Ratings based on 2,605 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Brandywine PA

Gorgeous Views

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Pros: Great Location In Walking Distance To Restaurants, Shopping, The Convention Center, The Midway, & Local Vendors. A Beautiful Marina Walk On The Bay Takes You To All Of These Locations. The Hotel Has Restaurants, A Nice Gift Shop, A UPS Store, Lots Of Meeting/Banquet Rooms, Beautiful Views & Pools. Cons: Parking is $35 a day Wifi is $12.99 a day
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2017
It was a great stay. Staff was very nice and location is great
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017 by Elaine, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5-star review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Granbury Texas

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Top of the line hotel!! We had an awesome view of the marina and Pacific Ocean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Beautiful hotel on the bay

Posted Oct 30, 2017
The Marriott Marquis is a gorgeous hotel. The view from our balcony was amazing. We could see the bay, coronado, the bridge and tropical feeling pool area. The hotel staff were great and we had no complaints at all. The location is excellent and within walking distance of the ferry, shopping and dining! Highly recommend this hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2017 by Elaine, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stellar review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous

Posted Oct 30, 2017
It’s very good hotel. Next time I will stay there. Restaurants are very good as well, delicious dinner and tasty drinks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exactly what we needed .

Posted Oct 30, 2017
we were going to celebrate on Coronado Island ,50 th bday dinner at Il Fornio , and behind hotel was a water taxi to/from the Island. Perfect! Also , walking distance to downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from IL

Nicety of Life

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: Great location and views
Cons: Seating for the lobby is incorporated with the snack bar/ restaurant area. There is no designated " lobby " that we saw.
We enjoyed the clean atmosphere, GREAT views, good food and friendly service. Walking distance from shops and restaurants on the shoreline. The tour bus picks up at the hotel. Lots of transportation options.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2017 by Elaine, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed the views and hope to welcome you again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lack of business services

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: Proximity to convention center
Cons: Rooms were clean but a little outdated.
Location: Lots of great food options
I was very disappointing to discover that despite listing a business center on their website, the business center was actually a UPS store that charges per minute for computer usage. Since I was there on business and to attend a convention, I was distressed when I discovered this. I did not bring a laptop, nor did my colleagues.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2017 by Elaine, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback with us. While we're glad you loved our location, we're sorry to hear that you were disappointed in our guest rooms and our business center. We appreciate your honest input and hope to welcome you back for a seamless stay in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Wonderful location

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Location: Close to Seaport Village, Gaslamp Quarter, Cruise teminal and much much more.
From checkin to checkout we were so pleased with this hotel and its location. Everything we wanted to see and do was within walking distance or a short taxi ride. Reserving a room with a ocean view balcony room is well worth the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Room cleanliness Guest room wireless fees

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: I do like the décor. The pool area was phenomenally beautiful. I enjoyed being outside.
Cons: Wireless fees - should be waived Dust behind the bed, etc... - wires are very dusty... Some instructions on how to change the lockbox code
Location: The location was good. It was very touristy. Lots of homelessness on the Gaslamp strip. Food was not phenomenal - need authentic food.
Room cleanliness: While the room that I stayed in appear to be clean, it does not take much to know that the wires very dusty. I was shocked while looking for the plug to use that the wires are so dusty...and can be disgusting. Guest room wireless fees: While you get free wireless in the lobby, most of the work is not done in the lobby. For the high fees of the hotel rooms, I can that charging hotel guest additional wireless fees is not called for. It should be free. However I was glad at the end that mine was waived and I thank you for that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2017 by Joy W. , Hotel Management
Thank you for this 5-star review, Millicent! We're very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as our great location. We're sorry to hear about the dust in your room, and we will be sharing this with our team right away to address the issue. We appreciate the feedback regarding WiFi as well, and we hope to welcome you back again on your next visit!