Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from La Mesa,CA

Perfect going to Copley Symphony Hall

Posted Dec 16, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: We never left the hotel area and for us that was perfect.
We were attending a concert at Copley Symphony Hall and did not want to drive home late at night. We could enter the concert from our hotel which was great. We relaxed and enjoyed a light meal in the restaurant before the concert and coffee the next morning in our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pleasanton, CA

5 star

Posted Dec 14, 2017
Pros: courteous, friendly and helpful staff cleanliness
Cons: valet parking is very expensive and self parking is difficult with big cars but not critical Uber helps
Location: centrally located, lots of restaurants, small stores,
My family stayed at The Pulse for 4 days for my daughter's wedding and every staff we encounter from valet service,housekeeping,front desk, everyone in uniform were very friendly and helpful. I plan to stay here again if I am to visit San Diego again and will definitely recommend your hotel to friends and family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great Hotel with Large Room

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: Large suite at a reasonable price
Cons: Include breakfast
Location: Not the best place intown, but close to the gas lamp district and 15 min walk from the Convention Center
I selected this hotel because the suite provided was about the same price as hotel rooms still available. Although I was alone, the suite was superb, with bedroom, bathroom, kitchen / living room unit. There was a sofa bed so could accommodate a couple with child or 2 couples. The location was not ideal for me because I went to the Convention center every day for a conference, but I enjoyed the brisk 15 minute walk each way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Good location. Staff very friendly. Great for 5 people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Marriott vacation club

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Pros: location very comfortable mattress
Convenient location to downtown and convention center. Easy walking around. Nice staff, always friendly and greeted us when we would return each day. I was a bit worried initially about the Vacation Club aspect but there was absolutely no pressure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, HI

Clean, Comfortable, Wonderful Location

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Loved this hotel! Checking in was easy! We left our car with the valet for a few minutes while we checked in then left to go to theSan Diego Zoo, which is less than 10 minutes away. When we returned we were able to find street parking since parking at the hotel can be high. You do have to be careful though because certain days they clean the streets so you just need to pay attention to the signs but 3 out of 4 nights we were able to park on the street. If you choose to park at the hotel, it was recommended to have the valet park your car for you for $40 versus the cheaper self park rate of $35 since the structure is steep. Do be sure to let the front desk know when you valet and stop using the valet service. I didn’t let them know that I was done with the one night and got charged a second day but they simply removed the charge for me when I explained myself. The location is also very close to the airport, the Gaslamp District and off and on ramps. Would highly recommend!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol, UK

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: Room size and condition. Friendliness of staff.
Cons: Noise from windows. Communication when work is being done at the hotel which restricts the use of facilities.
Location: Great location for exploring the city on foot.
Experience of staying here was of extremes. chick in welcome was very very friendly as were all staff and the room very clean and tidy and very well refurbished. There were a couple of down sides though; the room did have quite a bit of street noise as the windows were not par5 of the room refurbishment; also, we went to use the pool one day and it was closed for refurbishment, something we have not been informed off at all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from t

Receipt and late check-in

Posted Oct 20, 2017
The hotel is beautiful and centrally located downtown. They were understaffed. The very nice man who Check is in informed me there was a problem with my room and that it would not be ready for 30 minutes, this was already at 7:30 pm, and to wait in the bar. He said for the inconvenience his manager would take $100 off room. So we waited a little over 40 minutes and I went back to the desk, he checked us in and said my luggage would follow us up to the room. After waiting about 20 minutes I had to call to see where my luggage was so we could get ready. We were now an hour late for our dinner plans. He said someone would bring it up and a bit later he shows up with the luggage. Very kind man but doing too many jobs himself. Next morning I do not get any receipt under the door or emailed. I called the desk to see if they could email my receipt and to let them know I was checking out. No receipt for 2 days so I call. I get a receipt that is very vague and does not have the $100 off room, I ask why and she said it would be credited back in a few days. Still waiting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Close to Gaslamp

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Clean and nice place would stay here again. Parking is really expensive even for your a hotel guest, i paid 70 for parking for two nights
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Close to Gaslamp

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Clean and nice place would stay here again. Parking is really expensive even for your a hotel guest, i paid 70 for parking for two nights