a way to make 1 million of him and have him be the only person I ever came in contact with...hahaha. Everyone from the housekeepers to the bartenders were great and we were very pleased. Quick shout out to Q, Crystal, Walker B and Karinne you guys made my trip one to remember.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Lovely stay in the Gaslamp Quarter

Posted Nov 24, 2017
The Kimpton Solomar was the second place I stayed on my trip to San Diego and was far nicer than the hotel my company paid for (which was far more expensive I might add). I was welcomed through the door into the beautiful lobby and greated by very friendly staff at the concierge desk. They checked me in and got me sorted straight away, and were so helpful throughout my stay, from answering my questions, to suggestions of things to do in the city and printing things like tickets and my boarding pass. My room was recently renovated and absolutely lovely. It was perfectly sized for me and I had a wonderful stay. If I come back to San Diego I will be definitely staying there again and have already recommended it to others! Thanks so much!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel, lovely outdoor pool area

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Location: Convenient downtown location - I personally didn't like the area & found it rowdy at night with lots of homeless and drunks. But it is convenient.
I had a pretty good stay that could have been improved: Positives Huge rooms, very clean, great Friendly welcome Super helpful front desk Loved free tea and coffee in mornings in lobby Pool deck area is wonderful! Lovely design, nice lounging area. Daily housekeeping good with nice notes :) Small but functional gym Could improve - Dark rooms, they are nowhere as near as light as the light filled rooms in the pictures. Heavy dark decor. -Room service very expensive and food was poor quality. I asked for a burger with chicken instead of beef. I got a burger with small chicken pieces that was completely soggy on the bottom & cost over $35 total. -Room noisy because of adjoining door to room next door. I had to get moved in the end and it was a 3 hour process to move everything and find a quiet room which took up the whole evening. The hotel did offer to compensate me and found me a good quiet room in the end (the jacuzzi bath is fab!) -Housekeeping were always engaged when I tried to call. Took a personal item by mistake (hotel reimbursed for this) - Lobby area dark. Felt anonymous. I stayed for 6 days but didn't get to know any of the staff. - Porters at front varied in friendliness and quality of help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from aliso viiejo ca

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Wonderful experience ! I have stayed at other Kimpton Hotels and they have been great The eclectic decor adds to the overall experience
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2017 by Joanna, Hotel Management
cynthiai, thank you for the 5-star review. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon. -Joanna Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from portland

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Very helpful and friendly staff. Front desk especially went out of their way to help.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2017 by Joanna, Hotel Management
Dear Lisa, Thanks for taking the time to submit your review and recognizing our Front Desk Staff. We hope you can return in the future! Cheers, Joanna Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Beautiful hotel that accepts dogs.

Posted Oct 30, 2017
I really enjoyed this hotel. What made it specual for me was the customer service. I loved beimg able to text someone at the hotel w food recommendations or for thst matter anything. I also enjoy thst it is dog friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2017 by joanna, Hotel Management
Ed - We are so happy you enjoyed your time at the Solamar. We pride ourselves on our service and love that you loved us being dog friendly! It's definitely a perk for us as well. We hope to see you again soon. Cheers, Joanna Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2017
No consistent room service, room lighting had no easy to find switches, room layout was strange, staff was not pleasant when calling for room service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2017 by Q, Hotel Management
Good morning, I am sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your stay at Kimpton Solamar. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to improve both our service and product. Q- Manager on Duty
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Is this really a Kimpton?

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Hotel is fine- it's clean and in a good location, but did not live up to the quality and customer service I've come to expect from Kimpton.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2017 by Q, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. I am sad to hear we did not live up to your expectations during your stay with us. I hope the next time you are in San Diego you will give us an opportunity to show you what Kimpton Solamar is about. Q- Manager on Duty
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Fantastic hotel in great location. Second time stayed (5 years between) and still great service and amenities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2017 by Q, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the review! Come see us again before 2022! Q-Manager on Duty
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Great place, clean rooms, happy hour from 5:00-6:00 (free beer & wine). Great location walking distance from everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2017 by Q, Hotel Management
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We think clean rooms and complimentary beer and wine are a recipe for success. Q- Manager on Duty