Ratings based on 2,238 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lexington, KY

Great hotel in the Marina

Posted Jan 4, 2018
A great hotel within walking distance of many things including the Gaslamp district. Highly recommend, the same young lady checked me in & checked me out. She recalled our convo checking in & the maid was great.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

I was over charge

Posted Jan 3, 2018
I was over charge vvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kansas city

Beautiful hotel Close to downtown

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Great hotel close to everything. Wonderful service and view of the marina!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2018
The Marriott Marquis hotel is more of a 3.5- than 4-star hotel. What differentiate 3.5 and 4 stars is in the detail how the hotel management pay attention to guests' needs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2018 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your candid feedback. Although you were overall satisfied with your stay, we are sorry there were few issues which kept you from giving us a higher rating. We assure you we will be more diligent going forward. It was good to have you here, and we hope you will give us another chance to provide you with a much better experience. Jeanine Spencer, Guest Relations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chehalis, WA

Excellent Hotel, next to Boardwalk and Downtown

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Pros: Facilities
Cons: Service in the Bar Area
Location: Great Location along Boardwalk, Gaslamp District and downtown.
The Hotel facilities and accommodations were excellent. Rooms, restaurant, bar, and pool area are exceptional. However, we were disappointed with the service in the pool Tequila Bar and Grill area. We visited the pool / Tequila Bar area 2 different days during our stay and were not waited on by the bar / pool area staff either day. The first day we sat in lounge chairs next to the Tequila Bar and waited over 20 minutes w/o getting service, ultimately had to go to the bar ourselves to get a drink. The second day we sat at a table near the Tequila Bar and a nice girl cleared the table and said Alyssa would be with us shortly. We waited over 20 minutes and did not get served. As before I had to go to the bar to get drinks for us. I believe the Marriott is loosing out on significant income for being under staffed or being staffed with untrained or ineffective people. I suspect the folks that were located around the pool during the afternoon didn't get any service as they were farther away from the bar than we were. Most facilities of this nature and excellence would have waiters/waitresses roaming the pool and bar area to provide first class service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2018 by Elaine, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, Dave. We're thrilled you enjoyed our facility and prime location. We also appreciate your candid feedback about the service you experience at our outdoor bar. We'll be sure to pass it along to our management team. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spokane, WA

Location, Location !!

Posted Jan 3, 2018
This hotel is ideally located near the sea walk to Seaport Village and just across the street from the San Diego trolley pickup. The staff was friendly & helpful; the outdoor pool and hot tubs were fabulous! Definitely want to come back to this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chico, ca

Great location, excellent hotel service.

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Great location for all things san diego, quick and easy walk to gaslamp or downtown, easy for uber or lyft. Pier walkway and encambero right there, can't beat it. Also pool area and landscaping is top notch. Has starbucks near lobby and other various food choices. Exchange store is ok, nothing really special for room service. Concierge is very helpful and treats you like friends, front desk truly goes out of their way to make you feel welcome.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Memphis

Bait and switch

Posted Jan 2, 2018
We booked a room with two double and we got a single bed, with two children and husband.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2018 by Elaine, Hotel Management
We're sorry to hear about your experience, Heather, and will pass this feedback along to our management team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Beautiful views of the city and the bay

Posted Jan 2, 2018
I loved the walking distance from the hotel to Gaslamp, Seaport Village, the Midway Museum, the water, everything. It was a perfect weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingwood, TX

Perfect location!

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Located near airport and in walking distance to Gaslamp district, marina, and walking/bike sightseeing trails. Lots to do at the hotel too! Beautiful views from the room (see attached pics), and a wonderful spa, where I got an AMAZING massage! Top notch place to stay and so much fun!