Ratings based on 2,151 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Great location

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Friendly staff. Provides free taxi to airport. Free bike rental. Close to shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and neat design

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Loved this hotel. Cool redesign of a classic hotel. Very tasteful. Location couldn’t be better in the middle of lamplight district. Only flaw was outdated shower with low shower head. I think it was set up for handicap.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Perfect area, hotel staff really friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from huntington beach, ca

Would not recommend

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Booked the 2 bedroom suite because we needed three beds. When checking in they said they could not give us the two bedroom but would give us the one bedroom for the same price as if it was an upgrade because there’s a kitchen, which we didn’t need. I told them we booked it strictly for the number of beds and that we don’t need the suite and i want a discount or the room i booked. Once they spoke to the manager, the room was magically ready. Then when leaving for dinner, we called the valet, which costs $30, ten minutes prior to leaving to bring the car out. We still had to stand outside for twenty minutes, totaling 30 minutes to get our car. The room was mediocre, only good thing is it is spacious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan

Good location

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Close to many restaurants, shopping, etc., the hotel also has a rooftop terrace with a wonderful view of the city. All staff was excellent
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Very dissapionted staff was friendly but the over all condition of the hotel was horrible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Our three nights at the historic St James Hotel were great, a fun contrast to cookie-cutter sleek contemporary hotels. Very comfortable bed, helpful staff, adequate space, classic features, quirky elevator, plus a great location for enjoying San Diego.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burlington, WA

Such a unique experience!

Posted Nov 15, 2017
I love this hotel for it’s old style elevators, roof access and historic feel! The beds are so comfy, staff is excellent and the experience is overall great. The only negatives are the sticky feeling when walking on the carpets in the hotel, and the plumbing is a little dated. However the excitement of the uniqueness overweighted those flaws.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good spot

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Great location right in the heart of the Gaslamp district downtown San Diego. Old school hotel, vintage unique feel, old elevators. 24 hour restauraunt connected next door.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Entirely unhappy with Trivago who mislead be to believe the hotel was full with only one room left and 20 people trying to book it. A total pack of lies. The hotel was empty and would have accepted half of the rate I paid Trivago, never again. Will I book though them. We live and learn.