Ratings based on 3,251 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Exceptional location, right smack dab in the middle of the Gaslamp Quarter pubs, bars and clubs. Everything walking distance saving you some ubers!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Central location, historic hotel, adequate service

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Valet was good, service was good, hotel was very clean. The single room was small, but that's understandable considering the hotel is a hundred years old. The rooftop deck and view were quite nice. Great view of the city.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location right near the action.

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Vintage hotel with charm but rooms are small. Great location! Near trolley and bus stops. Situated right in the center of the Gaslamp Quarter! good stay for the price. You can go up to the roof and see a great view of the entire city. Would recommend if you're not gonna be in the room very often.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in gas lamp district

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Outside of second elevator broke, was a nice hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Paying for parking sucks be prepared to spend 30

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Bars are lit even on a Tuesday this place is the spot close to everything. ACs are old and sorta suck but besides that solid hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wallisville, TX

Management Staff was amazing

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: The Management was great!
Cons: The only thing that could have been improved was communication between management and staff.
Location: There are tons of things to do in that area in a walking distance. Bars were our thing and visited plenty of those and walked to the Ferry.
My wife and I were meeting at this hotel for the weekend. I had contacted the hotel to see if they had any specials services for our occasion. I received a reply back from management offering to bump us up a room grade along with special services such as strawberries and beer. Upon arriving to the hotel, the room that management held for us had a pipe bust. So they offered to move us to a sister hotel a block away and they covered the extra expenses. The management between the 2 hotels set everything up. With the little hiccup of changing hotels, it was a great experience. So we didn't stay in this hotel but with the way the hotel management took care of us, we would definitely stay here again. Melissa was amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Cheaper hotel near conference

Posted Oct 10, 2017
The hotel staff were all very friendly. At check in, each and every time we left and returned, and after check out! Such a neat hotel!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Glad my family was not with me....

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: The location of the hotel worked very well for me, given me the opportunity to walk to my meetings around downtown and experience San Diego on foot.
Cons: The hotel needs some major upgrades, from the elevators to the rooms and everything in between, plus an inspection after each room cleaning!!
Location: The hotel is in the Gaslight district, very conveniently located with lots of cool restaurants and bars around.
While the location of the hotel worked well for me, I was glad it was just me and my wife and children were not with me. The description of "historic" hotel should have been a clear indication of what to expect. I used the elevator once (when first going to my room) and decided to use the stairs for the rest of my stay, just in case......the room was 'tired' and not cleaned very well with hair from the previous guest left on the sink counter. Just to be safe, I never ever took my slippers of, including while using the shower. While the staff was fairly friendly, the overall experience is not one I will repeat nor am able to recommend.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Hotel needs a major renovation and maintenance.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Hotel was very outdated and dirty

Posted Oct 2, 2017
We checked in around 8 pm and went to our room. When we got to the room it was very small and outdated. The bathroom toilet was very low to the floor and the shower had mold all over the tiles. The shower water did not warm up at all even after letting it run for a while. When we went to tell the concierge at the front desk she apologized for the mold and said she didn't need to see any pictures because she knew about it. We immediately checked out and the concerige told us she contacted the manager who said we would get a full refund. They refunded us the amount and then 3 days later charged us again for the room.. we called and they said it was an accident. It then took 2 days to be refunded again. Terrible experience.