Ratings based on 3,519 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel , great location

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Valet was expensive
Location: Great location many restraints and bars near by
This hotel was located in downtown San Diego and was within easy walking distance of almost all the great attractions. It was an older hotel that had been remodeled. Pleasant stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classy hotel on the gaslamp area.

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Lovely,well appointed hotel. Good quality room and furniture. Reception staff were helpful generally. Readily helped sort out my internet access problem. My only criticism relates to the breakfast room. Loud music with breakfast. No thank you. When asked to reduce the volume, I was told it was not possible and that it was there to create an atmosphere. We'll,think about your customers. It would be fine,at night ,in the bar.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Price increase

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: That I don't trust them and would not stay there again.
Cons: More friendly and helpful staff, more upfront and intentional about conveying price increases.
Our rate went from $108 to $250 from Friday to Saturday!! I was not aware of the price increase until I got my bill. Also the WiFi was terrible, the fireplace didn't work, the water handle on the shower fell off and the staff, especially at the front desk were not very friendly, courteous or helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Convenient and close by to gas lamp district and even Petco park. Room was comfortable and spacious. As with most hotels in the area, you have to pay for overnight parking which is a bit pricey.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from auatrali

Close to the action of gas lamp

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Perfect position! Had a little trouble with rooms keys at the start which was annoying and they also don’t have the ability to ring over seas back home (Australia) which I thought was weird.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Pedro, CA

Charming antique hotel in the Gaslamp

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: The vintage feel with all the modern comforts in a well maintained older building.
Cons: The general cleanliness.
Location: Right in the heart of the Gaslamp. Steps to shops, restaurants, Petco Stadium and the Convention Center.
Lovely old hotel with all the quaint period touches. The atrium is relaxing and beautiful day and night, and the location cannot be beat within steps of everything the Gaslamp has to offer. The comforter was stained and the carpet a bit smelly, but the bed was comfortable and the HVAC worked well. The fireplace in the room was comforting, too!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and close to lots of great places to eat.

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Cons: A refrigerator in the room would be great.
Nice and central. Close to everything with plenty of dining options.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: Location is great.
Cons: N/A
Location: Right in the middle of Gaslamp. Very close to all restaurants & shops.
Great location, walking distance to all restaurants. Old fashion feel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Ok Hotel Not modern

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: Price was decent for the area
Cons: Modernize the rooms
Location: Good food selection nearby, quick walk to convention center
This hotel is OK. The room was decent and average clean. I selected an interior room to avoid the noise from the bar below, so no view. The room was small with older features. The fireplace is nice and if you look "old school" charm, you'll most likely enjoy this hotel. Location is decent, quick walk to the convention center. Good food choices in the area. However, I did not feel safe walking at night in the area. The staff were pleasant, internet connection good. Basic coffee in the room, very limited outlets for charging phones / laptop. This is not a good hotel for kids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely hotel. Large rooms.

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Cons: Availability of safe boxes.
Hotel was very clean. Great location. Large comfy rooms.