Ratings based on 2,386 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego

Not great for what you pay for

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Friendly staff, but hotel wasn't as nice as pictures
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

RUN AWAY - loud, dirty, bait-and-switch

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: Nothing. There is nothing good about this hotel.
Cons: There is no way to fix this hole. I recommend starting with a bulldozer. If you want to run a hotel, do it in a professional manner.
I can't give my full review since I can't use profanity. But I can warn people to RUN AWAY from this hotel unless you're a drunk frat boy looking for a party house. I can also shame any site that rates this hotel over 1 star. I've traveled a lot for work, and have stayed in a lot of hotels. In my opinion, this is one of the worst I've seen: - forced valet parking, $25/day - INSANE noise levels. Music from restaurant on 4th floor, parties in guest rooms, people knocking on our door, and screaming all night. Called the front desk, said they would send security, but we never heard; the noise continued over the course of both nights unabated. - this is a converted mid-60's apartment building converted into a "hotel." All rooms look down into an open parking lot/echo chamber. We heard cars coming/going, car horns, car alarms and doors slamming. - our room was warm and dank and had a distinct chemical smell. - the carpet was foul - let's say "crunchy" - the bathroom had an old linoleum floor; baseboards were filthy - tiny overhead A/C unit was both noisy and too small to cool/clean air - incapable staff After two nights, we were utterly exhausted, and upon checkout told the manager that our stay had been horrible. Her reply: "Well, there are a lot of people on vacation." Yeah, guess what, we were too, and this bait and switch. Asked them to at least comp fee for our dogs, they refused to give us a break of any kind.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Romania

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Hotel is 25minutes on walk from Convention Center. Very nice district, Little Italy: good restaurant s and safe zone.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Great location in Little Italy

Posted Aug 8, 2017
This room location wise is great because it's only 1 block walk from all the restaurants and shops on India Street of Little Italy. You do have to pay to park here $25/day and you could only park one car per room not per guest. Parking in downtown SD for the most part is horrible. So be prepared for this. The room itself wasn't bad for a weekend stay. There was 4 of us so I wouldn't want to stay here longer than that since it's not that big. The bathroom lacked counter space. The living area could use a seperate mirror. The coffee was awful bland and flavorless. I did like the texting option for requesting for things like towels, more coffee, restaurant recommendations, etc. There isn't a pool, only a rooftop spa which was actually pretty nice and had great views of ocean and city. The Glass Door restaurant was just ok. The server was a bit rude and moody. The drinks were not that great. The buffalo wings were the only thing that was good. Before we had arrived I looked at the website for the Glas Door and it stated the weekend brunch was available from 10:30-2pm. We waited till 10:30 and then when going it was closed. The lady working the restaurant said no we only serve breakfast from 6am-10:30am. I told them they should at least post that somewhere Aand fix their website to reflect that. Had we known that we wouldn't have been waiting around to eat breakfast. We ended up going somewhere else to eat. The staff is not that friendly at the restaurant. Not going back there!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Not a one star!!

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: Nice photo on Website (the view from the restaurant)
Cons: Paint the corridors, Clean the rooms, train you staff and dress them appropriately!!! Sorted out you room locks
Location: Italian restaurants only Hotel "restaurant " very limited menu. Dust and construction around the hotel
Broken door locks, filthy rooms and dirty corridors and ....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2017
We love this hotel, it's location is excellent. We had a slightly larger room this time and it was worth a little extra money. Bed and bedding were comfortable. There were a couple of issues but maintenance was timely in showing up. Free shuttle to the airport is a plus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Near Little Italy and ocean

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Hotel location is awesome and the ocean view is beautiful. Near the night life and great restaurants. Staff at the hotel were great from the point we checked in to check out. Valet folks are very kind and definitely user friendly. I highly recommend staying at this hotel. I've stayed here before and enjoyed that as well. The only thing I would like to see improve is breakfast. Should keep breakfast stocked and warm. They kept running out breakfast eggs, potatoes and some of the other sides. I would add a few more sides for breakfast. Breakfast was very limited. Give your customer breakfast options. Also, the lady taking breakfast tickets should be friendly to the customers. A smile and being polite goes a long way. I still gave the hotel an excellent rating and I totally recommend staying at this hotel. 98% of the staff is great!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Not as clean as I remember

Posted Jul 18, 2017
I've stayed here in the past, and it's been great. This time was different. The room I booked, was deluxe double queen, I thought this would come with a balcony, as I've booked the same room in the past. This time I was told that double queen rooms dont have a balcony. Room had a window, window screen was ripped half open. I didn't leave food in the room until the last night of the stay, the next morning I saw a couple of baby roaches in the room, one on a cup left in the sink. The faucet in the bathtub leaked the entire time. The sheets on one of the beds had stains. The best thing about the stay was the friendly and helpful staff. The cleanliness and comfort of the room made me give this an honest review.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wyomissing, PA

Not at all what I expected

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: Not sure, perhaps honest advertising and some actual photos of the rooms. Complimentary bottled water and fresh fruit would be nice too.
Location: Located in Little Italy with walking access to many restaurants, shops and the downtown waterfront.
Overpriced, tiny motel rooms with lousy pillows, busy rooftop club
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Terrible hotel that i have ever been. I found some hair in bed