Ratings based on 2,406 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glendale, CA

Decent deal through Expedia

Posted Sep 20, 2017
It was a decent deal through Expedia, and when i got there, i found out why. The walk to my room was along the inside of the garage, so the view on the first floor was of the cars in the garage. The hotel is located in Little Italy which makes it fairly close to restaurants. I also found out upon arriving (it's listed on the hotel's website but not on Expedia) that parking valet-your only option-for anything larger than a sedan is $50 instead of $25 for "standard sized cars." Street parking is available, however, it's extremely limited if you are lucky to find a spot. The room was quaint and clean, the bed was comfortable. It looks like an old building that has been slightly renovated. The morning staff was more friendly than the evening staff. All in all, it was cozy for a quick last minute getaway, i was only there for 1 night, and it was just for sleeping. I think in the future, i will stay elsewhere.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Close to airport

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Horrible,no sleep, next to roof top bar.. Music till 10:30, drunks till 3:45. Found used ear plug from previous guest
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by PVH Management, Hotel Management
Dear Al, Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay. We are truly sorry to hear that your expectations were not exceeded. Our 24/7 front desk assistance would have been glad to assist you while you were here. Your feedback will be addressed and hope you will give us another chance in the future. Best,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Beautiful hotel overlooking the water

Posted Sep 11, 2017
I stayed only one night but I wish I had stayed longer! Hotel staff were super friendly and accommodating. I absolutely loved the restaurant/bar (Glass Door I believe) that overlooks the ocean. Amazing happy hour specials! Don't forget to check out the rooftop jacuzzi ;)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Room cleanliness.

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Location and overall interactions with staff especially reception / front desk.
Cons: Attention to servicing of rooms.
Location: Tremendous location. Only yards away from excellent restaurants in the 'little italy'area and the Princess Bar and grille is a short stroll away.
We found the hotel a very good experience except for house keeping sstaff forgetting to provide fresh towels and toiletries on 2 of the 5 days we stayed there. Otherwise staff members were examplarar..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great, friendly staff. Room was very affordable

Posted Aug 30, 2017
The hotel definitely feels a little worn out and is more of a travel lodge style. You can hear through the walls pretty easily and it's pretty noisy when people walk outside your window. The interior is comfortable but you can tell it needs a makeover in the bathroom area. Wonderful staff. Super friendly. It's a great location and very affordable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A motel 6 is nicer!

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Very disappointed in the hotel. However, great location.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very bad

Posted Aug 23, 2017
12 days in California 10 different hotel the worst place I've seen It should not be on Expedia.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Nice hotel located in Little Italy.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Located in a good area and good value for the price
Cons: The room on the first floor should not feel like everything is damp inside
Location: Close to all the places to eat and drink and close to the water
The hotel is nice. However I had a room on the first floor, outside my door I could see cars parked. The room was nice but always felt a dampness feeling. I don't now why but my clothes always seemed not dry. If I ever stay here again I would want a room on the upper level.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expensive not worth it Dirty

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Very old hotel not well maintained pics looked good great neighborhood. Expedia messed my reservation up at another hotel so inwas scrambling last minute for a place to stay very expensive for what it is
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ca

Hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2017
The room is nothing what is pictured. You get to listen to airplanes land well after midnight. The bartender seems to close up when he feels like it very unwelcoming.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by PVH Management, Hotel Management
Dear Kaurie, Thank you for choosing the Porto Vista Hotel. We are truly sorry to hear that your expectations were not exceeded. Your feedback is important and will be addressed to management for corrective actions. Again we apologize and hope we can show you how your initial visit should have been. Best,