Ratings based on 2,094 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Myers, FL

Friendliest hotel I’ve ever stayed in.

Posted Jan 15, 2018
This is my second time to stay at the Solamar. I chose to stay there because I had such a wonderful experience 5 years ago. The staff is so friendly, and it is not a fake friendliness. The staff recognized me when I came and went...and sometimes called me by my name. The young men on the door were most helpful and friendly in telling me how to get to places when I walked. I will tell my friends how nice the stay was and will most certainly stay there when I come to visit my grandbabies in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ONTARIO. CANADA

Posted Jan 14, 2018
Great location.to many attractions.. The staff were friendly and i would stay at hotel again. Weather was a bit off so we were not able to take advantage of the pool area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2018 by Anna, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review, Patricia! I'm glad you experience with your team was nothing but sunny, even if our weather wasn't. Come and stay again soon, and we'll hope our San Diego weather cooperates so you can enjoy the pool! Anna Young Manager on Duty Kimpton Solamar
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from YYC

Cool music and nice scents

Posted Jan 12, 2018
This is a medium priced hotel in the Gaslamp district of San Diego's downtown. Everything met and exceeded expectations which usually doesn't happen to me. Unfortunately I was too busy to take advantage of all the perks the hotel offered. The Gaslamp district itself is fairy nice in the evening - lots of restaurant options etc., and it felt quite safe. In terms of transportation to and from the airport - take the 992 - it serves both airport terminals and drops you off at Broadway and 6th Ave; then you have to walk six blocks south. If you need to go to Old Town you can walk south to the Gaslamp trolley station (train = trolley in San Diego). From Old Town you can take buses to various beaches.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2018 by Anna, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the five star review!! It sounds like you had a great stay, and we are so glad. Those are great tips about public transportation - we are lucky to be in a location where such transportation is easily available. Please come back to visit when you have a little more time to relax, perhaps by the pool! Anna Young Manager on Duty Kimpton Solamar
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Property needs repair. Staff was excellent but pool area is worn and neglected
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2018 by Anna, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for the feedback. We're happy that our team was especially impressive, but sorry that you felt our pool area fell a little short. We appreciate you letting us know, and we hope you will come back and give us another try soon. Anna Young Manager on Duty Kimpton Solamar
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Amazing hotel close to Gaslamp!!

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Pros: The "spa" tub was exactly how I imagined it. Perfect for a couple.
Cons: The only thing I was a little annoyed with having to pay was the valet for the overnight parking, $49.00 is too much!!
Location: The location is in downtown San Diego, right in the heart of Gaslamp. My boyfriend walked right down fifth and that had a lot if restaurants and bars
This hotel was amazing! The room was perfect since I was celebrating with my boyfriend his 30th birthday! We rented out the room with the "Spa" tub and it was great for a romantic night. The location of this hotel was also impressing since its right in the heart of the Gaslamp, you can literally walk anywhere. The hotel itself is modern but still comfy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2018 by Anna, Hotel Management
Wow, thank you so much for the fantastic review! We are so happy that you and your boyfriend enjoyed a great celebration here. Those spa tubs are always such a treat! Don't wait for the next birthday to come back and visit us! Anna Young Manager on Duty Kimpton Solamar
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Extremely comfortable and friendly place

Posted Jan 10, 2018
I greatly enjoyed the 5 days I recently spent at this hotel. The decor is whimsical, the room impeccable, the staff friendly. Lovely pool area on the 4th floor, and location can't be beat. Be aware that parking is $49 (valet only)...otherwise only positive things to say. Would definitely return!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2018 by Anna, Hotel Management
What a wonderful review! Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your great stay. We remodeled not too long ago, so we are always happy to hear when guests particularly enjoy the décor, and we're glad our team was friendly and helpful. Come back to stay again soon! Anna Young Manager on Duty Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Park your car down the street at Ace Parking for $15/day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2018 by Anna, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the five star review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back and see us again soon! Anna Young Manager on Duty Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2018
thumbs down, dirty rooms, bad check in, expensive parking, worn down overall. not what I had remembered, hotel needs some sort of overhaul or remodel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2018 by Anna, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out to us with your feedback about your stay. We'd like to apologize for the frustration you encountered and appreciate the time you took to let us know. Please come back and give us another try, as this is not the experience we strive to provide. Anna Young Manager on Duty Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2018
The lounge was a bit gloomy . We had a great stay and actually extended it by a day . All the staff were very friendly and helpful .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2018 by Anna, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the feedback! We're so glad that you had a great stay overall, and that our staff was able to take great care of you. Please come back and see us soon! Anna Young Manager on Duty Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tauranga New Zealand

Awesome hotel, great staff and service

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Service was great, treats provided free of charge were a nice bonus. Guests drinks and snacks between 5 and 6 pm was exceptional. Front desk staff pointed out cheaper public parking which was $15 overnight compared to $45 at the hotel. Heated pool and area around the pool and bar was a great place to sit and relax. 10 out of 10 stay for out 2 nights on our first visit to San Diego thanks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2018 by Anna, Hotel Management
Wow, thank you for the amazing review!! We're so glad you had a great time and got to experience a few of the amenities we have to offer - that wine hour is always a big perk! Please come back and see us soon. We'll try and make your next stay an 11 out 10! Anna Young Manager on Duty Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel