Ratings based on 3,548 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Good location in the Gaslamp Quarter

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Older hotel that is well maintained and in a great location that is walking distance to almost everything downtown!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san jose, ca

Nice hotel in downtown

Posted Jan 6, 2018
It was a nice stay. The room was clean and comfortable. I loved the small balcony looking down the courtyard. The only thing I didn’t like was that the hotel had no parking and you had to use valet parking or walked some distance to a public parking. I used valet service and that added some extra cost that I didn’t expect
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but limited soundproofing

Posted Jan 5, 2018
The hotel is nice, clean and well decorated. Overall a pleasing stay. The room we stayed suffered from sound insulation. We could hear noises from the other rooms as well as from the street. Our window looked at the allay where a truck would come around 7pm and we would wake up from the noise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2018
It was great for all of the reasons I rated it. highly. It is in a historic area. The staff went out of their way to be helpful. But the drinks were expensive. I paid $10 for one mixed drink. The amenities were great. I have said all I have to say but apparently Expedia wii not let me submit this until I fill up the box. I wonder how many people do not bother with reviews because of this requirement. While I think it is good to inform travelers about travel experiences, I don’t like writing an essay to do it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Horton Grand Hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2018
This charming hotel is very centrally located in an area that provides the ability to walk to tons of places. We were only in town for one night so that was very important to us. Our room had a fireplace and balcony that overlooked a courtyard, but we were still able to see the city skyline. The bed was comfortable and there was plenty of space in the room. We ended up ordering room service while we were there which was all wonderful. Overall, just what we were looking for!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Corona, Ca

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Enjoyed the hotel vibe from the start. The room was exactly as I pictured it to be and hoped for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great hotel at the Gaslamp

Posted Jan 3, 2018
We stayed at the suit, which is big enough for a family of 4. The room was very clean. The balcony is pretty small but it's a great fixture. The staff was very friendly. Valet parking at the hotel is $42, but we chose to park it ourselves across the street for $30, full day. The Gaslamp is a great place to stay and the hotel overall was magnificent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2017
Pros: coziness, great location
Cons: AC, too loud too dry
Location: close to bus and train station
We stayed 4 nights and it was overall a good experience, but the AC bothered us a lot at night cause it was really loud and made the room quite dry. Located in Gaslamp quarter, it is steps away from public transit and eateries. Really liked the hotel and interior design!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calexico

Things wereOK

Posted Dec 31, 2017
Pros: The historical setting.
Cons: The front desk people should smile.
Location: Everything is nearby.
Very pretty interior. I was a little uncomfortable having to pay $45 for valet parking. But luckily another guest informed us that 50 feet away from the hotel was public parking for $20.00. This did cause me stress at first, I think the hotel receptionists should inform its visitors about these other options for parking. The hotel really holds up to its expectations about its history.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Historical Gaslamp Quarter good location.

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Loved the history. Not new but comfortable. No real food in hotel but close to many eateries. Parking at hotel convenient but pricey. Other parking options nearby.