Ratings based on 3,353 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

walls a paper thin

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: good central location
Cons: Its too noisy overall, wedding right outside the room we were told it ended at 10:00 they proceeded to do the tear down following wedding very noisy
too noisy wedding took place outside our room and tear down did not end till midnight which was very loud
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 21, 2017
The hotel rooms are smaller than normal. There is no gym or swimming pool. The hotel is beautiful and has a Victorian vibe. You can't beat the location you can walk anywhere in the gaslamp district.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Happy 30th Birthday to Me

Posted Aug 19, 2017
I decided to celebrate my 30th birthday out in San Diego. What better than the Gaslamp District. Glad we stayed at the Horton. Location is very convenient to the nightlife. Once we checked in and parked our car, we did not have to worry about driving because everything was so close to us. The hotel itself is cute and vintage like. Our room was very clean. Bed was so comfortable. If I could make one suggestion it would be to add a small fridge inside each bedroom. Other than that our overall experience was GREAT!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2017
The hotel was fantastic but the front desk staff were not friendly or welcoming.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Downtown

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Horrible experience. I called to reconfirm my reservation they said I did not have one. I booked through Expedia. The representative told me to come down and she would help me. I get there and she tells me I need a manager to input the reservation and he was on lunch. Horrible customer service. I told the representative she could have called me back she said she did not have my number. So I had to come back. Once I finally got my moms room air conditioning unit was broken along with bathroom door. The maintance guy tried to fix but said this has been a problem for a while now. The manager called and wanted us to move rooms at 10:30pm. We were already settled in maybe if it was sooner. He also said we would get a discount back to our card once we checked out. We did not receive anything. Do not stay here
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

downtown get away

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Pros: location.
Cons: bathroom fixtures in bad shape. dripping
Me and my wife stayed here for the Metallica concert. We have stayed here before and find the location and value very pleasing. The hotel is close to everything downtown. Valet parking is kind of expensive at $42 dollars but the lots around aren't much cheaper. This is a nice place to stay. Our room had a few things that could use some attention. Our room had a balcony which is nice to relax on. overall a nice place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Beautiful hotel. Love the historical feel. Very clean. Street noise is loud but it is downtown. Walking distance to bars, restaurants, the bay, shops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from carlsbad ca

Nice hotel good location

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: Everything.good. Reakfastnn
Cons: Rate for parking
Hotel is situated in good part of San. Diego nite live area.real quiet at nite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Wonderful hotel in Gas Lamp District

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: Antique decor, balcony overlooking the courtyard, location in Gas Lamp District.
Cons: If they could only add a pool. :-)
Location: Right in downtown. Spent the evening strolling the area. Great food and atmosphere.
This is a great hotel. Beautiful antique decor with just the right modern touches. We stayed in a room with a Courtyard view and it was beautiful. Loved the balcony. Wish we had a need to use the fireplace. Guess we'll have to come back when it's cooler out. The staff were very courteous. The valet parking was nice and convenient. Only thing we wished is that the hotel had a pool. But a very minor item, overall. Will definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: The various character features of the past.
Cons: The bed wasn't the most comfortable, but for a hotel, it was great.
Location: It's right in the center of downtown so you really have everything within a 15 minute walk. If you drive, you can get to Mission beach within 20 mins.
This hotel is so quaint. I just loved the room and the view that I had. When you walk into the hotel, you have a beautiful entry way, and just behind those doors is a large atrium type room with lights, trees, and a sitting area. It was just beautiful. I got the King room with a fireplace and balcony and the view of the atrium area was beautiful and relaxing. There's an old-time feel to this hotel, and even the bar feels like you walk back in time as soon as you enter. It's a beautiful place with lots of character. If that's what you are looking for this the Horton will gladly please.