Ratings based on 2,099 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in gaslamp.

Posted Dec 15, 2017
A great location. Very nice room and wonderful staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Qualicum Beach, BC

Great location, right downtown

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Super location in the heart of the Gaslamp district, staff friendly. Happy hour (free) 5.00 until 6.00. Wish we had more of a view. Pool area good on the 4th floor, bar and lots of comfy seats.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2017
It was a great place to stay for a weekend getaway
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monterey, CA

Weekend Visit

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Front desk staff was great, got into the room early and desk staff couldn’t have been nicer. Hotel is pet friendly and there were dozens of dogs in the Hotel, could be an issue if your germ sensitive. Valet parking $50/night, found some parking on the street luckily. Resort fee $20/night for WiFi and pool. Walking distance to everything in Gaslamp district. Overall great experience!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by joanna, Hotel Management
Thanks very much for joining us and for the 5-Star review! We truly appreciate your feedback and kind words! Come back and see us soon. Joanna Front Office Manager Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kamloops BC

Gorgeous hotel, in gaslight district.

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: Beautifully renovated hotel. Gorgeous spacious room and bathroom. Pet friendly. Friendly helpful front desk staff. The hotel has a pool resort area.
Location: This hotel is close to everything in the gaslight district, including shops, restaurants, bars and night clubs. Quiet & clean with a lively night life
Beautifully renovated hotel. Gorgeous spacious room and bathroom. Pet friendly. Friendly helpful front desk staff. The hotel has a pool resort area on the 4th floor, including a nicely appointed bar. This hotel is close to everything in the gaslight district, including shops, restaurants, bars and night clubs. Quiet clean area with a lively night life.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by joanna, Hotel Management
Thanks very much for joining us and for the 5-Star review! We truly appreciate your feedback and kind words! Come back and see us soon. Joanna Front Office Manager Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

Nice Hotel - great location downtown

Posted Nov 26, 2017
The hotel is very nice. Staff is very kind and willing to help. Rooms and amenities are great, specially the pool is amazing. Only thing is the decoration, it’s too dark for my style.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by joanna, Hotel Management
Thanks very much for joining us, we truly appreciate your feedback and kind words! Come back and see us soon. Joanna Front Office Manager Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vail, CO

A gem in San Diego

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Pros: Excellent, clean, friendly staff and perfectly located.
Cons: Hmmm that crazy black and white wall paper, but I guess I will also never forget it.
Location: Everything is walking distance, even in 5 inch heels. But if not there are lots of Uber and not expensive.
Husband and I went in early November, we were absolutely floored by how amazing the hotel staff was. But first, it is close to the airport $13 uber ride, close to great restaurants and bars, literally across the street from a super hot night club, has a rooftop bar and heated pool, restaurant attached, free drinks from 5-6pm nightly, walking distance from Midway museum, and seaport village. The hotel is perfectly located and I think the accommodates pets. Now the staff: every single person we came in contact with from check in to check out was very attentive and down right AMAZING. Q at check in was the star of our trip and I wish there was a way to make 1 million of him and have him be the only person I ever came in contact with...hahaha. Everyone from the housekeepers to the bartenders were great and we were very pleased. Quick shout out to Q, Crystal, Walker B and Karinne you guys made my trip one to remember.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by joanna, Hotel Management
Thanks very much for joining us and for the 5-Star review! We truly appreciate your feedback and kind words! Come back and see us soon. Joanna Front Office Manager Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Lovely stay in the Gaslamp Quarter

Posted Nov 24, 2017
The Kimpton Solomar was the second place I stayed on my trip to San Diego and was far nicer than the hotel my company paid for (which was far more expensive I might add). I was welcomed through the door into the beautiful lobby and greated by very friendly staff at the concierge desk. They checked me in and got me sorted straight away, and were so helpful throughout my stay, from answering my questions, to suggestions of things to do in the city and printing things like tickets and my boarding pass. My room was recently renovated and absolutely lovely. It was perfectly sized for me and I had a wonderful stay. If I come back to San Diego I will be definitely staying there again and have already recommended it to others! Thanks so much!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by joanna, Hotel Management
Thanks very much for joining us and for the 5-Star review! We truly appreciate your feedback and kind words! Come back and see us soon. Joanna Front Office Manager Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel, lovely outdoor pool area

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Location: Convenient downtown location - I personally didn't like the area & found it rowdy at night with lots of homeless and drunks. But it is convenient.
I had a pretty good stay that could have been improved: Positives Huge rooms, very clean, great Friendly welcome Super helpful front desk Loved free tea and coffee in mornings in lobby Pool deck area is wonderful! Lovely design, nice lounging area. Daily housekeeping good with nice notes :) Small but functional gym Could improve - Dark rooms, they are nowhere as near as light as the light filled rooms in the pictures. Heavy dark decor. -Room service very expensive and food was poor quality. I asked for a burger with chicken instead of beef. I got a burger with small chicken pieces that was completely soggy on the bottom & cost over $35 total. -Room noisy because of adjoining door to room next door. I had to get moved in the end and it was a 3 hour process to move everything and find a quiet room which took up the whole evening. The hotel did offer to compensate me and found me a good quiet room in the end (the jacuzzi bath is fab!) -Housekeeping were always engaged when I tried to call. Took a personal item by mistake (hotel reimbursed for this) - Lobby area dark. Felt anonymous. I stayed for 6 days but didn't get to know any of the staff. - Porters at front varied in friendliness and quality of help.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by joanna, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We truly appreciate your feedback and kind words but are truly sorry your stay was not perfect from start to finish. Please come back and see us soon so we can showcase what we truly have to offer. Joanna Front Office Manager Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from aliso viiejo ca

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Wonderful experience ! I have stayed at other Kimpton Hotels and they have been great The eclectic decor adds to the overall experience
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2017 by Joanna, Hotel Management
cynthiai, thank you for the 5-star review. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon. -Joanna Front Office Manager