Ratings based on 2,106 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Rosa

Perfect Petco Park location

Posted Apr 21, 2018
Pros: It was close to Petco Park.
Cons: Self service abilities to print tickets.
Location: It is right near the Gaslamp district and you can walk to Seaport Village. But everywhere else we had to get a cab.
We chose this hotel to be close to the ball park and Gaslamp district and it didn't fail to give us the experience we wanted. We were able to walk to the game and we could even see the park from our hotel room. The only problem I think could have been better is that there is no self-service abilities for checking out or printing tickets. while I think that having personal service is a great idea, it also meant waiting in a line every time we needed something. That was a pain. We didn't have a coffee maker in the room until we mentioned that it was inconvenient to have to get dressed and go downstairs to their common area for early coffee. Also, we never ate at the in-hotel restaurant because it didn't really have a menu suited for us. The room was fine, clean etc. TV was big, but no premium stations. The staff were all nice and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Posted Apr 16, 2018
Wonderful stay. Amazing staff. Walking distance to convention center and Petco Park. Pool area peaceful. Slightly disappointed in menu selection for all meals, but ALL the food was delicious. Didn’t want to leave.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2018 by Anna, Hotel Management
We didn't want you to leave either, Martha! Thanks for the awesome review. We hope this means you'll come back soon for a little more of that peace and quiet. Anna Young Manager on Duty Kimpton Solamar
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great location

Posted Apr 8, 2018
Overall we had a good experience at the hotel. The front desk staff was very helpful and accommodating. We arrived early in the day and fortunately they had a room available for us to check in. The main issue with our room was the bathroom, the handle to turn the shower on was very hard, we were afraid we were going to break it every time we tried to turn it on. Then, after the very first time it was used, the shower did not stop dripping the entire duration of our vacation (5 days). It was slightly annoying so we kept the bathroom door closed while we were in the room. The pillows were not very comfortable either, I found myself waking up throughout the night because I couldn’t get comfortable. Other than those 2 minor things we enjoyed our stay in San Diego. The location is great the hotel was clean which is super important on my list. The daily happy hour and coffee was a nice touch. I loved seeing the four legged guests stroll through the lobby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2018 by Anna, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review, Isa! We are glad you had a great stay overall and got to enjoy all of the amenities the Solamar has to offer. We appreciate the feedback as well. The two things you mentioned are pretty easily remedied, and we will certainly look into them. We would love to have you back soon! Anna Young Manager on Duty Kimpton Solamar
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2018
Enjoyed our stay. Walking distance to anything downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2018 by Anna, Hotel Management
We're so happy you enjoyed your time with us. Thanks for taking the time to let us know! Please come back and visit us in San Diego soon! Anna Young Manager on Duty Kimpton Solamar
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved how close to Petco Park it is.

Posted Apr 5, 2018
Pros: Very nice hotel in a great location.
Was perfect for our stay in San Diego. Walked to Petco Park for a game.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2018 by Anna, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review! We sure do love our Padres, and we're glad you got to take advantage of our location to check out a game. The games will be happening all summer, come back and see us again soon! Anna Young Manager on Duty Kimpton Solamar
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location to restaurants.

Posted Apr 5, 2018
It was a few days before and my grandsons wrote a letter to the Easter Bunny explaing they would not be home until late on Easter. I gave the letter to the front desk asking them to get it to the Bunny. When we returned to our room that night, there was a note from the Bunny, a basket, and plastic eggs hidden around the room. My grandsons were beside themselves!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2018 by Anna, Hotel Management
That sneaky bunny! We're still not sure how he got past our security... We're so glad that you and the boys had a fantastic pre-Easter stay with us. We loved having you just as much as they loved hunting for those eggs! Don't wait until next Easter to come see us again. Anna Young Manager on Duty Kimpton Solamar
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

close to everything in lamp district and ballfield

Posted Apr 5, 2018
Cons: could use a hot-tub
good time, great staff, close to restaurants, easy highway access, airport, etc. etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2018 by Anna, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review, Steve. We're glad you had such a great time in the Gaslamp! We hope you got to take advantage of our heated pool - it's not quite as warm as a hot tub, but it definitely does the job in warm San Diego. Please come back and see us again soon! Anna Young Manager on Duty Kimpton Solamar
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Staff Could Have Stepped Up a Little More

Posted Mar 30, 2018
Pros: Nice pool, good location
Cons: Staff, see above
Location: Good location
Nice hotel, comfortable rooms, decent pool, all pretty standard in this price range/area in SD. Issue, I got very ill, passed a kidney stone, was writhing in pain. Yes, hostess sent out security guy for some pain killers, but was more uncomfortable with the situation than helpful and empathetic. When I finally decided at about 400 AM I need to go to ER, security guy used my phone to get me an Uber, but made me carry my bags to it. Other security guys sort of stood around staring at me like a freak.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This hotel feels like a resort

Posted Mar 27, 2018
Our experience was one of relaxation and quiet. The pool area is a real highlight and the bar staff were all very friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable and clean but furniture and fixtures were showing their age with chips and discolouration. The shower had very little pressure. But the bathroom was clean and well stocked. The bed was comfortable but extra blankets would have been appreciated. The staff at the front entrance and desk were friendly and always smiling. Overall a wonderful experience in an amazing neighbourhood.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2018 by Anna, Hotel Management
We loved reading your review! Thank you for letting us know about your experience. It sounds like you got to soak in a lot of that San Diego sunshine at our Upper East Bar, and I'm glad the team at the bar took good care of you. Come back and visit us anytime! Anna Young Manager on Duty Kimpton Solamar
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Friendly staff

Posted Mar 26, 2018
Hotel staff was great from the valet to housekeeping. Very polite and courteous and willing to do whatever it takes meet guests needs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2018 by Anna, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to leave such a nice review, David! We're so happy that our team bent over backwards for you - we wouldn't have it any other way! Please come back to see us soon! Anna Young Manager on Duty Kimpton Solamar